1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Need help with zune compatible head unit

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by StZu, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. Jan 13, 2010 at 7:22 AM
    #1
    StZu

    StZu [OP] Where the White Women At?

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Member:
    #28795
    Messages:
    1,180
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    Dallas Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner Texas Edition
  2. Jan 13, 2010 at 7:27 AM
    #2
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,935
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    I'm not under the impression that the linked headunit will work (direct connect with interface) with the Zune. I don't think there is any headunit that will to my knowledge.
     
  3. Jan 13, 2010 at 7:38 AM
    #3
    trtripoli

    trtripoli lower management

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Member:
    #8266
    Messages:
    344
    Gender:
    Male
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    07 4,0 L, 6M, Dbl Cab, TRD Off Road
    Eclipse AVN6620 JL 500/1 amp JL 13TW5 sub JL 300/4 JL XR-650CSi Mr Marv Box Blu tooth XM radio Back Up camera, RAAMmat and Ensolite everywhere but ceiling
    +1
     
  4. Jan 13, 2010 at 7:41 AM
    #4
    StZu

    StZu [OP] Where the White Women At?

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Member:
    #28795
    Messages:
    1,180
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    Dallas Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner Texas Edition
    I may just have to break down and buy a cheap ipod
     
  5. Jan 13, 2010 at 7:42 AM
    #5
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    4,935
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    ^yeah...I don't want to do it either but I might have to. I have an 8GB one that was a gift but I really need more storage than that. I'm thinking about getting one with a broken screen that has a crap ton of storage.
     
  6. Jan 13, 2010 at 7:54 AM
    #6
    SportyTuRD

    SportyTuRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Member:
    #25973
    Messages:
    254
    Gender:
    Male

    Ebay...i got my 8GB nano for about $80 when they were going for $199 new in the stores...It also had 300 songs on it when it arrived lol.

    You could probably buy a used i-touch for that price these days
     
  7. Jan 13, 2010 at 7:57 AM
    #7
    StZu

    StZu [OP] Where the White Women At?

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Member:
    #28795
    Messages:
    1,180
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    Dallas Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner Texas Edition
    Ebay here I come, and the broken screen idea is greatness!
     
  8. Jan 13, 2010 at 8:02 AM
    #8
    Veccster

    Veccster bass turds

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Member:
    #8407
    Messages:
    2,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Pittsburgh - The City of Champions
    Vehicle:
    2009 DC V6 TRDsport
    5100's all around - fronts at 1.75", 265/70/17 Bridgestone Revo 2, HID headlights and fog lights, factory skid plate, ss exhaust tip, tube steps, Access roll-up tonneau cover, Redline hood struts, 6 D-rings, seat MagLite, LED dome, fumoto oil drain, DTRL, fog light anytime, Kenwood/Clarion speakers, Pop-N-Lock 5300, LED bed lights and a few other things...
    I bought an 80gb Zune from a TW member and love it. Granted, I don't have an iPod but this was a good deal for the size of it. I just use the aux jack with a retractable cable so it's not dangling everywhere.

    If I need to charge it, I have a retractable cord for the DC outlet. No loose wires and it was a cheap set up (wires were only $5 on Amazon).


    No, I can't use the steering wheel controls but I think that would be difficult anyway. Why don't stereo's have a built-in storage space for MP3's? Like why can't you buy a HU with 200gb of storage for MP3's. Plug in a laptop - via usb - and load it up.
     
  9. Jan 13, 2010 at 10:40 AM
    #9
    itsmyturn

    itsmyturn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Member:
    #5502
    Messages:
    414
    Gender:
    Male
    Victorville, CA
    Vehicle:
    08 dbl cab TRD sport
    afe Pro-Dry S dropin, Readylift leveling kit, TRD skid plate, Alpine CDA-9887, 6K D2S HID
    you might want to call kenwood on that unit. the zunes use a basic interface underneath that was made by toshiba and some can be read as a usb mass storage device. it might be worth a try. or sell your zune and buy an ipod.
     
To Top