1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

New wheels, new TPMS -- How to sync with the sensor?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by pcalvin, Nov 4, 2011.

  1. Nov 4, 2011 at 9:14 PM
    #1
    pcalvin

    pcalvin [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Member:
    #65495
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    South Showah, MA
    Vehicle:
    11 DC LB
    I've searched a bit on the forum, but haven't been able to find an (easy) answer to this question.

    I just bought a set of wheels which came with used TPMS on them.

    I will put snow tires on these wheels and then swap for the winter.

    I don't think the taco will recognize these new TPMS automagically. At least they shouldn't.

    So, how do I get the truck to recognize them? Can I do this myself?

    Thanks in advance for all the help.
     
  2. Nov 4, 2011 at 9:40 PM
    #2
    Wolfrunner

    Wolfrunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Member:
    #65864
    Messages:
    52
    Gender:
    Male
    Graham, WA
    Vehicle:
    '04 Tacoma Double Cab SR5
    Grey wire mod, 17" tundra wheels powder coated
    toyota's are kinda picky when it comes to relearning the sensors to the vehicle. most tire shops will have the tools to "wake up" the sensors and then program them to the truck. some of the older toyotas that have tpms have to be reset by the dealer. It isnt something you can do yourself. And I really hope the sensors came off another toyota tacoma or there is a good chance they will not work.
     
  3. Nov 4, 2011 at 11:35 PM
    #3
    pcalvin

    pcalvin [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Member:
    #65495
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    South Showah, MA
    Vehicle:
    11 DC LB
    Yes, the wheels were from another Tacoma, though an older one from 2008, I think. I will see if the tire shop can do the "wake-up" call. No way to do it yourself... damn.. that sucks.
     
  4. Nov 5, 2011 at 5:20 AM
    #4
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,321
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    This is a little long ...
    The toyota system has a tpms ecu that holds only 5 sensors codes.
    The codes on the sensors that came with your truck are now programmed in the spaces.
    You may have 1 extra spot because Toyota used to put a sensor in the spare.
    Some trucks have 5 others 4 sensors from the factory, but only 5 spots to load codes.

    To swap codes, you have to either buy a programming tool or go to the dealer/tire shop to get it done.
    The tool is pricey but is doable (I think I read here around $150-200)
    The programming price by the shop varies $-$$$.
    You'll pay that twice a year or every time you swap.

    Now I swapped two sets of tires/rims (winter & summer set) for my tacoma 4+ yrs but....

    My summer set had no sensors (OEM Alloy).
    My winter set had sensors for they were the steel rims/sensors that came with the truck when I purchased it.
    I never triggered a TPMS light unless I drove out of range of the stored tires/rims. It is pretty far, or at least it was for me. I could drive 25 miles park overnight and never trigger a light. Drive all around town, go to work for 10+ hrs 20 miles away from stored wheels never trigger light.

    When I drove out of range, say a long road trip, it would trigger a light but once home, parked in the driveway & close to the sensors in storage (aired up/mounted on rims), the light reset itself.
    It was crazy but it worked for 4+ yrs.
    Others have the same experience.
    It also worked for my 06 Tundra with Tpms & will do the same for newer Tundra once I get $$ for a winter set of rims.

    Once in the summer, the light did illuminate to let me know the tires in storage were low. Freaky.
    So the choice is yours....
    Attached is the FSM on tpms..there is more reading a ncttora... Good luck :pray: for snow!
     

    Attached Files:

    • tpms.pdf
      File size:
      180.3 KB
      Views:
      1,059
  5. Nov 5, 2011 at 9:06 AM
    #5
    jassco

    jassco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Member:
    #20568
    Messages:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    Boston
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab 2.7L SR5 5spd, 4x4
    5100 set to .85 w/ rear TSB, 2012 Rear-view Mirror, Grillecraft, Team Trails FJ Wheels, TPMS canister, Rear headrest delete, Rear console delete, Valley Hitch, Frame undercoat, $2.99 Tailgate hose clamp lock, Avid light bar, 4x4 lighted switch ala Biceman.
    Glad I did the canister for mine. PITA dealing with swaps for me otherwise. My sensors awoke on their own after having them off the truck for a week while I made the canister.
     
  6. Dec 29, 2012 at 12:55 PM
    #6
    hypertechno

    hypertechno New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Member:
    #86435
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport Crew
  7. Aug 26, 2016 at 9:12 AM
    #7
    TacoDoe858

    TacoDoe858 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Member:
    #162169
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    San diego
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma 4x4
    Would we be able to just swap one tpms Installed wheel from one tacoma to another?
     

Products Discussed in this Thread

To Top