1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

LSD or Diff Lock for snow???

Discussion in 'New Members' started by El Taco, Feb 22, 2009.

1. Feb 22, 2009 at 10:55 PM
    El Taco

El Taco [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    STP MN
    hello all. i'm a newbie here. i've been looking and looking and researchin' around but can can't find a good solid solution to my needs. i have read bits and pieces here and there, trying to peace out what i would like for my truck. i have learned alot as well too but.........

i have an '01 taco prerunner x-cab v6 (non trd). i live in mn and the snow can get really bad sometimes. i have owned a '96 taco 4x4 before but totaled that one(too bad, loved that one). now i'm with this prerunner. i like her, she's a beauty and i find that i don't hardly use 4x4 throughout the year. i also do alot of hunting but nothing to where i may get stuck in mud, some rough terrains but mostly not too bad.

i mostly do on-road driving, she's my daily, but also use her for hunting as well. since she has only an open diff, and the snow here can get really bad at times, should i get a diff lock or an LSD?

i have read from posts that an LSD sucks off road (snow/hunting terrain) but good on road. on the other hand, a diff is bad on road but great off road. my main concern is having the best traction from my 2wd to get me out of a bad snow/mild mud situation but also be a daily driver. which of these two (LSD or diff lock) is my best option?