1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

LightForce Help

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Menametony, Oct 20, 2009.

  1. Oct 20, 2009 at 5:08 PM
    #1
    Menametony

    Menametony [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Member:
    #11263
    Messages:
    1,384
    Gender:
    Male
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Vehicle:
    09 Black 4x4 DC Offroad
    Flow Master 40 Series, TRD CAI, Kings 2.5 remote res front and back, All Pro Front bumper, All Pro Skid Plate, PIAA 4" 510 XT SMR, TC UCA's, 265/75/16 BFG KM2 on ATX Artillery, LightForce 240 Blitz HID's, WeatherTech Vents and FloorMats, Cobra 19 CB & PA, Maglite mod both driver and passenger, safari snorkel, TRD supercharger, warn 10k winch
    ok.. i recently got some lightforce 240 blitz HID's... heres my problem, i installed everything i need to.. and i have a brown wire left over.. not exactly sure where this brown wire goes.. the instructions says something about a high beam and being "active" and i have to crimp.... but.. not exactly sure which wire.. i also have HID's... [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    any help would be nice.. thanks guys
     
  2. Oct 20, 2009 at 5:10 PM
    #2
    Viet2100

    Viet2100 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1930
    Messages:
    2,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Viet
    Delray Beach, FL
    Vehicle:
    2007 Infiniti G35S
    From what I see, there are 3 wires... correct? The red one with the fuse goes to the battery. The black gets grounded to the chassis. The brown wire should be the trip wire which you should tap into your high beams. This will trip the relay when the high beams are on and will also turn on your new lights.
     
  3. Oct 20, 2009 at 5:14 PM
    #3
    Menametony

    Menametony [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Member:
    #11263
    Messages:
    1,384
    Gender:
    Male
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Vehicle:
    09 Black 4x4 DC Offroad
    Flow Master 40 Series, TRD CAI, Kings 2.5 remote res front and back, All Pro Front bumper, All Pro Skid Plate, PIAA 4" 510 XT SMR, TC UCA's, 265/75/16 BFG KM2 on ATX Artillery, LightForce 240 Blitz HID's, WeatherTech Vents and FloorMats, Cobra 19 CB & PA, Maglite mod both driver and passenger, safari snorkel, TRD supercharger, warn 10k winch
    tapping off of high beams... how exactly do i know which wire is the high beam? i mean would that prevent my lights not turning on? ive put everything together and tried turning it on without having the brown wire connected to anything and it doesnt turn on
     
  4. Oct 20, 2009 at 6:14 PM
    #4
    Menametony

    Menametony [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Member:
    #11263
    Messages:
    1,384
    Gender:
    Male
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Vehicle:
    09 Black 4x4 DC Offroad
    Flow Master 40 Series, TRD CAI, Kings 2.5 remote res front and back, All Pro Front bumper, All Pro Skid Plate, PIAA 4" 510 XT SMR, TC UCA's, 265/75/16 BFG KM2 on ATX Artillery, LightForce 240 Blitz HID's, WeatherTech Vents and FloorMats, Cobra 19 CB & PA, Maglite mod both driver and passenger, safari snorkel, TRD supercharger, warn 10k winch
    bump for some help please
     
  5. Oct 20, 2009 at 6:21 PM
    #5
    Snyperx

    Snyperx Seniore Marcos

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Member:
    #11838
    Messages:
    672
    Gender:
    Male
    When I installed my HElla 500's I used a multimeter to find out which wire off of the main headlight showed 12v. I touched the black probe to the chassis to make ground then used the red probe to check the wires with the hi-beams on. Does that make sense? Hope it helps.
     
  6. Oct 20, 2009 at 6:30 PM
    #6
    Menametony

    Menametony [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Member:
    #11263
    Messages:
    1,384
    Gender:
    Male
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Vehicle:
    09 Black 4x4 DC Offroad
    Flow Master 40 Series, TRD CAI, Kings 2.5 remote res front and back, All Pro Front bumper, All Pro Skid Plate, PIAA 4" 510 XT SMR, TC UCA's, 265/75/16 BFG KM2 on ATX Artillery, LightForce 240 Blitz HID's, WeatherTech Vents and FloorMats, Cobra 19 CB & PA, Maglite mod both driver and passenger, safari snorkel, TRD supercharger, warn 10k winch
    yes it does.. i guess i have to go buy a multimeter...thank you
     
  7. Oct 20, 2009 at 6:34 PM
    #7
    Snyperx

    Snyperx Seniore Marcos

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Member:
    #11838
    Messages:
    672
    Gender:
    Male
    Good tool to have when doing electrical;)
     
  8. Oct 20, 2009 at 11:58 PM
    #8
    akwagon

    akwagon Alaska Dude

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Member:
    #21934
    Messages:
    141
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    chris
    alaska
    Vehicle:
    08 Access 5spd 4x4
    5100, kazktin leather, truxedo
    If you unplug the headlight socket there will be three wires running to it. The tab closest to the center of the truck is high beam, I think its the yellow with pink, dont quote me.... but it is the inside wire out of the three
     
  9. Oct 21, 2009 at 10:41 AM
    #9
    Viet2100

    Viet2100 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1930
    Messages:
    2,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Viet
    Delray Beach, FL
    Vehicle:
    2007 Infiniti G35S
    Or, you can buy a fuse tap and tap into where the high beam fuse is.
     
  10. Oct 21, 2009 at 12:41 PM
    #10
    TexasBlue

    TexasBlue Dreamer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Member:
    #23164
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kellan
    Dallas, TX
    Vehicle:
    07 PreRunner Sport, Speedway Blue
    Billet Grill, Roll-Top Cover, LED Interior Lights, HIDs, Foglight On Mod, Coin Tray Holster Mod
    Random side thought: Have you checked the amp draw of your lights when they're all burning? Looks like you've got a serious setup there, it might be time to think about bumping up the alternator, especially if you don't have the tow package.
     
  11. Oct 21, 2009 at 1:30 PM
    #11
    Menametony

    Menametony [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Member:
    #11263
    Messages:
    1,384
    Gender:
    Male
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Vehicle:
    09 Black 4x4 DC Offroad
    Flow Master 40 Series, TRD CAI, Kings 2.5 remote res front and back, All Pro Front bumper, All Pro Skid Plate, PIAA 4" 510 XT SMR, TC UCA's, 265/75/16 BFG KM2 on ATX Artillery, LightForce 240 Blitz HID's, WeatherTech Vents and FloorMats, Cobra 19 CB & PA, Maglite mod both driver and passenger, safari snorkel, TRD supercharger, warn 10k winch
    I do have the tow package and just had the alternator replaced
     
  12. Oct 21, 2009 at 1:35 PM
    #12
    65tacodude

    65tacodude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Member:
    #18019
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Wade
    Manteno, IL
    Vehicle:
    09 Dub Cab TRD Off Road SWB
    Westin Bull w/6" PIAA Fogs, Bilstien 5100 all around w/Wheelers AAL and Eibach Coils, Go-Rhino Steps, Pioneer FH-P8000BT Stereo, Grillcraft, TOYOTA Emblem, 265/75 R16 General Grabber AT2's
    Or you could get a test light and a friend and unplug your headlight harness. I did the same with my PIAA's but with the fogs. They shut off when i go to high beams(to stay legal) and only come on if the fog lamp switch is on(kinda like a master). Then i can turn my PIAA's on and off at will as long at the fogs are on. Sounds like the same thing but with high beams. Hope this helps
     
  13. Oct 21, 2009 at 3:51 PM
    #13
    Menametony

    Menametony [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Member:
    #11263
    Messages:
    1,384
    Gender:
    Male
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Vehicle:
    09 Black 4x4 DC Offroad
    Flow Master 40 Series, TRD CAI, Kings 2.5 remote res front and back, All Pro Front bumper, All Pro Skid Plate, PIAA 4" 510 XT SMR, TC UCA's, 265/75/16 BFG KM2 on ATX Artillery, LightForce 240 Blitz HID's, WeatherTech Vents and FloorMats, Cobra 19 CB & PA, Maglite mod both driver and passenger, safari snorkel, TRD supercharger, warn 10k winch
    so i bought a multimeter.. found the wire that had 12v... tapped it in.. and put everything together and... it didnt work... meh.... i guess ill try to get this done at the URE meet... anyone want to help me?
     
  14. Oct 21, 2009 at 6:21 PM
    #14
    Zombie Runner

    Zombie Runner Are these black helicopters for me?

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5246
    Messages:
    15,078
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Wichita Falls, TX
    Vehicle:
    Tundra, double cab.
    LED interior lights, stubby antenna, Pioneer in dash screen, good driver mod.
    tapping into the high beams will only allow you to use the lights when your highs are on...If it were me I would want the option to be able to turn them on whenever I wanted to

    red wire=power
    black-ground
    get a fuse tap and run the brown wire to that, this will allow you to use whenever you want but will turn off when the truck is off
     
  15. Oct 21, 2009 at 6:28 PM
    #15
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Lead, follow, or get the hell o Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,305
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '13 Silverado ext cab
    x2
     
  16. Oct 21, 2009 at 7:24 PM
    #16
    Menametony

    Menametony [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Member:
    #11263
    Messages:
    1,384
    Gender:
    Male
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Vehicle:
    09 Black 4x4 DC Offroad
    Flow Master 40 Series, TRD CAI, Kings 2.5 remote res front and back, All Pro Front bumper, All Pro Skid Plate, PIAA 4" 510 XT SMR, TC UCA's, 265/75/16 BFG KM2 on ATX Artillery, LightForce 240 Blitz HID's, WeatherTech Vents and FloorMats, Cobra 19 CB & PA, Maglite mod both driver and passenger, safari snorkel, TRD supercharger, warn 10k winch
    ill try this tomorrow... one thing, the switch.. does it matter which way i hook it up? where does the brown and red leads go?? the instruction says from right to left? man oh man..

    so just get a fuse tap.. maybe autozone / advanced auto parts might have.. tap it into the red wire from my HID's and viola?
     
  17. Oct 21, 2009 at 7:47 PM
    #17
    Zombie Runner

    Zombie Runner Are these black helicopters for me?

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5246
    Messages:
    15,078
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Wichita Falls, TX
    Vehicle:
    Tundra, double cab.
    LED interior lights, stubby antenna, Pioneer in dash screen, good driver mod.
    mmm not sure what is what on the switch, maybe someone can post a pic of the back of their switch with what is what.

    but the switch will have 3 prongs, one that will have a wire going to the fuse tap.
     
  18. Oct 21, 2009 at 7:59 PM
    #18
    Menametony

    Menametony [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Member:
    #11263
    Messages:
    1,384
    Gender:
    Male
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Vehicle:
    09 Black 4x4 DC Offroad
    Flow Master 40 Series, TRD CAI, Kings 2.5 remote res front and back, All Pro Front bumper, All Pro Skid Plate, PIAA 4" 510 XT SMR, TC UCA's, 265/75/16 BFG KM2 on ATX Artillery, LightForce 240 Blitz HID's, WeatherTech Vents and FloorMats, Cobra 19 CB & PA, Maglite mod both driver and passenger, safari snorkel, TRD supercharger, warn 10k winch
    the switch that came with the relay only has 2 prongs....wtf?
     
  19. Oct 22, 2009 at 9:00 AM
    #19
    Zombie Runner

    Zombie Runner Are these black helicopters for me?

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5246
    Messages:
    15,078
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Wichita Falls, TX
    Vehicle:
    Tundra, double cab.
    LED interior lights, stubby antenna, Pioneer in dash screen, good driver mod.
    hmm, idk, i didnt run a realy for my lights. maybe someone can post a wiring diagram or you can search through the lighting forum for one, ive seem them posted on here before

    but I think one tab on the switch goes to bat. for power and other goes to relay power. not 100% though
     
  20. Oct 22, 2009 at 9:10 AM
    #20
    SC4333

    SC4333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Member:
    #11412
    Messages:
    2,189
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Grant
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    '08 PreRunner SR5
    SOLD!
    Just for some reassurance, X4...


    I would NOT hook up my fogs/off-road lights relay signal to the high beam power. This will prevent you from using your lights when you would like to. Also, there is no need to spend the extra money on a DVOM. Spare your self the money and go get a 5 dollar test light from the auto parts store or wal-mart for that matter. Just find a positive power source that is always on when the key is in the ignition and you'll be good to go.
     
To Top