1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

OEM head unit amp connections

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by ZonKs, Dec 22, 2007.

  1. ZonKs

    ZonKs [OP] Can speak french in Russian.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Member:
    #1711
    Messages:
    1,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Glendale, CA
    =p
    Im installing an infinity 475a in my truck. Do i need any special connectors to interface the amp with the OEM head unit? Someone I talked to mentioned something like a "high/low" connector. I bought an amp wiring kit from Crutchfield, but im not sure if i have everything i need.

    Also, if anyone can point me to a 2005 + tacoma amp install video, that would be great.

    Thanks,

    Ted
     
  2. ZonKs

    ZonKs [OP] Can speak french in Russian.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Member:
    #1711
    Messages:
    1,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Glendale, CA
    =p
    awesome, thanks
     
  3. Evil Monkey

    Evil Monkey There's an evil monkey in my truck

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Member:
    #2352
    Messages:
    8,388
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Escondido, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 DC SR5 TRD Off-road
    Weathertech front & rear mats, rear suspension TSB, Toytec AAL for TSB, Hi-Lift Jack, Bilstein 5100 & Toytec Adjustable coilovers, Built Right UCAs, KMC XD 795 Hoss Wheels, Definity Dakota MTs 285/75R16, Leer XR, Thule Tracker II & Thule MOAB basket
    So what was the answer? I'm interested in this too. I just put in a new set of speakers and would like to install an amp.
     
  4. ZonKs

    ZonKs [OP] Can speak french in Russian.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Member:
    #1711
    Messages:
    1,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Glendale, CA
    =p
    With my research i have come to the conclusion that I will need a Line converter The OEM head unit does not have pre-amp outputs, so I will have to connect the existing output wires to the line converter which has RCA jacks on the other side. From there I will connect 2 double RCA connectors to the RCA input jacks on the amp.
     
  5. PatheticJoe

    PatheticJoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Member:
    #2943
    Messages:
    299
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner SR5 TRD Sport - Access Cab
    Some amps come with speaker level inputs so you don't have to buy the extra line converter.
     
To Top