1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Just bought a Tacoma. Truck shakes. Curious how much is normal.

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by Revel, Feb 17, 2016.

1. Feb 17, 2016 at 10:17 AM
    Revel

Revel [OP] New Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2003 Tacoma Xtra SR5 4spd Auto Prerunner.
    Line-X. Tint.
    Hey guys. I just bought a 2003 Xtra 4sp Auto Prerunner Tacoma! I test drove it but after buying it the more I drive it the more I'm noticing a few things and I'm curious how much is normal vs a problem I should look into. I have been driving a car for 7 years now so I don't know exactly what to expect. Thanks.

The truck shakes/jitters as it goes down the road. It also will really shake when braking (from speed, not if you are stopping slowly). Also I should point out that you pretty much feel every bump in the road in general.

How much of this is just the bumpy roads and highways i'm on? One reason I wasn't too worried at first is because I noticed things will be different on a nicely paved road. I'll get up to 45-55 on those roads and things feel much smoother on those nicer roads, including the braking. 55 on some of the highways can be pretty shakey.

I can't tell if it is a consistent issue or something that comes and goes. I would assume if there was an issue it would be consistent and therefore even across different roads. But it seems that it is not as bad in some places.

Things I've considered are.

- Warped rotor/drum (My initial thought. Largely from the stuttering while braking I get. But I don't think I feel a lot of shake in the pedal)
    - Brake sticking