1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Longer shocks if not lifted??

Discussion in 'Suspension' started by br217398, Feb 1, 2009.

  1. Feb 1, 2009 at 11:09 AM
    #1
    br217398

    br217398 [OP] Crazy Person.....

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Member:
    #7920
    Messages:
    478
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Tundra Crew Cab 4WD
    Hornblasters horns,Strobe lights,Police Undercover Vehicle, Volent Ram air system, pro comp POS AAL, biltein all around, step bars.
    Well, as the title Says.... If i get longer 5100 shocks in preparation of me lifting the truck, and dont lift the truck right away, would the shocks suffer any harm in any way shape or form?? thanks
     
  2. Feb 1, 2009 at 11:12 AM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,192
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Depends on how much longer they are, and weather or not you take them off roading. If they are only 2" longer, and no off roading, you will be fine.
    Otherwise, if off roading, you could Top them out if the suspension compresses to much and that can cause a couple of things to happen. 1. Could bust the top shock mount (only seen this once), or could damage the internals of the shock.
     
  3. Feb 1, 2009 at 11:17 AM
    #3
    br217398

    br217398 [OP] Crazy Person.....

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Member:
    #7920
    Messages:
    478
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Tundra Crew Cab 4WD
    Hornblasters horns,Strobe lights,Police Undercover Vehicle, Volent Ram air system, pro comp POS AAL, biltein all around, step bars.
    not sure why i post thready anymore Chris4x4, you answer everything i ask! :) thanks. going to get lift blocks since the procomp was only a 1.5in. aal


    P.S. im still waiting on the top plates for the prerunner upgrade i was trying :-/
     
  4. Feb 1, 2009 at 11:20 AM
    #4
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,192
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Posting is the best. If someone else has a question similar to yours, they may find their answer in a search. FWIW, I would reconsider getting the AAL instead of the block.
     
  5. Feb 1, 2009 at 1:17 PM
    #5
    br217398

    br217398 [OP] Crazy Person.....

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Member:
    #7920
    Messages:
    478
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Tundra Crew Cab 4WD
    Hornblasters horns,Strobe lights,Police Undercover Vehicle, Volent Ram air system, pro comp POS AAL, biltein all around, step bars.
    well ive got an aal, and its not lifted enough in the rear.... anybody have an aal that gives a full 3 in. lift?
     
To Top