1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Need connection help, Sirius to pioneer head unit

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by kingston73, Jan 19, 2015.

  1. Jan 19, 2015 at 12:44 PM
    #1
    kingston73

    kingston73 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Member:
    #20845
    Messages:
    2,873
    Gender:
    Male
    eastern MA
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 4.0L 4x4
    I'm an electrical dummy, I can do some very basic things but not much more. I'm buying a pioneer avh headunit from a forum member and to change nine to with Sirius I'm also buying this unit:
    http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/StaticFiles/Manuals/Car/CD-SB10_OwnersManual0325.pdf

    Here's another picture: http://www.ebay.com/itm/121543394637?_trksid=p2060778.m1431.l2648&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

    My question is the power connection, I'm sure it's childs play for most of you but like I said, I'm dumb. How do I hook it up? If possible, could somebody post pictures to go with your explanation?
     
  2. Jan 19, 2015 at 1:57 PM
    #2
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,346
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    wenatchee, wa
    Vehicle:
    09 DCLB 4x4
    follow up to my PM, there should be a constant power connection in the head unit plug. What head unit are you installing?
     
  3. Jan 19, 2015 at 2:01 PM
    #3
    sdc09taco

    sdc09taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Member:
    #120197
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    dave
    central ma
    Vehicle:
    09 access sr5 trd off road
    not yet
    with my pioneer as far as i remember it was a simple plug and play,i believe it gets its power from the deck,
     
  4. Jan 19, 2015 at 2:12 PM
    #4
    kingston73

    kingston73 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Member:
    #20845
    Messages:
    2,873
    Gender:
    Male
    eastern MA
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 4.0L 4x4
    It's an avh p4400bh. The pioneer site says it needs the cdsb10 unit but now I'm wondering if the svx300 will work with it. And thanks for replying to my pm question. :D
     
  5. Jan 19, 2015 at 2:16 PM
    #5
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,346
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    wenatchee, wa
    Vehicle:
    09 DCLB 4x4
    If you splice the sirius power lead to the yellow wire (constant 12v) on your head unit plug you should be good - BUT - the safest bet is to run it directly to the battery with an inline fuse I believe. I'm pretty sure I didn't run mine directly to the battery, and I didn't overload any fuses.
     
  6. Jan 19, 2015 at 2:21 PM
    #6
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,346
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    wenatchee, wa
    Vehicle:
    09 DCLB 4x4
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2015
  7. Jan 19, 2015 at 2:39 PM
    #7
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,346
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    wenatchee, wa
    Vehicle:
    09 DCLB 4x4
    the manual lists gex-p920xm as compatible
     
  8. Jan 19, 2015 at 2:40 PM
    #8
    kingston73

    kingston73 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Member:
    #20845
    Messages:
    2,873
    Gender:
    Male
    eastern MA
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 4.0L 4x4
    Thanks for the help. I haven't gotten the pioneer or the sat unit yet so I'm not sure what connections are already wired and all but split into the head units yellow wire sounds easier than routing it to the battery. Are there negatives to doing this?
     
  9. Jan 19, 2015 at 2:42 PM
    #9
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,346
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    wenatchee, wa
    Vehicle:
    09 DCLB 4x4
    IMO splicing to the head unit constant is fine; but maybe someone with a degree will chime in to inform us otherwise :notsure::goingcrazy:
     
  10. Jan 19, 2015 at 2:53 PM
    #10
    kingston73

    kingston73 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Member:
    #20845
    Messages:
    2,873
    Gender:
    Male
    eastern MA
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 4.0L 4x4
    What model do you have?
     
  11. Jan 19, 2015 at 9:52 PM
    #11
    William

    William Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Member:
    #117925
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    will
    Castle Rock Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2013 tacoma,
    Toy tech leveling kit, 33 inch tires
  12. Jan 20, 2015 at 5:51 PM
    #12
    kingston73

    kingston73 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Member:
    #20845
    Messages:
    2,873
    Gender:
    Male
    eastern MA
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 4.0L 4x4
    Thanks for the help. I contacted pioneer and Crutchfield and both said my only choice is the pioneer specific unit which isn't made anymore. Managed to find one on eBay for $37 so hopefully it's an easy install. For about $270 I'll have a touch screen head unit with blue tooth, steering wheel controls, and satellite. It's got to be at least a little better than the stock unit, right?

    I might still need help when I get it all and start installing it, but thanks did the answers so far.
     
  13. Jan 21, 2015 at 5:03 PM
    #13
    kingston73

    kingston73 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Member:
    #20845
    Messages:
    2,873
    Gender:
    Male
    eastern MA
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 4.0L 4x4
    IMG_20150121_195041_zpszt8cbi4b_eaf35812f615397d3ff5066cf277fe351c928e59.jpg
    IMG_20150121_195033_zpsfacd3vlk_05b6f3bf9e3aa8725352e6c2dfae976cf0f0788f.jpg

    I got my used pioneer today and I'm a little disappointed in the seller. He's a TW member who said this was plug and play, but I don't see that with what I have. Are all the needed connections here, or am I missing something? Would it be easier to just order a wiring harness from crutch field? I already ordered the metra awsc toyota add on harness. Any help is appreciated, this is already more complicated than I expected.
     
  14. Jan 21, 2015 at 5:51 PM
    #14
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,346
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    wenatchee, wa
    Vehicle:
    09 DCLB 4x4
    you either need a wiring harness to connect the pioneer unit to the truck wiring harness, or you can start splicing.

    Looks to be you have what you need. I think the black plugs go into the HU, and the white plugs plug into the truck wiring harness.

    Sort of looks like a mess though...double check to make sure everything is wired
     
  15. Jan 21, 2015 at 6:00 PM
    #15
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,346
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    wenatchee, wa
    Vehicle:
    09 DCLB 4x4
    Don't be disappointed and don't jump to conclusions. I'm sure the seller doesn't mind giving you a little more info on how it was connected or what to do, either. It'll work out. :thumbsup:
     
  16. Jan 21, 2015 at 6:19 PM
    #16
    kingston73

    kingston73 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Member:
    #20845
    Messages:
    2,873
    Gender:
    Male
    eastern MA
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 4.0L 4x4
    I know I can get it working, I'm mainly disappointed in how it was advertised and the fact that the seller already told me he can't help. It looks like a wiring harness is only about $10 so I think I'll just start fresh.
     
  17. Jan 30, 2015 at 1:18 PM
    #17
    kingston73

    kingston73 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Member:
    #20845
    Messages:
    2,873
    Gender:
    Male
    eastern MA
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 4.0L 4x4
    I need some quick help, what are the two unconnected terminals? I connected everything in my new wiring harness but now the black and the one I'm holding don't have anywhere to go?

    IMG_20150130_161325_zpsvzyxisxk_46308207062cb4d065c63dbc1ca141b756c6ba91.jpg
     
  18. Jan 30, 2015 at 1:36 PM
    #18
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,346
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    wenatchee, wa
    Vehicle:
    09 DCLB 4x4
    Probably steering wheel controls & satellite. do you have either?
     
  19. Jan 30, 2015 at 1:46 PM
    #19
    MyToyTaco

    MyToyTaco ╒╪╕

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Member:
    #9417
    Messages:
    4,346
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    wenatchee, wa
    Vehicle:
    09 DCLB 4x4
    Did you account for the clock plug
     
  20. Jan 30, 2015 at 2:47 PM
    #20
    kingston73

    kingston73 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Member:
    #20845
    Messages:
    2,873
    Gender:
    Male
    eastern MA
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 4.0L 4x4
    Nope, I'm stupid and figured it out. Thanks though. I got everything to work except for the oem aux plug. I connected the aswc add on harness but it doesn't work, ink I'll post in the aswc thread.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top