1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

no idea what i'm doing... quick question

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by rogerkamp8817, Apr 29, 2010.

1. Apr 29, 2010 at 5:04 PM
    rogerkamp8817

rogerkamp8817 [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Orange County, California
    Vehicle:
    2010 Toyota TRD Off-Road 4x4, AC, Superwhite
    i purchased a new deck (alpine 9887) and i'm trying to install it myself. i have the wiring harness and the dash kit, but i have never done a radio install before.

do i simply match up the colors of the wires? i got the wiring harness from best buy and its comes with 2 harnesses. it looks like there's a separate harness for the rear speakers.

next question... can i buy a nice quality set of speakers for my doors and power these 2 speakers using the the leads from both the front and rear speakers, leaving my rear speakers disconnected? does this make sense? what's the most secure way of connecting the wires? any tips?

i am reading the instructions on how to take the factory radio out from taco tunes and they seem pretty simple.

thanks guys!

2. Apr 29, 2010 at 6:25 PM
    bookmonke

bookmonke Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Mark
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC PreRunner Rugged Trail
    Yea, you pretty much color match, watch out for the orange wires, you may have one with a white stripe, solder and heat shrink is the best way or you can twist together and use end crimps. Not sure about your speaker question, you don't put power to the speakers just a signal from head unit and those harnesses you have.

3. Apr 29, 2010 at 6:30 PM
    Blackshirts