1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

new/upgrading tires

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by nloundag, Nov 25, 2015.

1. Nov 25, 2015 at 12:18 PM
    nloundag

nloundag [OP] New Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2015 Black Taco DC lond
    Newbie here, and I'm looking into new tires. I've lurked around quite a bit, but I still have some questions and am wondering if you pros could throw out a few suggestions.

Currently I am running the stock 265/65r17 tires on my 2013 double-cab long-bed. I am looking to get an all terrain type tire and am looking to get outside opinions. Shs's my everyday rig, but I am looking for a tire that can handle the winter snow and ice, the occasional mudding trip, works well for fairly light towing (atv's, drift boat, and snowmobiles mostly) doesn't get chewed up along rig roads I frequently travel (this may be impossible to actual find, the roads to my drilling locations are often covered with scoria which is notorious for chewing up tires), and can handle the hellacious rains I get stuck in more frequently than is statistically normal.

Also, I am curious as to if it is a good idea to upgrade the tire size by and inch or two? If it hinders performance I would stick with the 17", but honestly, Tacos just look better the higher they get and I don't quite have the dollars to lift her.

If anyone has suggestions of tires they love or would recommend that accommodate my driving conditions (no extremes, but certainly not all pavement) I would greatly appreciate. Although you can drop some serious dollars on tires I looking around the $200 range, if it helps.

Cheers