1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

No Tachometer on my 1st gen, Solutions?

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by bozotaco, Mar 6, 2011.

  1. Mar 6, 2011 at 9:03 AM
    #1
    bozotaco

    bozotaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Member:
    #46122
    Messages:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Montana
    Vehicle:
    04 Tacoma
    I was a little surprised when I bought my Yota that it was lacking a Tachometer, but I accepted it. It's bone stock which I love(except the lack of a locker) but after seven months I think I'm going to getting a scangauge or ultragauge. I know when to shift by feeling and sound, but would still love to see what my RPMS are at. I want this mostly for the tach function, which I think they have? Anyone else lacking a tach? Or have gotten a an ultragauge soley for the tach function?
     
  2. Mar 6, 2011 at 9:07 AM
    #2
    tacomakid96

    tacomakid96 Can you skin Grizz, pilgram?

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Member:
    #30175
    Messages:
    3,609
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phil
    Out n' about
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma
    Airbags, Projectors, Bilsteins front and rear, FM 50 series, URD clutch/TOB, Leer canopy, 265/75/16 Duratrac's...
    My dads truck doesn't have a tach and he doesn't mind but if you want one I'd go with scan gauge
     
  3. Mar 6, 2011 at 9:50 AM
    #3
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
  4. Mar 6, 2011 at 10:03 AM
    #4
    bozotaco

    bozotaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Member:
    #46122
    Messages:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Montana
    Vehicle:
    04 Tacoma
    How much, and how new is it?
     
  5. Mar 6, 2011 at 5:34 PM
    #5
    mike sacc

    mike sacc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51652
    Messages:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    r.i.
    Vehicle:
    2001 tacoma reg cab, 2009 tacoma dble cab shb
    i have an 01 2.7 no tach. wish i had one tho. whats the deal with the scan gauge?
     
  6. Mar 6, 2011 at 7:09 PM
    #6
    Siebler

    Siebler Duck Killing Machine

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Member:
    #17019
    Messages:
    779
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    CJ
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    99 5 lug LT
    TC LT Front, F67 on 12" shackle, LCE Underdrive Pulley, Flex-a-lite fan, DT headers, Super 44 muffler, 4:11's and Aussie Locker, 22 Gallon Fuel Cell, Beard seats, custom bumpers, sliders, bed cage
    I have the SG. I use it for Tach and it works pretty well. Because its digital it lags a little but works.
     
  7. Mar 7, 2011 at 2:51 AM
    #7
    mike sacc

    mike sacc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51652
    Messages:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    r.i.
    Vehicle:
    2001 tacoma reg cab, 2009 tacoma dble cab shb
    where do you put it?
     
  8. Mar 7, 2011 at 12:16 PM
    #8
    fratermus

    fratermus Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Member:
    #41150
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    ScanGauge or UltraGauge. I chose the latter.
     
  9. Mar 7, 2011 at 12:20 PM
    #9
    Pingo

    Pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Member:
    #7826
    Messages:
    460
    Gender:
    Male
    North Pole, AK
    Vehicle:
    2014 S/C TRD Offroad A/C
    My 01 has a tach... Which tacomas didn't come with a tach, did they have to have the sr5 package?
     
  10. Mar 7, 2011 at 2:13 PM
    #10
    bozotaco

    bozotaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Member:
    #46122
    Messages:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Montana
    Vehicle:
    04 Tacoma
    Mine is not an SR5 which is why I assume it doesn't have a tac. They also neglected to a put a clock in, which Im guessing doesn't cost more than a few dollars...oh well. Ive been looking at the scan gauge more and more, but I don't like the fact that it lags a second or so behind. Has anyone put in a tach before?
     
  11. Mar 7, 2011 at 2:25 PM
    #11
    mike sacc

    mike sacc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51652
    Messages:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    r.i.
    Vehicle:
    2001 tacoma reg cab, 2009 tacoma dble cab shb
    my 01 is not an sr5, it has aclock and air tho.
     
  12. Mar 7, 2011 at 7:41 PM
    #12
    bozotaco

    bozotaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Member:
    #46122
    Messages:
    222
    Gender:
    Male
    Montana
    Vehicle:
    04 Tacoma
    Mine has A/C but no clock, strange. Whats the word on the ultragauge?
     
  13. Mar 8, 2011 at 12:16 AM
    #13
    TacoBlitz

    TacoBlitz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Member:
    #45430
    Messages:
    297
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Vehicle:
    01 DoubleCab SR5 TRD, white
    Topper, Yakima Racks, Yakima Loadwarrior roof basket (lights all around) 20% window tint (all 4 doors), Spectre ProFab Air Intake System, Black grille, Rino Lined rocker panels, rear bumper and flares Suspension: New OME 881 coils and OME 5 leaf rear springs, Blilstein shocks and struts, Daystar Greasable lift shackels Extended rear brake line
    You should post a pic of what your dash looks like, I am kind of curious
     
  14. Mar 8, 2011 at 9:30 AM
    #14
    saweetlou

    saweetlou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Member:
    #33266
    Messages:
    184
    Gender:
    Male
    Guelph Ontario
    Vehicle:
    TRD Stepside
    2in Skyjacker
    I believe that every truck is already wired for the tack and the clock and stuff like that, so I would pull the cluster to see if the wiring is there same with the clock, I will bet that the plug is there for the clock.
     
To Top