1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Performance chip????

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by J Tex, May 14, 2010.

1. J Tex

J Tex [OP] Member

Member:
    Houston
    Cabela's bug/hood guard Westen step bars Grom auido ipod adaptor Cabela's truck floor mats
    Hi I am very new at trying to improve my trucks performance and I dont know very much.

I was wondering what does a performance chip exactly do? Why do people get them?

Also I have heard many horror stories about how people install the performance chip and it really screws up their engine and it just did not run the same after they installed it, getting the chip made their engine worse.

So do these Performance chips really work and is it worth the money? If it is what are some good brands that you would recommend?

2. chris4x4

chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Staff Member

Member:
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, lots of buttons, and yellow flashing lights on the dash.
    There is no "Performance chip" for the Tacomas. Look to URD, or APR-X1. Depending on the year of your truck.

3. KenpachiZaraki

KenpachiZaraki Its Wicked Flow BITCHES!!

Member:
    First Name:
    Alex ヽ(`Д´)ノ
    Lubbock ╮(╯▽╰)╭
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD OffRoad Poser (´ï½¥_ï½¥`)