1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Noobie needs opinons

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by PatInTheHat88, May 21, 2010.

1. May 21, 2010 at 3:08 AM
    PatInTheHat88

PatInTheHat88 [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Patrick
    Tulsa
    Vehicle:
    98 Tacoma, SR5 Debadged
    After market rims, one off paint
    allright im a noob to the site. so any info would be much needed. i bought a 98 tacoma xtra cab 3.4 liter v6, auto, optional electric locker, trd package. ( bilstien supension,) 283,000 on the original drivetrain. very well taken care by a older gentlemen. $696 is what i paid for it, a little bit of body damage, but nothing major, AAD leafs in the rear, all original. with 15X8 wagon wheels. i have a problem though i have to stuff a shop rag into the air intake behind the filter other wise it will not run, and it has a lag in the throttle response .. i pulled out a 86 ford ranger today and it did just find well besides the whole dying thing when you get the rpm's over 3200, roughly then it cuts out and dies, im a extremely mechanicly inclined person. im not real familar with the obd II system and i need help troubleshooting what the problem might be.. i was told it might be a O2 sensor or maybe the Cat's are so clogged that its not running correctly, or maybe vacuum lines? my other question is that the book calls for dual electode plugs is this nessacary? will post pics and videos if asked.. this is not my daily driver its my project truck, i do know enough about yota's that when i seen this truck i had to have it... my goal is to build a barely street legal baja truck, lon