1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

p0453 code evaporative pressure sensor high input

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by Love My Taco, Feb 19, 2010.

  1. Feb 19, 2010 at 2:25 PM
    #1
    Love My Taco

    Love My Taco [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Member:
    #26304
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD Sport xtra cab
    K&N CAI, 110 outlet in cab mod, ARE Cap, Yakima Racks, Stainless Bull Bar, tailgate lock
    Anybody ever run into this? The repair manual says to test the voltage at the sensor, or maybe there's something goofy with the canister, but I wonder if it's something stupid like a gas cap or something.
     
  2. Feb 19, 2010 at 4:04 PM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,154
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    I've never heard of that code being a fuel cap
     
  3. Feb 19, 2010 at 4:41 PM
    #3
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,809
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
  4. Feb 19, 2010 at 4:47 PM
    #4
    HondaGM

    HondaGM Roll Tide

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Member:
    #25056
    Messages:
    5,769
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    South-Pole
    Vehicle:
    09 DC 4x4 Blown Honda VTEC V8
    trd exhaust,step bars,vent visors,bed lights,tailgate mod
    could be a canister
     
  5. Feb 24, 2010 at 7:43 PM
    #5
    kevhogaz

    kevhogaz Low Speed, High Drag

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Member:
    #9055
    Messages:
    323
    Gender:
    Male
    Queen Creek, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    SR5 PreRunner
    3" lift front & rear, Air Raid Intake System
    That code would tell me to look at the canister, and see if it's got a hole in it, or something. Either that, or the sensor is unplugged.
     
  6. Feb 24, 2010 at 7:46 PM
    #6
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,154
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.

    I would listen to this guy ^^^^
     
  7. Feb 24, 2010 at 7:51 PM
    #7
    kevhogaz

    kevhogaz Low Speed, High Drag

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Member:
    #9055
    Messages:
    323
    Gender:
    Male
    Queen Creek, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    SR5 PreRunner
    3" lift front & rear, Air Raid Intake System
    I always get the canister jobs, when they show up. Just my luck, I guess.

    I had a guy come in all pissed off, because his 4Runner wouldn't pass emissions. Same code, P0453. I open the hood, fully expecting to spend hours tracking down a small leak, with our smoke machine. I took one look at the canister, and noticed a 3 inch crack down one of the seams. Seems the guy forgot to mention it had been smacked hard enough in the front that the insurance company wanted to total the truck. He refused, and made 'em fix it. Unbelievably stupid.

    Don't even get me started on the Mitsu. Evo's we had come in when I was at Tempe Mitsubishi!
     
  8. Feb 25, 2010 at 7:44 AM
    #8
    Love My Taco

    Love My Taco [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Member:
    #26304
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD Sport xtra cab
    K&N CAI, 110 outlet in cab mod, ARE Cap, Yakima Racks, Stainless Bull Bar, tailgate lock
    Thanks for the input, I'll check it out after work,I just hope my truck with 40k doesn't have a hole in the canister. Hopefully it's a sensor.
     
  9. Feb 25, 2010 at 8:18 AM
    #9
    ShadowFalken

    ShadowFalken Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Member:
    #28480
    Messages:
    300
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    10 Off Road
    Raptor stainless bars, Wet Okole covers, RollBak bed cover, PopNLock, Redline hood struts, XM radio factory kit
    So what is happening on these that a leak can cause a circuit code? That code is only supposed to set if the pressure sensor reads over 4.9 volts for half a second.
     
  10. Feb 25, 2010 at 4:42 PM
    #10
    kevhogaz

    kevhogaz Low Speed, High Drag

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Member:
    #9055
    Messages:
    323
    Gender:
    Male
    Queen Creek, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    SR5 PreRunner
    3" lift front & rear, Air Raid Intake System
    Most likely, either the canister is broken, or the sensor is unplugged. The 0.5 seconds would be an "at least", or minimum amount of time the sensor would read the 4.9 volts.

    From my data, it shows that once you verify that the voltage at the pins is 4.5 - 5.5 volts, you replace the canister. If the voltage is outside of these parameters, you need to start looking for an open circuit, or broken wire. Since wiring problems are almost non-existant on Toyota's, I'd go with a broken canister, or bad sensor.
     
To Top