1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Need help with bed light installation

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by MarmotMountain, Apr 18, 2019.

  1. Apr 18, 2019 at 9:05 PM
    #1
    MarmotMountain

    MarmotMountain [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Member:
    #287348
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Bellevue, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Inferno TRDOR DCSB
    Hi all,

    I'm in need of some technical help! I spent the whole day getting my bed lights installed and wired, but at the end of the day, something is wrong and isn't working properly.

    I followed Tullie D's electrical diagram for the most part (see attached). I did, however, attach my RED 2 to my dash light via add-a-circuit. Which the CH4x4 doesn't light up as well.

    These are the components I used:
    Autuneer LED lights
    Wire 12 gauge
    Heat shrink
    Absolute relay
    CH4x4 push switch

    Using a multimeter, I can verify that the relay is working. Despite that, the CH4x4 is not lighting up and does not work when I press the button. I'm not sure how to trouble shoot this or even where to start troubleshooting. If anyone has any ideas that would be greatly appreciated.

    20190324_151935[1].jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2019
    chiefjim likes this.
  2. Apr 19, 2019 at 4:14 AM
    #2
    Rd62

    Rd62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Member:
    #253683
    Messages:
    366
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCLB TRD Sport
    Did you test to.see if you have power at the switch?
     
  3. Apr 19, 2019 at 7:13 AM
    #3
    MarmotMountain

    MarmotMountain [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Member:
    #287348
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Bellevue, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Inferno TRDOR DCSB
    Hey Rd62, thanks for responding. I just used my multimeter, I'm getting no power at the switch despite having power at the relay? (My wire attaching to blue on relay is heat shrinked to the same junction as the wire going to my green on the CH4x4).
     
  4. Apr 19, 2019 at 8:31 AM
    #4
    Rd62

    Rd62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Member:
    #253683
    Messages:
    366
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCLB TRD Sport
    Looks like its wired correctly according to the diagram (though I'd tie red 2 into a dash illumination circuit). Have you checked your connections where you tied switch power into the feed off the battery and where that is tied into the switch harness?
     
  5. Apr 19, 2019 at 1:13 PM
    #5
    MarmotMountain

    MarmotMountain [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Member:
    #287348
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Bellevue, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Inferno TRDOR DCSB
    I ended up cutting the cord that attaches to my green. I can verify that the power source is working via my multimeter.

    I actually did stray from the original diagram and used an add-a-circuit to attach my Red 2 to my dash lights (tail light). Nothing will illuminate. I'm no engineer but I'm hoping that it's the CH4x4. I just contacted them to see if they can help out.
     
  6. Apr 19, 2019 at 1:21 PM
    #6
    Rd62

    Rd62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Member:
    #253683
    Messages:
    366
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCLB TRD Sport
    You got a different switch you can hook up to verify? If not, I'd hit the Autoparts store and pick one up just to trouble shoot.
     
  7. Apr 19, 2019 at 1:34 PM
    #7
    MarmotMountain

    MarmotMountain [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Member:
    #287348
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Bellevue, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Inferno TRDOR DCSB
    Sadly I don't. Everything is also shrink wrapped so I'd prefer not to take all my hard work apart too. However, if that's the easiest way to troubleshoot, I'm all ears.
     
  8. Apr 19, 2019 at 2:16 PM
    #8
    Rd62

    Rd62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Member:
    #253683
    Messages:
    366
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCLB TRD Sport
    Well, it's pretty basic. If you have power to the switch and not to the relay then either the switch is bad or you have a poor connection between it and the relay. I hear ya on not wanting to mess with the shrink wrap, etc but sometimes ya gotta do what ya gotta do. I'm just speaking for me, but I'd try another switch to verify.
     
  9. Apr 19, 2019 at 2:57 PM
    #9
    MarmotMountain

    MarmotMountain [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Member:
    #287348
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Bellevue, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Inferno TRDOR DCSB
    Thank you! I plan on going that direction first - trying a new switch.
     
  10. Apr 19, 2019 at 2:58 PM
    #10
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    6,323
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    upload_2019-4-19_17-58-13.jpg
     
    chiefjim likes this.
  11. Apr 19, 2019 at 3:05 PM
    #11
    MarmotMountain

    MarmotMountain [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Member:
    #287348
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Bellevue, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Inferno TRDOR DCSB
    Hey caribe, I should've clarified. Instead of following the diagram, I attempted to attach my RED 2 to my dash lights via add-a-circuit. Even with my headlights on, it didn't illuminate the CH4x4 switch.
     
  12. Apr 19, 2019 at 3:07 PM
    #12
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    6,323
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    Which fuse did you specifically tapped for the "add-a-circuit"?
     
  13. Apr 19, 2019 at 3:09 PM
    #13
    diabetiktaco

    diabetiktaco Instalander

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Member:
    #196480
    Messages:
    5,620
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2013 DCSB
    On the add a circuit did you use two fuses of the same amperage in it?
     
  14. Apr 19, 2019 at 3:14 PM
    #14
    MarmotMountain

    MarmotMountain [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Member:
    #287348
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Bellevue, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Inferno TRDOR DCSB
    Nope - original "tail light" was 7.5amp. I used 3amp for my add-a-circuit.
     
  15. Apr 19, 2019 at 3:14 PM
    #15
    MarmotMountain

    MarmotMountain [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Member:
    #287348
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Bellevue, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Inferno TRDOR DCSB
    The "tail light".
     
  16. Apr 19, 2019 at 3:16 PM
    #16
    diabetiktaco

    diabetiktaco Instalander

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Member:
    #196480
    Messages:
    5,620
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2013 DCSB
    Get 2 7.5A fuses and make sure they are both in the add a circuit.
     
  17. Apr 19, 2019 at 3:30 PM
    #17
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    6,323
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    upload_2019-4-19_18-30-38.jpg
    Maybe the switch is bad...
     
    chiefjim likes this.
  18. Apr 19, 2019 at 3:33 PM
    #18
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    6,323
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    Relay actuation juice is less than .5 amps, why would matching the tapped circuit require same fuse amps?o_O
     
  19. Apr 19, 2019 at 3:47 PM
    #19
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    6,323
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    In case others want to add to TAIL circuit, the PANEL is in parallel with TAIL using same TAIL relay.

    upload_2019-4-19_18-46-51.jpg
    upload_2019-4-19_18-52-51.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2019
  20. Apr 19, 2019 at 3:48 PM
    #20
    diabetiktaco

    diabetiktaco Instalander

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Member:
    #196480
    Messages:
    5,620
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2013 DCSB
    I'm no electrician. What I can tell you is that last weekend when installing my ARB fridge monitor I placed one fuse in the tap and left the other spot blank and wouldn't get juice to the monitor. When I added a second fuse, it worked.
     
To Top