1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

No connector behind fog light blanks??

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by claw, May 11, 2011.

  1. May 11, 2011 at 9:36 PM
    #1
    claw

    claw [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Member:
    #42187
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cam
    Bozeman MT
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab, 4 Banger
    Tonneau cover, bed lights, fog lights, VHF radio
    As I am working on installing some fog lights, I was hoping to pull power for the switch off of this mysterious connector everyone says is behind the top row of blanks on a SR5 extended cab 2010. I popped out all the blanks and the only wire is the one that runs up to the dimmer switch... Where would it be? I did find a plug that was taped about even with the top of the drivers side kick plate that wasn't plugged into anything and has 2 rows of 5 plugs. One of these is a power wire that only is active with the ignition. Could this be the plug but taped up in a different location??? Is there any reason not to splice into that power wire for the switch to my piaa fog light relay?

    Thanks for the quick responses, I'm hoping to finish this tomorrow when the sun is back out!
     
  2. May 12, 2011 at 7:44 AM
    #2
    claw

    claw [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Member:
    #42187
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cam
    Bozeman MT
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab, 4 Banger
    Tonneau cover, bed lights, fog lights, VHF radio
    Anyone? I'm going to cut and splice after work unless anyone has any pointers...

    I know I should have grabbed a couple pics but I had no light and was tired and pissed...the usual excuses
     
  3. May 12, 2011 at 9:41 AM
    #3
    JDCPA

    JDCPA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Member:
    #10777
    Messages:
    936
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    SW FL
    Vehicle:
    09 5 Lug Access Cab SR5
    Curt Hitch and etrailer.com wiring harness.
    I'd do a real good search of the forum. I've seen a couple of threads on ths in the past.
     
  4. May 12, 2011 at 9:45 AM
    #4
    JLink

    JLink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36795
    Messages:
    11,333
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Ocean, NJ
    Vehicle:
    The "Big Nig"
    Lifted, Locked, Armored. Ready To Wheel.
    As long as that wire isn't supposed to be plugged in somewhere and it meets your requirements (only hot when ignition is on) then go for it. I used an add a circuit and used the fuse box in the dash to get switched power for lights. Probably easier than splicing into an unknown wire
     
  5. May 13, 2011 at 5:20 PM
    #5
    claw

    claw [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Member:
    #42187
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cam
    Bozeman MT
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab, 4 Banger
    Tonneau cover, bed lights, fog lights, VHF radio
    Snipped and soldered a splice all back in...so far everything works!
     
  6. May 13, 2011 at 5:28 PM
    #6
    skytower

    skytower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Member:
    #38505
    Messages:
    3,228
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    virginia
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma 4x4
    Hitch and wiring, aux back-up light, rear strobe lights, radio and underseat sub.
    Make sure you use a relay on a tapped factory circuit. You can easily exceed the capacity.
     
To Top