1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Lower bumper light bar wiring

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by TheFlyTaco, Feb 10, 2021.

  1. Feb 10, 2021 at 8:53 AM
    #1
    TheFlyTaco

    TheFlyTaco [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2021
    Member:
    #351993
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    I have a @CaliRaisedLed lower bumper LED bar on the way. I was considering wiring it as follows:

    Switch off - LEDs off
    Switch on - dim headlights on LEDs off
    Switch on - bright headlights on LEDs on

    Thoughts? Is there a fuse in the box I can do an add a fuse to make this work?
     
  2. Feb 10, 2021 at 9:22 AM
    #2
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,904
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    upload_2021-2-10_13-21-36.jpg
    H-LP LH-HI = High Lamp Left Hand High...
     
    vicali likes this.
  3. Feb 10, 2021 at 10:37 AM
    #3
    TheFlyTaco

    TheFlyTaco [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2021
    Member:
    #351993
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    So I can do an add a fuse on either one of those?
     
  4. Feb 10, 2021 at 10:40 AM
    #4
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,904
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    Those are your "High/Bright Beam" fuses.
     
    vicali likes this.
  5. Feb 10, 2021 at 10:42 AM
    #5
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,904
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    What switch n harness are you using?
     
  6. Feb 10, 2021 at 10:49 AM
    #6
    bagleboy

    bagleboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Member:
    #226018
    Messages:
    4,670
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Norcal, Santa Rosa
    Vehicle:
    2014 5-lug AC 2.7L VVTI
    Snug top Rebel, Thule tracks, ditch tracks, Bagged rear suspension, F/R anytime camera, intermittent wiper switch...
    Pay attention to orientation with the fuse tap. Installed backwards the fuses will be in series rather than parallel. The black line in his schematic indicates the positive buss. That should be the end opposite the wire. Use only one fuse to then find out which side is the added fuse if not shown on the package. The correct location will energize the wire. You can also use an ohmmeter to see which location allows a connection between terminal/terminal and terminal/wire with one fuse installed.
     
    Citizen Rob likes this.
  7. Feb 10, 2021 at 10:53 AM
    #7
    TheFlyTaco

    TheFlyTaco [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2021
    Member:
    #351993
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Understood, but can I connect to just one and have the light bar work? Sorry for the dumb question.
     
  8. Feb 10, 2021 at 10:53 AM
    #8
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,904
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    The lamps fuses have no buss bar.
    #1 on the fuse slot is supplying the juice.
    #2 is going towards the bulb.
    A 1A low profile fuse is sufficient when providing juice to the relay coil. It won't affect the circuit if in series.
     
  9. Feb 10, 2021 at 10:58 AM
    #9
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,904
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
  10. Feb 10, 2021 at 11:03 AM
    #10
    bagleboy

    bagleboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Member:
    #226018
    Messages:
    4,670
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Norcal, Santa Rosa
    Vehicle:
    2014 5-lug AC 2.7L VVTI
    Snug top Rebel, Thule tracks, ditch tracks, Bagged rear suspension, F/R anytime camera, intermittent wiper switch...
    True but in this case “buss” or “supplying” is synonymous as far as the tap can tell and the orientation of the tap still matters. But thank you for that info, I’m always on the lookout for insight into these black boxes.
     
  11. Feb 10, 2021 at 11:07 AM
    #11
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,904
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    The add-a-fuse that "most" use are caped at 10A max. That would matter, but the OP only needs a "signal" source from the high beams, so it's of little consequence.
     
    whatstcp likes this.
  12. Feb 10, 2021 at 11:07 AM
    #12
    vicali

    vicali Chilling at YMH

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37503
    Messages:
    1,960
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    Kam,BC
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport 1D6
    Used the addafuse on the Highbeam as you trigger source for the relay 86. Then out 85 to the switch, then out of the switch to ground.
    If you are using a CH4x4 switch it will only light up when Highbeams are on.
     
  13. Feb 10, 2021 at 11:35 AM
    #13
    bagleboy

    bagleboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Member:
    #226018
    Messages:
    4,670
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Norcal, Santa Rosa
    Vehicle:
    2014 5-lug AC 2.7L VVTI
    Snug top Rebel, Thule tracks, ditch tracks, Bagged rear suspension, F/R anytime camera, intermittent wiper switch...
    I’m only referencing orientation of the tap, not the rating.
     
  14. Feb 10, 2021 at 12:56 PM
    #14
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,904
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    upload_2021-2-10_16-56-43.jpg
     
    vicali likes this.
  15. Feb 10, 2021 at 12:59 PM
    #15
    vicali

    vicali Chilling at YMH

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37503
    Messages:
    1,960
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    Kam,BC
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport 1D6
  16. Feb 10, 2021 at 1:30 PM
    #16
    TheFlyTaco

    TheFlyTaco [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2021
    Member:
    #351993
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Man, I am over my head. I don't understand the diagram. I read this to say I have to splice the wire going to the headlight. I'm sorry I am so confused. Maybe it's best if I just put it on a switch and manually turn it on instead of connecting it to the bright lights.
     
  17. Feb 10, 2021 at 1:53 PM
    #17
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,904
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    Battery-fuse-relay pin #30.
    Add-a-fuse at high beam fuse spot (10A on bottom of add-a-fuse for original circuit of high beam, 2A fuse on top for added circuit of light bar switch) wire from add-a-fuse to relay pin #86.
    Relay pin 87 to Light bar.
    Relay pin 85 to cab switch.
    You visualize this so far?upload_2021-2-10_18-4-34.jpg
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2021
  18. Feb 10, 2021 at 2:30 PM
    #18
    TheFlyTaco

    TheFlyTaco [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2021
    Member:
    #351993
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    I’m with you so far...except the 2A/10a on the add a fuse. I thought there was only room for one fuse?
     
  19. Feb 10, 2021 at 2:36 PM
    #19
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,904
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2021
    vicali likes this.
  20. Feb 10, 2021 at 3:57 PM
    #20
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,904
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    So now you get a wire from terminal #85 to the cab switch. Cab switch completes the circuit to ground. If switch is ON, the light bar will only be ON when the high beams are selected. This also includes when you "flash" them.
    Any questions?
     

Products Discussed in

To Top