1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Maestro RR iDatalink owners - question on steering wheel controls

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by mtnears, Aug 19, 2017.

  1. Aug 19, 2017 at 9:17 AM
    #1
    mtnears

    mtnears [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Member:
    #75314
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgetown, CA
    I just installed a Maestro RR with a Pioneer 4200NEX head unit. First, it was a bitch getting all those cables in there, at some point I need to do it again as I'm not happy with the fit (any tips out there besides small hands which I don't have). I also wish I ran a USB programming cable out of the dash in case I ever need to reflash this thing I could do it without taking it apart....

    But on the steering wheel controls. Everything seems to be working fine, but the track / preset up button does not advance tracks when I'm playing from iPod or CarPlay. I can use it for radio changes (seek / preset), but when you go to the other modes it doesn't function, I have to use the controls on the radio.

    Is that normal? Going back through the programming it doesn't specifically state track, just seek and preset, so I'm thinking maybe that doesn't work (bummer if the case).
     
  2. Aug 23, 2017 at 10:05 AM
    #2
    boricuastock

    boricuastock Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Member:
    #197346
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Dallas, TX
    Vehicle:
    2008 White Tacoma TRD 4x4
    None yet
    I have the same issues trying to fit the RR and a 8200nex. I too need to try again. I also ran a programming cable and HDMI just in case. I thought about adding the satellite adapter but that would be even worse.

    I use the arrow buttons on my steering wheel inside Android auto and it works fine. It will skip fowards and backwards in my podcasts. I have not tried an Apple device of any kind to say if it works with carplay.
     
  3. Aug 23, 2017 at 12:22 PM
    #3
    mtnears

    mtnears [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Member:
    #75314
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgetown, CA
    Got it solved, non-issue. I had programmed the unit to have preset up/down be a single press and scan be a hold on the arrow keys. That's how the default stereo is where when you press it it just moves to the next preset.

    Turns out that the scan option is the one that jumps tracks on the iPhone. So I just have to hold the button down and it works (or take it out and re-flash!).
     
  4. Aug 24, 2017 at 5:24 AM
    #4
    HarlemKnight

    HarlemKnight Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Member:
    #49089
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    ToyTrucksATL
    Atlanta, GA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Silver TRD Sport
    Did you guys also use this:

    iDatalink Maestro ADS-HRN-RR-TO1 TO1 Plug & Play T-Harness for Toyota Vehicles

    I plan on putting an 8200nex in before the month is out and recently decided to just do it myself instead of taking it someplace.
     
  5. Aug 24, 2017 at 7:23 AM
    #5
    mtnears

    mtnears [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Member:
    #75314
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgetown, CA
    In talking with their tech support I found out it would not have done me any good had I run a programming USB cable out. Turns out you cannot flash the programming while it is plugged in, it must be unplugged. So that kills the idea of running a cable down for programming (if that is what you were referring to).

    One other thing I noticed that I didn't do. They ship the Pioneer unit with a small wire tie. I didn't look what that is for, but it is for securing the HDMI cable to the back. I should have known that, but I wasn't terribly concerned about it, HDMI cables are notorious for coming loose. And to get that deck in with all those wires, it was shoved around a lot, I'll be shocked if it is still connected. Will find out soon, I guess to use the AppRadio function it needs an HDMI connection. I wanted to try that out so I ordered the HDMI cable for my iPhone, comes today, will see if it still works! If not, then the deck may be coming back out, we'll see...
     
  6. Aug 25, 2017 at 12:24 AM
    #6
    GeauxTigers

    GeauxTigers //TRD

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Member:
    #60041
    Messages:
    559
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Caleb
    Sterlington, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    '14 TRD DCSB Off-Road 4x4
    265/70/17 BFG KO2/17"x7" Pro Sema Wheels/OME 884/Bilstein 5100 front & rear/HeadStrong 1/4" TP spacer/Deaver 1.5"-2" AAL/Mud-Flap delete/Westin Bed mat/UltraGauge/ WeatherTechs/AFE Pro Dry Drop in Filter/debadged/AVS in-channel window visors/color-matched OEM grille/Kicker 6.75" Components in front door/Alpine KTP-445U power pack behind factory head unit/
    I'd like to know this as well
     
  7. Aug 25, 2017 at 6:54 AM
    #7
    mtnears

    mtnears [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Member:
    #75314
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgetown, CA
    Forgot to answer the question about what I used. These are all the pieces I used for my install.
    • Pioneer AVH4200NEX 2-DIN Receiver with 7" Motorized Display/Built-In Bluetooth/Siri Eyes Free/AppRadio One/NEX
    • ADS-MRR Maestro RR - Universal Radio Replacement & SWI
    • iDatalink Maestro ADS-HRN-RR-TO1 TO1 Plug & Play T-Harness for Toyota Vehicles
    • Metra AX-USB-35EXT 3.5mm iPod to USB Extension Cable - 27-Inch - Black
    • RAYSUN 2 Meter HDMI and USB AUX Extension Panel Flush Mount - USB AUX Dash Mount for Car Boat Motorcycle (HDMI and USB AUX Flush Mount)
    • Scosche Dash Kit for 2009-Uptoyota Tacoma Double Din Kit Color Matched Light Silver
    Yes, you do need that cable kit for the Maestro if you want the steering wheel controls to work. It becomes pretty plug and play at that point. There are wires that you need to connect between the Maestro and the Pioneer head units plug. I sorted all the wiring out on the kitchen table. There are a few connectors that come with the kits that you will not use and once all is done with my JBL system there were two plugs on the Toyota side from the radio that were not used, they are not necessary. Plug it in and make sure everything is working before trying to tuck it into the dash. Once you have it all working, then get all your wiring organized, wire tied, etc, so it makes it easier to handle. Don't forget to secure that HDMI cable (I forgot, now I need to go back in there and fix it). Be prepared to spend a lot of time trying to fit all this mess into the dash, I was able to shove the maestro unit back behind in the dash area towards the drivers side to free up some room. Really tight quarters.

    I also did not install a Satellite radio interface. If you want to use the satellite radio you will need to purchase that interface and possibly a antenna cable converter to use the factory plug with the interface. You would also need to transfer any existing subscription you have then from the factory radio to the new one. That would also be one more device and more wiring to shove in the hole.

    The Metra and Raysun cables were used as passthrough USB/HDMI/AUX and mounted in the lower dash area in the stock holes. The Raysun cable is long, if you find a shorter one you could easily do it, the 27" long Metra one was plenty long, but I wouldn't go much shorter. The hole the Raysun goes in (standard accessory hole) required some light filing to get it to fit, pretty easy.

    With the Scosche trim kit and this particular radio for sure I could not use the little black trim piece that goes around the radio. With the way the radio tilts the face and can be removed, it just doesn't work. I could probably file it down a little but it would be pretty thin at that point and I don't think it is totally necessary.

    All pieces I ordered from Amazon.
     
  8. Aug 27, 2017 at 4:56 PM
    #8
    drop4205

    drop4205 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Member:
    #133612
    Messages:
    132
    Gender:
    Male
    Windham, Maine
    Vehicle:
    14 TX Baja
    Pioneer 8201 nex Id cxs 6.5 component front Id cs 6.5 rear Jl audio hd 600/4 Jl audio 10” micro sub+ Ram mat Tinted windows Debaged Plasti dip front emble
    What if you undo battery connection if you have usb connected to maestro? Maybe that might be able to flash seeing as no power would be to it. Any thoughts
     
  9. Aug 28, 2017 at 8:11 PM
    #9
    mtnears

    mtnears [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Member:
    #75314
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgetown, CA
    I'm not certain on that. When I talked to their support on the phone they said it needed to be unplugged. Before doing that I would probably call them and ask, they are pretty responsive on the phone and seem knowledgeable.
     
  10. Aug 29, 2017 at 3:00 AM
    #10
    drop4205

    drop4205 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Member:
    #133612
    Messages:
    132
    Gender:
    Male
    Windham, Maine
    Vehicle:
    14 TX Baja
    Pioneer 8201 nex Id cxs 6.5 component front Id cs 6.5 rear Jl audio hd 600/4 Jl audio 10” micro sub+ Ram mat Tinted windows Debaged Plasti dip front emble
    I have a ticket on my 2014 thru them and asked about it. Either pull the radio fuse or disconnect the battery they said will work. Will try today to verify. I hope to never have to remove the deck anymore than I have to as its a pain with all the rca and stuff trying to shove in there
     
  11. Aug 29, 2017 at 9:15 AM
    #11
    GeauxTigers

    GeauxTigers //TRD

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Member:
    #60041
    Messages:
    559
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Caleb
    Sterlington, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    '14 TRD DCSB Off-Road 4x4
    265/70/17 BFG KO2/17"x7" Pro Sema Wheels/OME 884/Bilstein 5100 front & rear/HeadStrong 1/4" TP spacer/Deaver 1.5"-2" AAL/Mud-Flap delete/Westin Bed mat/UltraGauge/ WeatherTechs/AFE Pro Dry Drop in Filter/debadged/AVS in-channel window visors/color-matched OEM grille/Kicker 6.75" Components in front door/Alpine KTP-445U power pack behind factory head unit/
    Is back up camera retained with the maestro?
     
  12. Aug 29, 2017 at 4:46 PM
    #12
    drop4205

    drop4205 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Member:
    #133612
    Messages:
    132
    Gender:
    Male
    Windham, Maine
    Vehicle:
    14 TX Baja
    Pioneer 8201 nex Id cxs 6.5 component front Id cs 6.5 rear Jl audio hd 600/4 Jl audio 10” micro sub+ Ram mat Tinted windows Debaged Plasti dip front emble
    Backup camera is retained. On my 2014 with to1 harness you need to cut connector on vehicle side and splice in on maestro side. 2016 and up with to2 harness is plug n play. Note. Have long usb connection on mine to test. It sits behind heater controls to flash maestro if needed rather than pull the 8200 nex out and all the rca, sat gps mess behind there. It will flash but i disconnected battery pos and neg to get it to go
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2017
    override and GeauxTigers like this.
  13. Sep 29, 2017 at 8:06 PM
    #13
    Chungaz

    Chungaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Member:
    #81548
    Messages:
    95
    Gender:
    Male
    Rolla,Mo
    Vehicle:
    Black TRD Sport 4x4
    None YET!!!
    what is the cdmi usb cable used for? is it necessary? I'm putting the 5200nex with maestro rr and to1 kit
     
  14. Sep 30, 2017 at 1:12 AM
    #14
    Silentwolf

    Silentwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Member:
    #220146
    Messages:
    84
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma SR
    Cruise Control,Led Reverse lights, Weathertech mudflaps, Weathertech headlight protectors,Lund stepbar, Interior Leds, AVS Hoodflector, AVS In-Channel Ventvisor, aFe Pro DRY S airfilter, K & N cabin airfilter, A/C drain valve, Mostplus Led Headlights
    I installed a kenwood 9903s and I found after hooking everything up and verifying it all works to start zip tyingstuff all up together and it makes it a lot easier
     
  15. Aug 22, 2018 at 9:53 AM
    #15
    eddiesteele25

    eddiesteele25 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Member:
    #261651
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    for those having isuues fitting the harness and module behind headunit, what i did was extend all the wires approx 2ft( cut and solder) so i could place the module down under the center console.
     
    override likes this.
  16. Dec 27, 2019 at 12:06 PM
    #16
    spencer2423

    spencer2423 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Member:
    #218669
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Sport
    question: from your experience with Maestro RR, if you later add the adapter for factory xm/fm antenna to aftermarket stereo, do you need to reflash the maestro RR ?
     

Products Discussed in

To Top