1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Parking brake safety for dvd player.

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by TacoXtreme, Jun 23, 2011.

  1. Jun 23, 2011 at 9:18 AM
    #1
    TacoXtreme

    TacoXtreme [OP] North Georgia Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Member:
    #56757
    Messages:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Mt. Airy GA
    Vehicle:
    11 TRD TX DC.
    Bull Bar, Borla Exhaust, Pro Comp Emplorer 55's, Daystar 2 1/2" leveling kit, UWS Toolbox, Bed Extender, Anytime Fog Light mod.
    I have a '11 Tacoma TX with the 7" in dash dvd system (Eclipse). Anyone know if you can ground the parking brake safety or have they gotten smarter with the radios?
     
  2. Jun 23, 2011 at 2:29 PM
    #2
    lwszabo

    lwszabo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Member:
    #54776
    Messages:
    191
    Gender:
    Male
    Concord NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 BSP regular cab
    none yet...regular cab 4cyl X-Runner tribute in the future!
    Yes google it. I think there is one for a nissan altima that works just like a Tacoma mod.
     
  3. Jun 23, 2011 at 2:35 PM
    #3
    Seabass

    Seabass Chrome won't get you home

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Member:
    #34455
    Messages:
    6,468
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    '06 Sport 4x4
    You don't really care, do you.
    I have a Kenwood Excelon and grounding it to the same power ground as the deck worked just fine. No need for anything aftermarket. I can't imagine they were able to make the circuitry any more complex than that with newer model HU's and expect to keep them universal for installation.
     
  4. Jun 23, 2011 at 2:35 PM
    #4
    t4daddy

    t4daddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39041
    Messages:
    5,979
    Gender:
    Male
    North Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2008 PreRunner Double Cab
    Mines a Pioneer, and requires a relay wired in. Search YouTube with your model the answer is there.
     
  5. Jun 23, 2011 at 2:51 PM
    #5
    AndrewFalk

    AndrewFalk Science!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Member:
    #36740
    Messages:
    2,053
    Gender:
    Male
    The North East
    Vehicle:
    2010 5 speed 5 lug
    :)
    .


    It's very simple and costs about $15.
     
  6. Jun 23, 2011 at 2:58 PM
    #6
    BFA

    BFA Nuttier than squirrel shit.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Member:
    #27447
    Messages:
    2,409
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2003 3.4 4x4 5spd
    i did this on my unit and it was good to go.
     
  7. Jun 23, 2011 at 3:06 PM
    #7
    MAPLENUTS

    MAPLENUTS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Member:
    #57151
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    STEVEN
    East Coast, USA
    Vehicle:
    TRD SPORT TACOMA 4X4 L/B
    Stock
    I just got the relay kit off of eBay for $14.99 shipped.
    Mine is a Pioneer and it requires the power to be grounded AFTER the unit sees power, hence the relay. This weekend it gets installed for the Pioneer AVH-P3300BT.
     
  8. Jun 23, 2011 at 3:32 PM
    #8
    Seabass

    Seabass Chrome won't get you home

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Member:
    #34455
    Messages:
    6,468
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    '06 Sport 4x4
    You don't really care, do you.
    I bought one of those eBay relays for my Kenwood for $15, but just for shits and giggles I tried just grounding the parking brake wire and it worked fine. Waste of $15. I'd try grounding your Eclipse wire to the stereo ground (not just to the chassis ground) and see what it does. It won't hurt the HU, just make sure not to ground it to a power line.
     
To Top