1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Need laptop Wifi help

Discussion in 'Technology' started by schleygo, Feb 5, 2011.

  1. Feb 5, 2011 at 12:58 PM
    #1
    schleygo

    schleygo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Member:
    #46306
    Messages:
    375
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Ft Worth TX
    Vehicle:
    07 Dbl Cab Radiant Red
    Bilsten 5100s, Eibach Coils, 2" toytec AAL, LR UCAs, SC5 Matt Bronze
    Please help,

    Got a 5month old HP dm3 laptop. I travel for 20 days a month and use the internet at different hotels everyday. 50% of them are WIFI.

    I have an Atheros AR5009 802.1 a/g/n wifi card that has started to mess up. I try to connect to the internet via WIFI, it shows the network I need with poor signal, but it always says "unable to connect." So I always request to switch rooms with the same outcome.

    A few minutes ago, my friend came in w his circa2004 laptop and it connected right away with full signal. Mine shows poor signal and won't connect. WTF!!

    I then walked out to the hallway and got a fair signal and it connected for a few minutes until I walked back inside the hotel room. We then walked to his room w both laptops on and his signal stayed strong, mine never got above a fair signal and mine never connecting. We then tried this w 2 other hotel room signal strengths w the same outcome.

    The computer works good at my house, so what do you think it is??? If I have to drop $150 to get it fixed, might as well get a new one.
     
  2. Feb 5, 2011 at 1:00 PM
    #2
    schleygo

    schleygo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Member:
    #46306
    Messages:
    375
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Ft Worth TX
    Vehicle:
    07 Dbl Cab Radiant Red
    Bilsten 5100s, Eibach Coils, 2" toytec AAL, LR UCAs, SC5 Matt Bronze
    should be in technology, sorry.
     
  3. Feb 5, 2011 at 1:04 PM
    #3
    2010Tacoma4x4

    2010Tacoma4x4 "Man Ho"

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Member:
    #49556
    Messages:
    644
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Vehicle:
    2010 4x4 SR5
    Tinted windows, Bug deflector, Rain guards, Bed mat, Rear leaf TSB, Bilsteins front & rear (front set @ 1.75), 16x8 chrome Helo wheels, Toyo open country AT P265/75/R16 tires. CBI bolt on sliders. BSP color matched M1 Satoshi grill. BHLM. UWS low profile black powder coat crosover truckbox. Pioneer DVD/CD head unit - 4 channel amp - front mids & highs - 8" sub box.
    Check for driver updates for your wifi card first. Update it if needed.

    If no updates are available then try to uninstall then reinstall the driver.
     
  4. Feb 5, 2011 at 1:32 PM
    #4
    schleygo

    schleygo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Member:
    #46306
    Messages:
    375
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Ft Worth TX
    Vehicle:
    07 Dbl Cab Radiant Red
    Bilsten 5100s, Eibach Coils, 2" toytec AAL, LR UCAs, SC5 Matt Bronze
    It has the latest driver. I just reinstalled it. I then did system restore to the day I believe it started

    Still the same
     
  5. Feb 7, 2011 at 9:23 AM
    #5
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,962
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    1. Are you using the windows connection utility or the one provided by the network card? Windows is more reliable. Try uninstalling the driver, then have windows find the driver automatically without any other software being installed.

    2. Check for firmware updates

    3. Sometimes there's an issue between the router and the network card. My Intel card in my old laptop hated 3Com routers. In this case, it's just the way things are.
     
  6. Feb 7, 2011 at 9:37 AM
    #6
    TACOMA TRD

    TACOMA TRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Member:
    #34897
    Messages:
    2,207
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    PA
    Vehicle:
    2011 MGM SPORT DC 4x4
    Alpine HU, Apline 6.5 3 way Speakers, Access Cover.

    As mentioned above. Uninstall and re-install.
     
  7. Feb 7, 2011 at 9:50 AM
    #7
    badlifeguard

    badlifeguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Member:
    #50403
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jared
    Sierra Vista (aka Mexican Border)
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Seatbelt Chime!!!
To Top