1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

New Member needs help deciding...

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Casualdreamer, Dec 18, 2009.

1. Dec 18, 2009 at 9:29 PM
    Casualdreamer

Casualdreamer [OP] Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Michael
    Deployed
    How is everyone today. I am currently deployed in the Marine Corps thinking of new cars to buy. I originally had a 10' SVT Raptor on order through Military Car Sales but now I am considering the '10-11' Toyota Tacoma DC. I am a Heavy Equipment Operator and frequently find myself in some dirt quarry or back wood training Marines on new gear. I wanted the Raptor for its offroad capability and ride comfort. I had one ordered fully loaded w/everything except moon roof, trailer brake, and tail gate step for like 42,000 w/o tax, tag and tittle. I was taking delivery summer of 10'. The car sales office got an F150 (not the Raptor) here on display finally so I sat in it. (Not allowed to drive it of course) Man that truck is huge. I didn't feel comfortable and I that is what it is about with me.I cancelled the order because I found this site and have always wanted a Tacoma plus the difference in MPG (14-18) to (16+-20+). I hadn't gotten one in the past becuase I had an 03 Dodge Dakota base model extended cab. I got married (now have a 8 month old daughter) and decided I needed to find something more family oriented so I tried my Dodge Dakota (original owner with only 17k on the odometer) for an 03 Jeep Grand Cherokee Startech Edition V8 HD from Germany in 2008. It was a flat out trade and the Jeep was still under warranty and really low miles. I know buying used