1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

LED tape in camper shell not working

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by abunch, Jun 18, 2012.

  1. Jun 18, 2012 at 3:25 PM
    #1
    abunch

    abunch [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Member:
    #69030
    Messages:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Andrew
    Brooklyn
    Vehicle:
    04 Double Cab TRD
    icons, ucas, Deaver pack, DD, ARB, Warn 9k, 255-85 km2, rigid lights, yada, yada
    I picked up some LED tape to replace the dim little light inside my camper. The led strips hardly light up at all after I installed them. When I test them on other circuits they are super bright.


    The voltage on the wires in the camper is reading 11 volts, which I think may be the route of the issue.

    I really want to avoid running lines all the way back to the battery but I don't see many options.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Jun 18, 2012 at 9:31 PM
    #2
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,061
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    Where are you pulling power from? If there is a light already installed back there it has to be hooked to something. I ran a 14gauge wire all the way from the interior fuse block and used an add-a-fuse to tap in. The ground point is also critical. Sometimes a truck bed is not well grounded. I have encountered this kind of low voltage issue when the bed is mounted on rubber isolators.
     
  3. Jun 18, 2012 at 10:36 PM
    #3
    white toy taco

    white toy taco 505 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Member:
    #69296
    Messages:
    1,799
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gian
    Albuquerque, NM
    Vehicle:
    02 4X4 Taco SR5 TRD V6
    All-Pro tube bumper, 5100's at middle setting w/OME 881's, rebuilt leafs w/ 2 chevy leafs, 265/75/16 Km2's, CloudyFab sliders, 6000k HID headlights (35w), 16" LED light bar,100w KC Daylighters, Bedlight mod
    the best way is to go back to the the battery. i did what ^that guy^ said. heres some pics of my bedlight mod

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Jun 19, 2012 at 6:59 AM
    #4
    abunch

    abunch [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Member:
    #69030
    Messages:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Andrew
    Brooklyn
    Vehicle:
    04 Double Cab TRD
    icons, ucas, Deaver pack, DD, ARB, Warn 9k, 255-85 km2, rigid lights, yada, yada
    I ended up running a new line from the battery. I was trying to splice into the existing the light that was in the camper. It pulls power from the trailer and brake light harness. No idea how it was loosing a volt.

    The existing circuit required the headlights to be on in order to have power. In the end it is more helpful to be able to run it without the headlights, so I guess the extra effort was worth it.

    No i just need to find a flush mount switch.
     
  5. Jun 19, 2012 at 8:00 AM
    #5
    white toy taco

    white toy taco 505 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Member:
    #69296
    Messages:
    1,799
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gian
    Albuquerque, NM
    Vehicle:
    02 4X4 Taco SR5 TRD V6
    All-Pro tube bumper, 5100's at middle setting w/OME 881's, rebuilt leafs w/ 2 chevy leafs, 265/75/16 Km2's, CloudyFab sliders, 6000k HID headlights (35w), 16" LED light bar,100w KC Daylighters, Bedlight mod
    yea all of my lights/cb radio are wired directly to the battery, that way i can have them on whenever i want them. glad everythings working good now. were are you gonna put the switch?
     
To Top