1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Overhead monitor how to install?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by champagne234, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. Nov 6, 2009 at 2:00 PM
    #1
    champagne234

    champagne234 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Member:
    #23723
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2ND Gen tacoma
    Ok Heres my problem I recently purchased an overhead/flipdown monitor 15in for my taco double cab. Does anyone know if it is even possible to do so on a tacoma. Ive searched on youtube for videos and googled how to's for some sort of instructions on or how to install it. I have no idea where to begin i called a local audio shop they told me they would not install it due to the size and it would not work. Sooo im begging can someone help me please?:(:(
     
  2. Nov 6, 2009 at 2:15 PM
    #2
    djjosehernandez

    djjosehernandez Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Member:
    #20118
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jose
    los angeles
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunneR
    i dont have pics on me but have done something like that but with 13 inch i brought down the head liner and centered the flip down were u want it then you mark the holes were u bolt the flip down into and get some mdf cut about the size of the base and mark and pri-drill the same holes and then u mount it the mdf will make good thing cause it will tight between the head liner and the metal on top less rattle do u picture or iam i confusing u im goin to look for the pics of the instal when i did it on a 2001 tacoma
     
  3. Nov 6, 2009 at 2:35 PM
    #3
    champagne234

    champagne234 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Member:
    #23723
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2ND Gen tacoma
    so i would have to remove the entire headliner on my truck and cut out a base of a solid material to screw onto the roof itself im scared ill drill through my roof im trying to find a local audio shop but their refusing to install since i did not buy from them!
     
  4. Nov 8, 2009 at 7:48 AM
    #4
    Taco Ron

    Taco Ron Male Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Member:
    #21924
    Messages:
    255
    Gender:
    Male
    ^ try another shop.

    I've helped installed flipdowns in the past and we pulled the headliner, then used a piece of ABS. The ABS screws to the roof crossmembers then you reinstall the headliner and screw your flipdown into the ABS. Just go and get some short screws so you won't go through the roof.

    For wiring, you need to pickup power (constant and ignition), ground, and possibly a video signal & sound (if it doesn't have DVD or you want to play video games). I would suggest getting your power from the fuse box instead of tapping into the dome light.

    BTW, did they say why the flip down wouldn't work?
     
  5. Nov 8, 2009 at 8:05 AM
    #5
    champagne234

    champagne234 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Member:
    #23723
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2ND Gen tacoma
    they said it was too large. and that my truck being a midsize the crossmembers on the roof wouldn't be strong enough to hold the bracket made to hold the monitor. Personally i just think they didnt want to do it. the monitor itself has two sets of power and ground one for power and one for the new dome lights! also two sets of inputs. thanks you for your post!
     
  6. Nov 8, 2009 at 8:16 AM
    #6
    Taco Ron

    Taco Ron Male Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Member:
    #21924
    Messages:
    255
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah, I think they were feeding you a line. If you tackle it yourself, just use a big piece of abs and screw it to 2 or 3 crossmembers. Then distributes the load and sturdies your base.

    If you're not comfortable doing it, you can hit up other audio shops.
     
  7. Nov 8, 2009 at 8:34 AM
    #7
    champagne234

    champagne234 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Member:
    #23723
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2ND Gen tacoma
    when you say abs sorry for my lack of knowledge but what type of material is that?
     
  8. Nov 8, 2009 at 8:47 AM
    #8
    paintdiddy

    paintdiddy Machine gun shits

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Member:
    #9924
    Messages:
    10,327
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    shithead
    nj and not from "the jersey shore"
    Vehicle:
    silver bullet
    plastic
     
  9. Nov 8, 2009 at 9:05 AM
    #9
    Taco Ron

    Taco Ron Male Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Member:
    #21924
    Messages:
    255
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah, black plastic sheets.
     
To Top