1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

New Head Unit backup camera question

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by FrozenNorth, Apr 23, 2018.

  1. Apr 23, 2018 at 7:15 PM
    #1
    FrozenNorth

    FrozenNorth [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Member:
    #250646
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    I have a 2009 SR5 Access that I would like to put in a new head unit for a bigger screen and backup camera. I was looking on Crutchfield’s website for a Nav/DVD/Backup combo but they told me i would have to also get a new camera for the units to work. My question is: has anyone made the change and if so was there a camera that swaps out so you can use the same tailgate setup and space? Thank you.
     
  2. May 13, 2018 at 9:27 AM
    #2
    sbates

    sbates Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Member:
    #47635
    Messages:
    101
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    2011 Tacoma TRD Sport Double Cab
    Extang Tonneau Cover, aFe Pro Dry S air filter, Weathertech Floormats, De-badged, Plasti dipped Toyota emblem black, Plasti dipped a/c control panel black, 48-led Dome Light, Tailgate Damper,
    Interested in this as well as I'm not sure a new HU can tap in to the existing camera wiring. Following thread.
     
  3. May 13, 2018 at 12:16 PM
    #3
    crashnburn80

    crashnburn80 Vehicle Design Engineer

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Member:
    #156893
    Messages:
    9,215
    Gender:
    Male
    Kirkland, WA
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCSB TRD OR MGM
    Go Hawks!
    The OEM camera can be made to work with an aftermarket head unit. Problem is the connectors, the Toyota camera connector is proprietary while the aftermarket deck uses a standard video RCA unit. Just need to cut and wire a new connector.
     
  4. May 13, 2018 at 6:32 PM
    #4
    Purpleman

    Purpleman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Member:
    #136093
    Messages:
    482
    Gender:
    Male
    Anaheim
    Vehicle:
    15 PreRunner
    You can possibly retain the OEM camera, If you can find its harness in the cab.
     
  5. May 13, 2018 at 6:45 PM
    #5
    ace96

    ace96 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Member:
    #42591
    Messages:
    2,760
    Gender:
    Male
    Western KY
    Vehicle:
    '11 SWB DC TRD SPORT
    AVS bug deflector, Weathertech digital fit floor mats, TRD skid plate w/ Sockmonkey decal, SOS Cocept sliders w/ Line-x, Pioneer 3500, Hybrid Audio Technology Mirus 6X9s & 6.5s, back up cam mod, Wet Okoles-front & rear, TRD exhaust, 17X9 XD Spy w/ Falken Wildpeaks, Avid light bar
    Yes, you can tap into the factory camera with an aftermarket head unit. There was a forum member on here by the name of nimrod or something like that. He made the harness. Pretty much plug and play except for one splice.
     
  6. May 14, 2018 at 6:28 AM
    #6
    pastorman

    pastorman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Member:
    #191922
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma TRD Off Road
  7. May 14, 2018 at 6:56 AM
    #7
    FrozenNorth

    FrozenNorth [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Member:
    #250646
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    How did you find the camera wiring? Meaning where did you tap into the wires to connect to the head unit? Thanks.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top