1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

OBD Fusion App With Veepeak OBD Scanner

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by Voltron4x4, Jan 9, 2018.

  1. Jan 9, 2018 at 11:55 AM
    #1
    Voltron4x4

    Voltron4x4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Member:
    #217975
    Messages:
    950
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunnyside, Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2014 Black TRD DCLB
    This and that...
    I've been running this ODB scanner with the ODB Fusion app. I have no complaints and its nice to have some extra gauges when on road trips. Mainly keep it on the trip fuel economy and knowing the altitude at any given point is fun here in CO. It has no lag displaying the data. Still trying to find the right display to show an accurate percentage of fuel left. You can fully customize the look, size, color, and type of display. Currently using Bluetooth on my Iphone 6S in a 2014 Tacoma. Of course this will come in handy if it does blow a code down the road. $30 Scanner $10 App.

    7983B2F9-2D46-4554-B517-BEC366849E29.jpg 4EEE9A11-A296-46B7-B400-045E30C4DFB4.jpg D5050FF7-3DD8-4865-B72E-9A0A7E7F779D.jpg


    https://www.amazon.com/Veepeak-OBDC...rd_wg=R73vE&psc=1&refRID=ZR1MQY7C2Z6VQ3ZC62X1
     
    standard and 828TACO like this.
  2. Jan 9, 2018 at 5:06 PM
    #2
    drr

    drr Primary Prognosticator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Member:
    #114681
    Messages:
    1,997
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Seattle-ish
    Vehicle:
    02 4WD Tacoma
    “OBD” - On Board Diagnostics

    I was trying to figure out why Old Dirty Bastard was making apps...
     
    su.brat likes this.
  3. Jan 9, 2018 at 7:07 PM
    #3
    Voltron4x4

    Voltron4x4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Member:
    #217975
    Messages:
    950
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunnyside, Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2014 Black TRD DCLB
    This and that...
    Hahaha. Yep!
     
  4. Jan 10, 2018 at 1:00 PM
    #4
    sioux

    sioux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Member:
    #177767
    Messages:
    467
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCSB SR5 4x4
  5. Mar 1, 2018 at 11:11 AM
    #5
    250taco

    250taco Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Member:
    #235361
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Geronimo1111 likes this.
  6. Mar 1, 2018 at 11:24 AM
    #6
    sioux

    sioux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Member:
    #177767
    Messages:
    467
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCSB SR5 4x4
    I'm not sure if it's simply a difference between '07 and '12, but I was able to get both trans temps via PID selection and didn't have to do any tomfuckery.
     
  7. Mar 1, 2018 at 1:21 PM
    #7
    250taco

    250taco Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Member:
    #235361
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah I've seen screenshots of the menus where to select it, but even after having the add on, I search for that line and nothing, it just isn't there. I know there are different PID numbers for 2009 and earlier and 2010 and later, and most people using the Kiwi3/Fusion combo, that I have read, have newer trucks. For now, the User Defined PIDs work, just a pain they weren't included. I'm about to contact support to see what's up.
     
    sioux likes this.
  8. Jun 21, 2018 at 6:09 PM
    #8
    Geronimo1111

    Geronimo1111 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Member:
    #198162
    Messages:
    266
    Gender:
    Male
    Ventura, Flagstaff & Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    '07 Silver Streak Mica 2.7L AC
    Ride-Rites LEER 100 XQ Cap Homemade Bedslider Bilsteins
    @250taco What info can your get on you '07?

    Asking because I'm thinking about getting a Maestro link for a new head unit install and wondering if it's worth it. TIA.
     
  9. Jul 2, 2018 at 1:16 AM
    #9
    250taco

    250taco Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Member:
    #235361
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    I can get a ton of info off the set up I have, most important was transmission temp because of the steep towing in the area. I couldn't even begin to list how many readouts I have access to, but if you had something specific in mind ask away and I'll see if it comes up as accessible from the list of included PIDs.
     
    Geronimo1111 likes this.
  10. Jul 6, 2018 at 2:55 AM
    #10
    Geronimo1111

    Geronimo1111 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Member:
    #198162
    Messages:
    266
    Gender:
    Male
    Ventura, Flagstaff & Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    '07 Silver Streak Mica 2.7L AC
    Ride-Rites LEER 100 XQ Cap Homemade Bedslider Bilsteins
    Thanks @250taco Sounds like it has plenty of info available. Trans temp sounds like a key one. :thumbsup:
     
  11. Aug 2, 2018 at 5:20 AM
    #11
    Landpirate

    Landpirate Strong like horse, smart like tractor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Member:
    #259719
    Messages:
    577
    Gender:
    Male
    North Texas
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma BBP SR5 4x4 DCSB
    OME HD leafs, 5100s, CaliRaised skids, UpTop Overland Bravo, KB Voodoo rack, Overlander RTT/awning, DECKED
    Glad to hear this. Just ordered the pair for my 18 SR5.
     
To Top