1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Low Tire Pressure Light not turning off

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Taco09TRD, Feb 17, 2018.

  1. Feb 18, 2018 at 4:24 PM
    #21
    Clearwater Bill

    Clearwater Bill Sometimes when I close my eyes, I can't see.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Member:
    #140097
    Messages:
    17,165
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Billy
    Largo Florida
    Vehicle:
    '13 5 lug base AC w/convenience package
    A few OE parts from fancy trucks
    Two sets of tires? Or two sets of wheels and tires?

    If you have 2 sets of wheels, and both sets have TPMS sensors, I'm pretty sure the system has to be reprogrammed every wheel change.

    Tire sizes don't affect anything.
     
  2. Feb 18, 2018 at 4:45 PM
    #22
    Tridet167

    Tridet167 Not an Overlander, or am I?

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Member:
    #142434
    Messages:
    2,144
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Toronto, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tacoma SR5 DblCab
    I guess I missed some info. Stocks were on 16" and the new tires went onto new 17" wheels.
     
  3. Feb 18, 2018 at 4:51 PM
    #23
    Clearwater Bill

    Clearwater Bill Sometimes when I close my eyes, I can't see.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Member:
    #140097
    Messages:
    17,165
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Billy
    Largo Florida
    Vehicle:
    '13 5 lug base AC w/convenience package
    A few OE parts from fancy trucks
    Its the sensors that matter, not the size of the wheels or tires.

    Do the new wheels have new sensors? They'll have to be programmed as such with a proper tool.

    Do the new wheels carry the old sensors (that I assume were working)? They should pick up and work just fine.

    Are you still going to have a second set of wheels/tires that you swap for snow? If so, they'll have to be reprogrammed when installed.

    There are DIY methods which may be worth investing in the tools for if you do a lot of swapping, as the reprogramming can get expensive.
     
  4. Feb 18, 2018 at 4:56 PM
    #24
    Tcomaboy

    Tcomaboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Member:
    #43160
    Messages:
    3,850
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 DCLB TRD Sport Prerunner
    A little black electrical tape works wonders
     
  5. Feb 18, 2018 at 5:23 PM
    #25
    Tridet167

    Tridet167 Not an Overlander, or am I?

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Member:
    #142434
    Messages:
    2,144
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Toronto, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tacoma SR5 DblCab
    Old sensors are on the new wheels. Light comes on and flashes for a few minutes and stays on while truck is on.
     
  6. Feb 18, 2018 at 5:27 PM
    #26
    Clearwater Bill

    Clearwater Bill Sometimes when I close my eyes, I can't see.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Member:
    #140097
    Messages:
    17,165
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Billy
    Largo Florida
    Vehicle:
    '13 5 lug base AC w/convenience package
    A few OE parts from fancy trucks
    Now we're getting somewhere.

    Assuming everything worked properly before they were moved to the new wheels, I'd wager at least one was damaged.

    Or you have the misfortune of a coincidence of at least one (or more) having battery failure.
     
    Tridet167 likes this.
  7. Feb 18, 2018 at 6:06 PM
    #27
    Pigpen

    Pigpen My truck is never clean

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Member:
    #74319
    Messages:
    8,867
    Gender:
    Male
    Northwest Montana
    Vehicle:
    2012 AC Manual 4.0 4x4 Base Model
    Access cab toolbox/ dog bed with seats and headrests deleted, waterproof TRD seat covers, yellow wire mod, diff breather relocated to tail light, engine block heater, Leer topper with Yakima tracks and rack, Yakima rack on cab, Ride Rite with Daystar cradles, CBI hidden front hitch, wired for winch front and rear Warn quick connect, Warn x8000i on external carrier, sway bar delete, trailer plug relocated to bumper, Pelfreybilt IFS and Mid skids, ECGS front diff bushing, ARB CKMA12 compressor, 255/85/16 Toyo M55 load E tires on stock steel rims, Up2NoGood heated mirror kit, Husky X-act Contour front floor liners, Northstar AGM 27F battery, Pelfreybilt bolt on sliders with kickout and top plates, TRD Pro headlights, Depo smoked tail lights, Energy suspension body mount bushing kit, Cobra 75WXST cb with rear mounted Wilson 3' antenna on Shmellmopwho mount, OME Dakar leaf packs with AAL, Billstein B110 rear shocks, 5100s with 885 coils and 1/4" spacers, SPC LR UCAs, 2wd low range mod
    Mine does the same when I'm running my set that doesn't have sensors.
     
  8. Feb 18, 2018 at 7:57 PM
    #28
    arcenik

    arcenik TRD

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Member:
    #226644
    Messages:
    590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    ][-][//-\\\/\///-\\][][
    Vehicle:
    2015 X-Runner
    The ECU can only store one set of codes.

    They have sensors where the code can be programed. So they can duplicate the codes that are already set. This is how you have two sets of tires.

    If the light flashes there is a sensor communications issue. Could be multiple things dead battery sensor not programed correctly.
     
  9. May 5, 2020 at 12:38 PM
    #29
    smallwoodaj6801

    smallwoodaj6801 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Member:
    #217389
    Messages:
    77
    Gender:
    Male
    Here’s one for you guys...

    I bought a set of 3rd gen sport wheels with factory tires (265/65/17 Toyo Open County A30s) and got Toyota to put them on my 2006 prerunner back last July, along with all new oem sensors. Ran them for about 20,000 miles no problems.

    Just got a new set of tires this March, same size and very similar tread and all (265/65/17 Toyo Open County H/T II) and that weekend after getting my tires I had my sensor light start blinking one day while driving. Took it back to my tire place and they said one of my sensors was dead (oem sensors.)

    I realize now I should have just gone back to Toyota at that point as they’re still under warranty, but anywho...got my tire place to replace the sensor with an aftermarket one and my light was off for about 100 miles. Took it back the next morning to have it reset, and same thing later that day, another 100 miles it was back on.

    The third time my light popped they were nice enough to give me a refund and I just went back to Toyota where I got them to replace the aftermarket one with an oem one and my light was off.

    And now, once again, about 100 miles later, literally on the same road...my light popped, blinking and doesn’t shut off.

    I haven’t been back to Toyota yet to see if it’s the same one or not, and either way they should all still be under warranty at this point...but what the hell???

    I’m positive I don’t have one in my spare...tire pressure is fine...I can’t think of anything else unless somehow my tires themselves are interfering with them or there’s an issue farther up in the system itself.

    Anyone else run into this problem or have any idea what it might could be? As always, thanks in advance TW.
     
  10. May 5, 2020 at 12:48 PM
    #30
    will.i.was

    will.i.was Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Member:
    #252688
    Messages:
    1,135
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Texas
    Vehicle:
    07' SS MICA DCSB
    I had a light on for a few months and thought nothing of it. I eventually went to fill up my spare and found it was a bit low. Filled it up, reset the light by holding the switch and it never came back on..
     
  11. May 5, 2020 at 12:51 PM
    #31
    smallwoodaj6801

    smallwoodaj6801 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Member:
    #217389
    Messages:
    77
    Gender:
    Male
    When I got my fresh set of tires, I was upgrading from 16” to 17” rims and wanted to go ahead and have a full size spare...so I had my tire place put my best old tire on a 17” spare I already had, so I’m positive I don’t have a sensor in my space. Air pressure is good in all other tires. I don’t get it.
     
    will.i.was likes this.
  12. May 5, 2020 at 12:53 PM
    #32
    will.i.was

    will.i.was Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Member:
    #252688
    Messages:
    1,135
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Texas
    Vehicle:
    07' SS MICA DCSB
    Gotcha, have you tried resetting tpms yourself? I didn't see any mention of it in your post. There's a button on the bottom below steering wheel. I almost also think that varying temperatures can cause the pressure inside the tires to fluctuate this causing the TPMS light to come on as it becomes in/out of range. Or worst comes to worst there's another sensor going out lol
     
  13. May 5, 2020 at 1:01 PM
    #33
    smallwoodaj6801

    smallwoodaj6801 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Member:
    #217389
    Messages:
    77
    Gender:
    Male
    I have not but that’s a great idea, I’ll give that a try. I’m not sure it will work if one has already “fallen out of program” but will give it a shot.

    Yea I don’t know about temps...I know they can mess with your pressure itself but I guess I could see how they might mess with sensors.

    Actually the first time my light popped (the first oem sensor) I was going over a rumble strip on the highway...I guesssssssss I could see how in a fluke, that might shake something loose, maybe a battery or something, to make my light pop that time ...but still don’t really know how that would affect it enough for it to be persistent, especially when that sensor, has already been removed from the equation.
     
    will.i.was likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top