1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

limited slip differential

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by army9403, Apr 15, 2008.

1. Apr 15, 2008 at 4:54 AM
    army9403

army9403 [OP] Member

Member:
    oregon
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prerunner SR5 lifted
    3 inch revtek lift, 18 inch chrome rims, 285 60 r18 coopers ltz's, magnaflow, k&r intake, after market leather, and lots of lovin
    hey guys, im new to the tacoma world and owning a tacoma. i purchased my 2005 quad cab prerunner with limited slip differential. can someone explain this feature as if i was 10 lol. and also ive heard a locking differential is better, is it? and if so, would it be possible to install and upgrade to one. thanks again and excuse me for my lack of knowledge with this haha

2. Apr 15, 2008 at 5:12 AM
    Cburt

Cburt Well-Known Member

Member:
    Kansas City
    Vehicle:
    SR5 4x4, White
    None currently,
    Limited slip is what you want for the street. A locking one is for off road use only. (not for the street)

Limited slip is where if one wheel is loosing traction, then the power is diverted to the other wheel. It is like a locking except it allows one wheel to turn faster than the other for going around corners. (good thing)

Locking is where both wheels are locked as one and if your on the street, it's not good for going around corners. (bad thing)

Now drink your milk, and go to bed.

3. Apr 15, 2008 at 10:04 AM
    Flycatcher

Flycatcher Master of the Universe

Member:
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2009 Acadia (regretfully sold the Taco)