1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Looking at 08 Taco, anything I need to know?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by relyt, Mar 18, 2011.

1. Mar 18, 2011 at 3:31 AM
    relyt

relyt [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Sidney, OH
    Like the title says, I'm not an owner yet, but there is an 08 Taco on a lot not too far from me, and it doesn't look too bad IMO, but I have no real experience with them, so I was hoping that some of you seasoned owners could help me look for any specific problems that these trucks may be known for.

The truck in question is a regular cab 2.7L 5 speed 4x4. It's a relatively plain, no power truck, but it should suit my needs fine. My only concern is that the dealer website doesn't list A/C. I haven't driven the truck yet, so I don't know if it does or doesn't have it.

Is there anything specific I need to look for? It's only got 25k miles, so I don't think it's worn out yet, but that doesn't mean it hasn't lived a hard life. What is a truck like this actually worth in the real world? How much can you really do to the 2.7L trucks without losing all of the driveability? I'm coming from the world of Jeeps, so I'm used to having every possible gear ratio available if I were to change tire size, but I'm not sure what size ring and pinion the Tacomas use, so I'm not sure if there are as many out there to suit my needs. Thanks in advance for any information, and with any luck I'll be an owner right here with you within a few days.

2. Mar 18, 2011 at 3:44 AM
    qbert

qbert Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Brady
    Huntington Beach, CA