1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Kenwood DNX7100 MAPS !?!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by |H|K|S|, Aug 11, 2007.

  1. Aug 11, 2007 at 3:27 PM
    #1
    |H|K|S|

    |H|K|S| [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Member:
    #2393
    Messages:
    1
    Hi all ,

    I've ordered a kenwood DNX7100 from sonicelectronics and it has 2GB memory for navigation feature and preloaded North America maps.Now i wonder if I can load new maps for (Europe or Middle East ) as i buy them from Garmin ?

    best regards
     
  2. Aug 14, 2007 at 5:27 AM
    #2
    4x4Taco

    4x4Taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Member:
    #976
    Messages:
    152
    Gender:
    Male
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Off-Road 4X4

    I have the same unit....yes you can upload maps via an SD card slot behind the screen.
     
  3. Aug 14, 2007 at 5:33 AM
    #3
    4x4Taco

    4x4Taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Member:
    #976
    Messages:
    152
    Gender:
    Male
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Off-Road 4X4
    OH and congrats on the DNX7100...its probally the nicest Nav system out there.
     
  4. Nov 4, 2007 at 4:39 PM
    #4
    MUDDA

    MUDDA Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Member:
    #2646
    Messages:
    23
    Utah
    Vehicle:
    Black TRD SPORT
    Pro-Comp 6" Lift, Moto-Metal 950 18" Rims, Toyo Open Country 33 12.50 18 Tires, Flowmaster 50 Series, K&N intake, Seccondary filter removal, Navigator 12V 55W Driving Lights, 700W Power Inverter installed Beneath Driver Seat
    So you can load maps throught the SD slot behind the screen, right? Well can you play music through that slot if the SD card has music on it... just like the Garmin Street Pilot series Navigation systems?

    Another thing. I have beent told that with the KENWOOD DNX-7100 you can play VIDEO off your Video iPod through the iPod cable... True/False?
     
  5. Nov 7, 2007 at 5:53 PM
    #5
    dentac

    dentac Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Member:
    #3190
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Sport DC/LB
    Hey MUDDA...

    I just ordered the ipod video cable (KCA-iP300v) which reportedly supports the video capability, unlike the IP200. I'll let you know for sure when I get it, but they advertise the 300v supports video.
     
  6. Nov 7, 2007 at 6:17 PM
    #6
    MUDDA

    MUDDA Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Member:
    #2646
    Messages:
    23
    Utah
    Vehicle:
    Black TRD SPORT
    Pro-Comp 6" Lift, Moto-Metal 950 18" Rims, Toyo Open Country 33 12.50 18 Tires, Flowmaster 50 Series, K&N intake, Seccondary filter removal, Navigator 12V 55W Driving Lights, 700W Power Inverter installed Beneath Driver Seat
    Rock On, Thanks Man. My Kenwood should be here in a day or two. It will be nice to know.
     
  7. Jan 2, 2008 at 12:47 PM
    #7
    NomolosTRD

    NomolosTRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Member:
    #1329
    Messages:
    67
    I HAve the DNX 7100 with the Ipod cable and yes you can play videos, tv shows and video podcasts off your Ipod video. The only problem is that you have to have the parking brake grounded if you want to watch while you are driving, and you need to have the Ipod video not the new ipod classic 80g or 160g that play video. the reason is that the menu setup in the new classic is different and it won't display the album artwork on screen for music, or list video podcasts and tv shows and other menu functions. I had to trade my new Ipod classic with my friends ipod video.
     
  8. Jan 15, 2008 at 7:21 PM
    #8
    barroom hero

    barroom hero Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Member:
    #4198
    Messages:
    5
    Vehicle:
    06 Black Prerunner SR5
    I haven't kept up with ipods very well. Which generation is the one you need? The 5th?
     
  9. Jan 20, 2008 at 11:15 PM
    #9
    biorunner1

    biorunner1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Member:
    #2674
    Messages:
    43
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    SR5 Prerunner
    Kenwood DVD, Navi TV tuner, Ipod, FM Traffic Reciever Thorley Headers AFE Intake Custom Exhaust URD MAF Calibrator American Racing BFG AT Wheels Fox Racing Shox Total Chaos Control Arms Tint
    I had the same issue with my DDX-8019 and Ipod Cable. I returned my 80 gig 5th gen at Costco for the new Itouch and found that I could no longer watch videos. Then I traded that for the new classic. You know, had to have the latest and greatest. I had the same problem. I contacted Kenwood and Apple to see if I could get them to work together, but no dice. I was pretty disappointed, after all Kenwood is Ipod Authorized. Any way the short easy answer is buy yourself an 80gig ipod 5th Gen from ebay. You can get them for around 200.

    If your interested in looking into it further, check out this from Kenwood, supposed to fix the prob.

    http://www.kenwoodusa.com/Support/Car_Entertainment/

    I went back to the 5th gen cuz I didnt want to deal with it anymore. It works just fine. Please let me know what you find out though?
     
  10. Jan 21, 2008 at 12:33 AM
    #10
    NomolosTRD

    NomolosTRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Member:
    #1329
    Messages:
    67

    I saw this software update after the fact that I traded my Ipod classic for the 5th generation. If i had know, i wouldn't have traded, it should work fine if the firmware is updated.
     
To Top