1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

map lamp question

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by Urban Redneck, Aug 31, 2011.

1. Aug 31, 2011 at 6:40 PM
    Urban Redneck

Urban Redneck [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2004 3.4L V6
    I need to replace the rear view mirror on my 2004 Taco. The old one didn't have the map lamp. How hard would it be to put in the map lamp version with this new one? Is it just a couple screws or will I have to undo the ceiling lining and mess with the roof. I'm a total rookie here.

2. Aug 31, 2011 at 10:24 PM
    BAZZMAZZA

BAZZMAZZA Well-Known Member

Member:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Vehicle:
    SR5 and then some...
    OME-882 Coils + Nitro- Sport shocks, ARB Compressor, Spare fuse box, ALL-PRO Bedrack
    Very easy actually. I have done this twice now.

Remove old mirror and you should see the factory mounting holes in the cab behind the headliner you will have to cut out the headliner material in order to place map lamp in the holes. Mark outline of map lamp against the headliner (the holes should be there) and cut an X in the slot with a razor blade then trim the pieces until the map lamp fits into place. Set the lamp aside for now.

Remove drivers side "oh sh!t" handle and A-pillar.
    Remove drivers side sun visor (you need the room to fish the wire)
    fish a 16-18 guage wire from map lamp location under the headliner to the drivers side A-pillar take extra wire for both ends and let hang.