1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Looking for constant electrical power for dash cam. Need help!

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by tacoma4, Sep 6, 2014.

  1. Sep 6, 2014 at 10:56 AM
    #1
    tacoma4

    tacoma4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Member:
    #86136
    Messages:
    414
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm wiring in a dash cam to always be on when the truck is on. It automatically starts recording when it gets power. The problem is if I plug it into the cigarette lighter then it turns on when I turn the key to ON but don't crank the engine. I let it sit there while I buckle and take ebrake off to allow the fuel pump to prime. When I crank the engine, the power is cut while the starter works which makes the dash cam start to power down. The truck then starts and the cam finishes powering down and doesn't start back up. I plan to wire this to an add a fuse and put that into one of the fuse spots behind the change drawer. So my options are:
    1. Find a fuse that is only hot when the truck is running and not just in key on position. I don't think this exists, does anyone know?
    2. Find a fuse that doesn't loose power when cranking. Again, I don't think this exists but maybe someone knows?
    3. Wire it to a switch and turn it on after the truck is already started. This will work but it defeats the hands free idea of the dash cam if I have to push a button every time.
    4. Some genius idea that I haven't thought of???

    Anyone done this before and have any ideas?? Thanks!
     
  2. Sep 6, 2014 at 11:01 AM
    #2
    moondeath

    moondeath The answer to divorce...... Tequila!

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Member:
    #48948
    Messages:
    5,840
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Pa, Carlisle
    Vehicle:
    2013 TRD Sport DCLB 4x4
    5100 @ 1.75", 1.5" Icon Progressive 3 leaf, Procomp Wheels, Grill Thin Lip (Custom Car Grills Mod), Access Tonneau Cover, Pop & Lock Tailgate Electronic Lock PL8521
    Your best bet would probably be a switch and relay.
     
  3. Sep 6, 2014 at 11:36 AM
    #3
    mjackson92rs

    mjackson92rs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Member:
    #135360
    Messages:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    SE PA
    Vehicle:
    '15 TRD Sport
    I'm new to Toyotas but there has to be a wire that ALWAYS has power when the ignition is on, even when you are cranking the starter, reason being that the ECU needs power to run the motor when its cranking. The radio isn't wired like this in my '15, but there is a wire somewhere in the truck that should give you what you want. Probably somewhere around the computer.

    I'm not 100% on this with regard to Toyotas, but it applies to a lot of GM stuff I've worked on.
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2014
  4. Sep 6, 2014 at 10:57 PM
    #4
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    11,375
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    A quick look at the schematics from a 2012 Tacoma ( pretty sure yours is the same ). What you want is the IG1 or IG2 Circuits they are both hot during starting and when running. They are also off when the key is off.

    IG1 Circuit Supplies these fuses:

    10a Backup Lp fuse.
    10a IG1 fuse.
    30a WIP fuse. ( Windshield Wiper )
    20a 4WD fuse.
    10a IG1 No2 fuse.
    10a WSH fuse. ( Windshield washer )

    IG2 Circuit Supplies these fuses:

    7.5a Gauge fuse.
    15a Ign fuse.

    Any of these fuses should do what you want. Make sure you supply the fuse tap with a proper fuse for the device.
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2014
    MicComa likes this.
  5. Sep 6, 2014 at 11:23 PM
    #5
    locster

    locster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Member:
    #133656
    Messages:
    951
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Luke
    Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB 4x4
    Don't know what type of dash cam you're running or planning on running, but most if not all dash cams don't just power on and off instantly. It takes about 10 seconds for it to boot up and down. Therefore, the camera won't even notice that split second of power cut from cranking.

    I'm sure you can just get a test light to find a constant power source from the fuse box, or just run it directly to your battery if you can't find one and really need one badly. Also, most cameras out there will just overheat if leave on all the time.
     
  6. Sep 7, 2014 at 7:56 AM
    #6
    LaserMan

    LaserMan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Member:
    #116764
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Doc, it hurts when I do this... O.K. don't do that.

    Why not just stop doing this? Problem solved...
     
  7. Sep 7, 2014 at 9:02 AM
    #7
    tacoma4

    tacoma4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Member:
    #86136
    Messages:
    414
    Gender:
    Male
    I used this one and it works perfect! Thank you!

    For the other questions, it's a G1W-C. Takes about 5 seconds to start up and shut down, but it starts it sequence as soon as power is applied/lost. I had it wired into the cigarette outlet 15A fuse spot, but it kept shutting down when I started the truck.

    I let the fuel pump prime because the truck starts smoother and with less cranks when I do.

    Now I just need to find a good way to attach it to the rear view bracket so it's hidden behind the mirror.
     
  8. Sep 7, 2014 at 9:35 PM
    #8
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    11,375
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    Glad that I could help and it worked out for you!
     
  9. Sep 8, 2014 at 12:48 PM
    #9
    Bengt18T

    Bengt18T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Member:
    #103413
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    Chambersburg, PA
    Vehicle:
    13 Taco DCSB TRD Sport
    I think the highlighted line above is what is causing the issue. I have an A118 and if I pause on ACC the cam will start and then stop when it cuts power when I switch it to start. If I go straight to start it powers right up and stays on. I'm glad you found what you were looking for.
     
  10. Mar 23, 2016 at 8:38 PM
    #10
    Tacotuesdays89

    Tacotuesdays89 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Member:
    #164267
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Fred
    Edmonton ab
    Could a guy use one of those same fuses to power 4 led lights to always be on in a raptor style grill?
     
  11. Mar 23, 2016 at 8:47 PM
    #11
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    11,375
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    Yes, you could.
     
  12. Mar 23, 2016 at 8:48 PM
    #12
    Tacotuesdays89

    Tacotuesdays89 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Member:
    #164267
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Fred
    Edmonton ab
    I am a bit of a wiring noob, how would you go abouts wiring to a fuse?
     
  13. Mar 24, 2016 at 6:38 PM
    #13
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    11,375
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
  14. Mar 24, 2016 at 6:51 PM
    #14
    Tacotuesdays89

    Tacotuesdays89 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Member:
    #164267
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Fred
    Edmonton ab
    Yeah I found those shortly after I had asked. But to make sure, since I am away from my truck till next week. Those fuses listed above are the ones inside next to the steering wheel from what I can find right? Sorry about all the stupid questions here. :sorry:
     
  15. Mar 24, 2016 at 7:04 PM
    #15
    Iowa10

    Iowa10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Member:
    #162252
    Messages:
    326
    Gender:
    Male
    Dammit, I understand the frustration. I too like to turn the key to the ON position for a couple of seconds, to let the fuel pump get going before I crank the engine, but maybe that's just left over from what my dad taught me 30 years ago. I have the same dash cam that you have, by the way. Hides really nicely in front of the rearview mirror. I stuck mine on there with double-sided 3M tape, and it works perfectly through all seasons here in Iowa.
     
  16. Mar 26, 2016 at 10:06 AM
    #16
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    11,375
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    Yes that is where they are.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top