1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

New wheels, new TPMS -- How to sync with the sensor?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by pcalvin, Nov 4, 2011.

  1. Nov 4, 2011 at 9:14 PM
    #1
    pcalvin

    pcalvin [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Member:
    #65495
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    South Showah, MA
    Vehicle:
    11 DC LB
    I've searched a bit on the forum, but haven't been able to find an (easy) answer to this question.

    I just bought a set of wheels which came with used TPMS on them.

    I will put snow tires on these wheels and then swap for the winter.

    I don't think the taco will recognize these new TPMS automagically. At least they shouldn't.

    So, how do I get the truck to recognize them? Can I do this myself?

    Thanks in advance for all the help.
     
  2. Nov 4, 2011 at 9:40 PM
    #2
    Wolfrunner

    Wolfrunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Member:
    #65864
    Messages:
    52
    Gender:
    Male
    Graham, WA
    Vehicle:
    '04 Tacoma Double Cab SR5
    Grey wire mod, 17" tundra wheels powder coated
    toyota's are kinda picky when it comes to relearning the sensors to the vehicle. most tire shops will have the tools to "wake up" the sensors and then program them to the truck. some of the older toyotas that have tpms have to be reset by the dealer. It isnt something you can do yourself. And I really hope the sensors came off another toyota tacoma or there is a good chance they will not work.
     
  3. Nov 4, 2011 at 11:35 PM
    #3
    pcalvin

    pcalvin [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Member:
    #65495
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    South Showah, MA
    Vehicle:
    11 DC LB
    Yes, the wheels were from another Tacoma, though an older one from 2008, I think. I will see if the tire shop can do the "wake-up" call. No way to do it yourself... damn.. that sucks.
     
  4. Nov 5, 2011 at 5:20 AM
    #4
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    10,085
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    NEK Island Pond VT
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    This is a little long ...
    The toyota system has a tpms ecu that holds only 5 sensors codes.
    The codes on the sensors that came with your truck are now programmed in the spaces.
    You may have 1 extra spot because Toyota used to put a sensor in the spare.
    Some trucks have 5 others 4 sensors from the factory, but only 5 spots to load codes.

    To swap codes, you have to either buy a programming tool or go to the dealer/tire shop to get it done.
    The tool is pricey but is doable (I think I read here around $150-200)
    The programming price by the shop varies $-$$$.
    You'll pay that twice a year or every time you swap.

    Now I swapped two sets of tires/rims (winter & summer set) for my tacoma 4+ yrs but....

    My summer set had no sensors (OEM Alloy).
    My winter set had sensors for they were the steel rims/sensors that came with the truck when I purchased it.
    I never triggered a TPMS light unless I drove out of range of the stored tires/rims. It is pretty far, or at least it was for me. I could drive 25 miles park overnight and never trigger a light. Drive all around town, go to work for 10+ hrs 20 miles away from stored wheels never trigger light.

    When I drove out of range, say a long road trip, it would trigger a light but once home, parked in the driveway & close to the sensors in storage (aired up/mounted on rims), the light reset itself.
    It was crazy but it worked for 4+ yrs.
    Others have the same experience.
    It also worked for my 06 Tundra with Tpms & will do the same for newer Tundra once I get $$ for a winter set of rims.

    Once in the summer, the light did illuminate to let me know the tires in storage were low. Freaky.
    So the choice is yours....
    Attached is the FSM on tpms..there is more reading a ncttora... Good luck :pray: for snow!
     

    Attached Files:

    • tpms.pdf
      File size:
      180.3 KB
      Views:
      1,350
  5. Nov 5, 2011 at 9:06 AM
    #5
    jassco

    jassco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Member:
    #20568
    Messages:
    556
    Gender:
    Male
    Boston
    Vehicle:
    2008 4runner, UrbanRunner Silver
    Glad I did the canister for mine. PITA dealing with swaps for me otherwise. My sensors awoke on their own after having them off the truck for a week while I made the canister.
     
  6. Dec 29, 2012 at 12:55 PM
    #6
    hypertechno

    hypertechno New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Member:
    #86435
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport Crew
  7. Aug 26, 2016 at 9:12 AM
    #7
    TacoDoe858

    TacoDoe858 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Member:
    #162169
    Messages:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Orlando
    San diego
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma SBDC 4x4
    FX PRO Wheels, 2" front spacer, Firestone Ride Right airbags, Snugtop camper shell, Bed Rug
    Would we be able to just swap one tpms Installed wheel from one tacoma to another?
     
  8. Dec 29, 2020 at 9:38 AM
    #8
    rickpb

    rickpb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Member:
    #346867
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tacoma TRD Off Road Access Cab
    Hi TacomaWorld!

    Digging up an old thread but didn't want to start a new one for the same issue.

    I bought a 2020 Off-Road, took the stock alloy's off and kept the tires/sensors on them for my summer tires.

    I then bought a set of Road Ready Wheels steel rims (essentially replicas of the spare without the weird elongated hole for the valve), a set of KO2's, found the part number for the steel wheel TMPS (42607-06012) and bought a used set on eBay out of a 2013 Corolla for $40 and new fit-kits from Toyota for $8 each.

    This is the first modern truck I've owned, admittedly I had no idea the TPMS system was this convoluted. I just assumed if the part numbers were the same it would all work. Now I've got a tire pressure warning light and all the tire pressures show -- in the dash.

    Pep Boys installed the tires for me and didn't say anything. I've been to Big-O, Les Schwab and Toyota and got 3 different opinions. Toyota wanted to charge me $150 just to look at it. Big-O said the sensors are bad and couldn't read them, Les Schwab could read the sensors as a Corolla but said I'd need new aftermarket ones that the trucks ECU could read for $400...

    So... what is the truth here?! Can a 2020 Tacoma Off-Road use TPMS sensors from a 2013 Corolla?

    Any informed advice would be greatly appreciated!

    Rick.

    2020-Tacoma-Off-Road-Steel-Wheels.jpg
     
  9. Dec 31, 2020 at 3:10 PM
    #9
    #4TOY4ME

    #4TOY4ME Now driving #5

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Member:
    #116156
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Northwest Arizona
    Vehicle:
    17 MGM OR 4X4 AC
    Level 8 Mk6 16x8 0 offset , Bilstein 5100 G4 Elite Fold A Cover
    Hello Rick,
    Check out "tpms.com", it shows all the different sensors used by all Toyota models. It shows that the 2013 Corolla sensors will not work with 2020 Tacoma.
    There ya go, Robert
     
  10. Jan 2, 2021 at 9:52 PM
    #10
    rickpb

    rickpb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Member:
    #346867
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tacoma TRD Off Road Access Cab
    Robert,

    Thanks for the tip, I hadn't seen that website before! I've ordered a set of 4 sensors from them for $110 total. That's $300 cheaper than what Les Schwab quoted me. Will see if they work once they're installed and report back!

    Rick.
     
    #4TOY4ME likes this.
  11. Jan 12, 2021 at 5:19 PM
    #11
    rickpb

    rickpb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Member:
    #346867
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tacoma TRD Off Road Access Cab
    Robert, I finally got the TPMS sensors from TPMS.com installed today. I can't tell you how happy I was to see the pressure readings update on the drive home! Thank you so much for that tip!

    For anyone reading this, the TPMS.com sensors were 1/4 the price of the same sensors the tire store and Toyota were going to charge me. No fit kits needed, they come with the TPMS.com sensors. Toyota dealership were next to useless with advice that amounted to 'just drive it with the light on'.

    New truck ownership would suck without Tacoma World!
     
  12. Jan 12, 2021 at 7:08 PM
    #12
    #4TOY4ME

    #4TOY4ME Now driving #5

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Member:
    #116156
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Northwest Arizona
    Vehicle:
    17 MGM OR 4X4 AC
    Level 8 Mk6 16x8 0 offset , Bilstein 5100 G4 Elite Fold A Cover
    Hi Rick,
    Glad they worked out well for you! I just happened on TPMS.com a couple of weeks back myself.
    Tacoma World is awesome!
    Robert.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top