1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

OBD Fusion tips and tricks

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by Totall4285, Jan 28, 2019.

  1. Jan 28, 2019 at 11:14 PM
    #1
    Totall4285

    Totall4285 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Member:
    #214810
    Messages:
    367
    Gender:
    Male
    Palm Harbor, Fl.
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma TRD Sport
    Just purchased and setup obd fusion app and running it on a veepeak obd scanner. I did purchase the toyota add on within the obd fusion app as well. Got to say I'm very impressed with the amount of data I can monitor, and for a total $26. Wanted to see what pids people were monitoring. There's a ton of different temperature pids to choose from. And since I'm new to the app, any tips or tricks are appreciated.
    I included a screenshot of my main display. I selected pid to see when the torque converter engages, but not sure I'm interpreting it right. Only values I ever see is 0 or 1.0. Not sure how it would show 1/2 lock, would assume 0.5 but I haven't seen that pop up.
    Also selected all cylinder misfire and the single cylinder misfire pids, but only the "all cylinder" pid shows a misfire, can't pinpoint which 1.
    To sum it up, the app is great and extremely customizable. Thanks for the info.

    Screenshot_20190129-021235.jpg
     
    2017TRDpro likes this.
  2. Jan 29, 2019 at 7:00 AM
    #2
    Tacoma3rdGen

    Tacoma3rdGen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Member:
    #271933
    Messages:
    652
    Gender:
    Male
    New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma Limited
    I’m using OBD2 Fusion with KIWI reader on IOS... so far, I find it extremely useful for monitoring engine/transmission conditions otherwise unavailable on the stock displays. An example includes situations such as towing wherein you should monitor transmission temperatures... should the A/T temp light illuminate, it’s too late, damage has already been done. Gauge arc colors, ranges, red lines, etc., are fully customizable to meet your specific warning range. Below is a screen shot of my tow monitor pid setup.

    4162AE8C-F3BA-4CD6-8049-08DF5CD29B3D.jpg
     
    Rujack and porterx like this.
  3. Jan 29, 2019 at 7:26 AM
    #3
    MOC221_

    MOC221_ 3rd Gen GinGer StepchilD

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Member:
    #178858
    Messages:
    5,400
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    Vehicle:
    2016 OR AC 6MT
    OVT 1.05 FOB 91
    Fusion/‘Yota PID pack and Carista BT dongle. Made this one for FWD trouble:

    113ED485-BB54-4645-AE88-E3F946D852F4.jpg
     
  4. Jan 29, 2019 at 7:33 AM
    #4
    2017TRDpro

    2017TRDpro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Member:
    #216440
    Messages:
    454
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Pro
    I also recently purchased OBD Fusion with Toyota add on. Was using Torque Pro, which doesn't show misfire and current gear selection.

    Regarding misfire, all cylinders misfire count displays # of misfire per 10000 RPM, so if you have a misfire, 1 will pop up, but then will go away after a few seconds. If you see something other than zero constantly on your display, especially once engine is up to temp, than you might have an issue. To see total number of misfire during the drive cycle, go back to main menu, then Monitors, then Mode $06, scroll down and you'll see it.

    I noticed same thing regarding Lock Up Status. Either 0 or 1, where is the half lock up?

    Other things I keep eyes on, A/T oil temp 1 and 2, A/F actual, Timing, calculate load, vehicle load.

    (Status of the shift status) show you current gear selection, stupid name, but useful, for me.
     
    Totall4285 [OP] likes this.
  5. Jan 29, 2019 at 12:27 PM
    #5
    skylerSurf

    skylerSurf Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Member:
    #271751
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Vehicle:
    2011 trd off road
    I purchased the Jdiag scanner and it seems its not compatible with the fusion app?
     
  6. Jan 29, 2019 at 12:45 PM
    #6
    yotanut

    yotanut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Member:
    #137033
    Messages:
    150
    Gender:
    Male
    So is it normal to have misfires when the truck is under normal operating temperature, and once at temp, is it normal to have any number of misfires? Thanks.
     
  7. Jan 29, 2019 at 12:56 PM
    #7
    2017TRDpro

    2017TRDpro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Member:
    #216440
    Messages:
    454
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Pro
    I think is normal to have few (under 10) misfires when the engine is cold. Once up to temp, it should be a rare occurrence, at least that's my experience. Like you, I am on OVTune, 1.05 91.
     
  8. Jan 29, 2019 at 6:08 PM
    #8
    Totall4285

    Totall4285 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Member:
    #214810
    Messages:
    367
    Gender:
    Male
    Palm Harbor, Fl.
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma TRD Sport
    Thanks, that is exactly how the all cylinders gauge behaves. 99% it's 0, every one in a while a number will pop up then disappear.
    Any idea why the gauges for the individual cylinders don't register a misfire when the "all cylinders" gauge does?
    I did also discover the $06 recently. Great info, loved that it's monitored automatically
     
  9. Jan 29, 2019 at 6:33 PM
    #9
    Vlady

    Vlady Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2017
    Member:
    #238986
    Messages:
    236
    Gender:
    Male
    Issy, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 White SR5 DCSB V6 4x4
    Cylinder misfire is getting registered, but due to your selected refresh rate they may not getting displayed.
    You can capture all that information by logging.
    Under settings select log setup and have a go...
     
    Totall4285 [OP] likes this.
  10. Jan 29, 2019 at 7:31 PM
    #10
    pjensen641

    pjensen641 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Member:
    #203045
    Messages:
    700
    Boone, IA
    Vehicle:
    '17 MGM ACLB Sport Manual
    Anyone else have the manifold pressure read boost? It seems the manifold pressure and injector signals are giving me garbage. Not terribly impressed. I've used DashCommand and Torque in the past. Unfortunately DashCommand seems to have been abandoned by the developer. No new PID packages since like 2014.
     
  11. Jan 29, 2019 at 7:36 PM
    #11
    Technique

    Technique Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2017
    Member:
    #235046
    Messages:
    886
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Utah
    Vehicle:
    2017 Silver Offroad DCSB
    5100s with 885 coils
    Is there any good OBD2 scanners for around $20 that work with iOS? I'd like to use some of the apps mentioned above.
     
  12. Jan 29, 2019 at 8:14 PM
    #12
    Totall4285

    Totall4285 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Member:
    #214810
    Messages:
    367
    Gender:
    Male
    Palm Harbor, Fl.
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma TRD Sport
    Somebody else will need to confirm but I think you can use carista obd connector and use obd fusion app without needing the carista monthly subscription.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2019
  13. Feb 2, 2019 at 11:25 PM
    #13
    tacitos

    tacitos Tah-Key-Toes

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Member:
    #169837
    Messages:
    1,786
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    16 TRDORDCLBJBL
    Subd,

    I just purchased Fusion and I’m playing with it.

    I noticed a plethora of TPMS options, anyone play with those yet?
     
  14. Feb 5, 2019 at 11:33 AM
    #14
    Taco16LB

    Taco16LB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Member:
    #198602
    Messages:
    1,553
    Gender:
    Male
    Has anyone gotten the Toyota PID for Altitude to work ? I have it on my dashboard but it always reads 0 .
     
  15. Feb 5, 2019 at 12:06 PM
    #15
    Rujack

    Rujack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Member:
    #194732
    Messages:
    1,673
    Libertarian. Pulling my face off in Berkeley, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma TRD Off Road 6 speed manual
    Can we get a list of the most popular scanners / modules for use with the fusion app, and a brief review of those modules including what makes them better than others?

    The price range varies widely, and it would be useful to know why. Including power consumption and reliability etc...
     
    mauidogg likes this.
  16. Feb 5, 2019 at 12:14 PM
    #16
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    6,476
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 ACLB Sport 6MT BR
    1.05 FOB 91, Functional Skewp, 7r41lbr34k3r knob, Debadge, Dechrome, MeSo switch panel and V4s
    Most popular adapters are no-name. You'd have to go off of purchase links that folks have verified.

    Myself, I have a 5yr old ELM327-chipped no-name BT adapter that, at the time, was verified to work with Torque. I paid $15. Since, it has worked Carista, Fusion, and RealDash on several cars.

    At this time, my best advice is to snag the Carista adapter from their website for $20. With that you get a free month of Carista. They advertise that their adapter also works with Torque et al.

    I can't see paying more than about $20 for one of these.


    The other aspect is phone OS. Android has no issues with a BT adapter. Using a wifi one exposes your vehicle to hacks and doesn't allow you to use wifi and the adapter at the same time. I believe iOS folks generally need to use a wifi adapter though?


    What I am getting at is that there is a lot more complication than a basic list.
     
    Rujack likes this.
  17. Feb 5, 2019 at 12:23 PM
    #17
    Tacoma3rdGen

    Tacoma3rdGen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Member:
    #271933
    Messages:
    652
    Gender:
    Male
    New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma Limited
    Where are you selecting the altitude PID from? If from the GPS PID menu, then altitude info comes from your display device (on my iPad, I’m receiving altitude information without OBD2 connection to my truck). I haven’t found any other altitude PID option to choose...

    3D7BEB56-D3D5-489F-8ACE-DC4D41B7DE09.jpg

    4E8344DB-BB2E-4D97-8CC4-6541D4028807.jpg
     
    Taco16LB likes this.
  18. Feb 5, 2019 at 12:26 PM
    #18
    Taco16LB

    Taco16LB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Member:
    #198602
    Messages:
    1,553
    Gender:
    Male
    I at first bought a PanLong cheap one and If left on the truck caused codes on the truck if left on after 1 start stop cycle . I had to take it off after each start stop cycle or it was a problem . This may be because I have the premium and tech package on a 2016 . I now have a OBDlink MX+ and so far it has worked great with with fusion with at least 15 start stop cycles .
    Watch out for the cheaper ones as they are to be taken off after each use or they run down the battery.
    The OBDLink models go into a 2ma draw if left on and is not a problem .
     
    Rujack likes this.
  19. Feb 5, 2019 at 12:32 PM
    #19
    Taco16LB

    Taco16LB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Member:
    #198602
    Messages:
    1,553
    Gender:
    Male
    I just looked and it is from GPS . I will have to look on how to turn GPS on my phone ?
    Edit , just found it on the phone and will try it
    , Thanks !
    Edit again . It is now working .
    I go up and down hills all the time here and want to see how much it is .
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2019
    Tacoma3rdGen likes this.
  20. Feb 5, 2019 at 1:13 PM
    #20
    Tacoma3rdGen

    Tacoma3rdGen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Member:
    #271933
    Messages:
    652
    Gender:
    Male
    New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma Limited
    I can speak to plexdevices.com Kiwi3 connected to Apple iOS via WiFi, info found here:

    https://www.plxdevices.com/Kiwi-3-OBD-Car-to-Smartphone-Connection-p/897346002832.htm

    https://www.amazon.com/PLX-Devices-...00568&sr=8-1-spons&keywords=kiwi+3+obd2&psc=1

    It’s a little pricey to some folks, however it works flawlessly with the most popular OBD2 software on the market. US based company with dependable support (you won’t find that with generic readers). Lots of people have had success with cheap/inexpensive units... I prefer to spend a little more on high quality and have no issues later. I leave my unit plugged in full time, very low profile so it’s easy to forget it’s even installed.

    The smallest, fastest, and most versatile OBD adapter. Plug and play automotive tool that connects to the onboard diagnostic port (OBDII / CAN), retrieves information from your car's computer, and wirelessly transmits to your smart phone, tablet, smart watch, or PC.
    • Exclusive App - Download "Kiwi OBD" specifically designed to take advantage of the Kiwi 3 accelerated hardware
    • Size - sits only 0.68" out of your obd port making it the most discrete adapter on the market
    • Speed - up to 4 times faster than the nearest competitor
    • Power consumption - uses ultra low power (0.2 W active / 0.05 W sleep) allowing you to leave your device installed permanently in your vehicle.
    • Cross platform compatibility - the world's first truly cross platform adapter compatible with iOS, Android, and Windows Mobile.
    • Vehicle compatibility - compatible with all cars and consumer trucks built and sold in the United States after January 1, 1996

    BC640B44-3AA3-4C95-A052-D45D9C3F5868.jpg
     
    Rujack likes this.
To Top