1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

offroad lights help

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by socal19, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. Apr 30, 2010 at 9:41 AM
    #1
    socal19

    socal19 [OP] TACOMA03

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Member:
    #13694
    Messages:
    363
    Gender:
    Male
    California
    Vehicle:
    03 tacoma pre runner
    2.5" Front spacers, 16inch wheelers steel wheels on 265-75-R16 BFG All Terrain, N-FAB prerunner bar, Flowmaster Exhaust
    hey guys i have 2 100watt light on my light bar....but the fuse keeps blowing out... everything is connected the right way....can it be the fuse the fuse i have on it now is a 25 fuse....can i put a 30 fuse in there?????
     
  2. Apr 30, 2010 at 9:42 AM
    #2
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    putting in a bigger fuse wont help...it'll keep blowing the fuse or melt the wiring harness. recheck all your connections....all your grounds and make sure something isnt crossed up.
     
  3. Apr 30, 2010 at 10:08 AM
    #3
    Coolidge

    Coolidge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Member:
    #32873
    Messages:
    332
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Guy
    Lancaster, Ca
    Vehicle:
    2003 Pre Runner
    King coilovers frt +3". Bilstein 5100 shocks rear w/AAL, K&N FIPK, Magnablow exhaust, Billet grill, clear corner lights, Sony stereo, JBL, Sub etc.
    Get a relay
     
  4. Apr 30, 2010 at 5:03 PM
    #4
    David K

    David K Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Member:
    #18969
    Messages:
    9,941
    Gender:
    Male
    San Marcos, Alta California
    Vehicle:
    2010 4WD Off Road DC
    Differential Breather Mod Light Bar: 2 Hella 4000 HID, 1 Cibie Halogen. Bilstein 5100s Ride Rite Air Bags
    200 watts is a lot of juice to run through the switch (if you don't have a relay).

    When I switched from the pair of 35 watt Kragen HIDs (70 total) to a pair of 100 watt Hella 4000 Halogens (200 total), I had to go with a relay, as well... It came with the Halogens' wire harness and switch (Hella).
     
  5. Apr 30, 2010 at 5:08 PM
    #5
    Caduceus

    Caduceus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Member:
    #23889
    Messages:
    1,792
    Gender:
    Male
    the Lowcountry
    Vehicle:
    09 DCSB TRD 4x4
    I'd even go 40 or 50 Amp.

    You can buy them at Radio Shack for like 6 bucks. Look in the stereo section if there isn't a rack of car electronics.
     
  6. Apr 30, 2010 at 5:14 PM
    #6
    nelson18matt

    nelson18matt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Member:
    #14939
    Messages:
    13,842
    Gender:
    Male
    Goodyear, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2004 Long Travel Tacoma
    *SOLD*
    X2
     
  7. May 2, 2010 at 8:52 AM
    #7
    xsvtoyz

    xsvtoyz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Member:
    #9099
    Messages:
    182
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    AL
    Oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    03 Pre-Runner Inprogress
    HID (ACA)/ Web cams/ Header/Full Custom exhaust/ K&N FIPK II/SuperCharger
    what gauge wire are you running? this will effect the power needs as well I have 2x55w and I have a 15 amp fuse so 25amp seems to be right but if its a long wire run and small gauge wire that could be the issue
     
  8. May 2, 2010 at 9:41 AM
    #8
    dhurley

    dhurley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Member:
    #17817
    Messages:
    1,002
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    04 Double Cab TRD SR5 V6
    TRD, Snugtop Super-Sport, bedliner, receiver hitch, alarm mod, deck plate mod, AFE Pro-Dry S, Saddleman camo seat covers, TW decal, grey wire mod w/switch, DRL, LED cupholder mod, Dynomax Super Turbo, aux back-up lights, Devil Horns by Andres, "blue plug" mod for 2LO, shorty antenna, Pro Comp fog & driving lights, receiver shackle, 15% tint front windows, stainless nerf bars, Ultra Gauge, diff breather mod
    Not likely. Running too small of a wire will result in the wire burning through. If you're blowing the fuse as soon as you try to turn on the lights, more than likely you've got a short (power wire touching ground somewhere). Definately hope you are using relays.
     
  9. May 2, 2010 at 9:53 AM
    #9
    Sheepdog

    Sheepdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Member:
    #21447
    Messages:
    1,135
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    Black 2002 Tacoma Xtra Cab, 4x4, TRD, SR5
    Eibach/Bilsteins, Beefed shackles, Bushwacker Cut-Outs, Custom roll bar, TG Sliders, Elite Front Bumper, XRC8 Winch
    I have 4 100W lights on one switch and running only a 30 amp fuse and i dont have any problems with poping it. the lights all have 14awg wire for the hot and the groung and then I'm running 10awg from the battery to the switch and then 10 from the switch to the lights. Wire doesn't get hot or anything after having the lights on for a long time...
     
  10. May 2, 2010 at 10:22 AM
    #10
    xsvtoyz

    xsvtoyz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Member:
    #9099
    Messages:
    182
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    AL
    Oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    03 Pre-Runner Inprogress
    HID (ACA)/ Web cams/ Header/Full Custom exhaust/ K&N FIPK II/SuperCharger
    you are correct I'm sorry yes I am running a relay but thanks for askin :)
     
  11. May 2, 2010 at 10:44 AM
    #11
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,056
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    Two 100 watt lights only pull 17 amps. I have always used a 20 amp fuse to run two 100 watt lights. Never have blown a fuse.

    Did you use wire loom or tape to cover your wires? It does not take much of a sharp edge to rub through your wiring and cause a short to ground.
     
  12. May 2, 2010 at 10:47 AM
    #12
    ilovetacos

    ilovetacos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Member:
    #4464
    Messages:
    2,316
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gavin
    Sacramento/Woodland
    Vehicle:
    2006 TRD Sport 4x4 DC
    Sold!
    Didn't read the entire thread but you need a relay.
     
  13. May 2, 2010 at 3:07 PM
    #13
    David K

    David K Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Member:
    #18969
    Messages:
    9,941
    Gender:
    Male
    San Marcos, Alta California
    Vehicle:
    2010 4WD Off Road DC
    Differential Breather Mod Light Bar: 2 Hella 4000 HID, 1 Cibie Halogen. Bilstein 5100s Ride Rite Air Bags
    My wire harness has a 30 amp fuse in it.
     
To Top