1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

PIAA 580 white Power Wire connects to...

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by CAtaco, Aug 24, 2011.

  1. Aug 24, 2011 at 9:03 PM
    #1
    CAtaco

    CAtaco [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Member:
    #61821
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2010 4x4 DB Cab TRD Longbed
    SnugTop 5100s Rears PIAA 580s NFab Light Bar Upgrading my Stereo as we speak/chat. Drop in K&N
    I installed the wire harness and the lights without a problem. I have the on/off switch that came with the kit. The pic of the white wire shows the wire that is supposed to be connected to the highbeam positive wire - with a red folding wire crimp/clip.

    I cannot find the highbeam wire. Is it in the dash area or in the engine compartment? PIAA didn't have vehicle specific info for the 2010/2nd gen trucks.

    Any tips on where I can connect this wire if I want independent use of the 580's?

    securedownload PIAA 580 Wire.jpg
     
  2. Aug 24, 2011 at 9:08 PM
    #2
    timsxr

    timsxr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Member:
    #46529
    Messages:
    1,155
    Gender:
    Male
    portland
    White wire should go to ignition power
     
  3. Aug 25, 2011 at 11:07 AM
    #3
    CAtaco

    CAtaco [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Member:
    #61821
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2010 4x4 DB Cab TRD Longbed
    SnugTop 5100s Rears PIAA 580s NFab Light Bar Upgrading my Stereo as we speak/chat. Drop in K&N
    Can I find that wire in the cab behind the fuse box? I can see a ton of wires coming and going from that area. Thank you!
     
  4. Aug 25, 2011 at 11:11 AM
    #4
    jammdogg

    jammdogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Member:
    #18600
    Messages:
    859
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    Hillsboro, OR
    Vehicle:
    13 Spruce Mica DCLB
    6" ProComp lift on 35 MT's. ARB Bumper.
    I have mine in an add-a-fuse thing.

    Plug into any fuse that is ignition hot, or only powered when the key is on ACC, or motor running.
     
  5. Aug 25, 2011 at 11:45 AM
    #5
    CAtaco

    CAtaco [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Member:
    #61821
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2010 4x4 DB Cab TRD Longbed
    SnugTop 5100s Rears PIAA 580s NFab Light Bar Upgrading my Stereo as we speak/chat. Drop in K&N
    Thanks for the suggestion to add a fuse. That will be my next step if the following doesn't work.

    I had a KARR alarm installed at the time of purchase. The pic shows a quick tap into a green wire that I hope is the ignitioni wire. Can you tell if this wire is an ignition wire to tap.

    KARR alarm tap ignition wire 8252011.jpg
     
  6. Aug 25, 2011 at 11:54 AM
    #6
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,854
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    In the instructions, does it tell you to connect that white wire to the high beams and then later in the instructions tell you to connect another wire to the battery? It sounds like the instructions are telling you to use the high beam wire as a switch so the lights won't come on unless the high beams are on. This is the legal way to install those lights in a lot of states. You would have to tap into the high beam power wire in the engine bay to do this.
     
  7. Aug 25, 2011 at 12:02 PM
    #7
    CAtaco

    CAtaco [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Member:
    #61821
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2010 4x4 DB Cab TRD Longbed
    SnugTop 5100s Rears PIAA 580s NFab Light Bar Upgrading my Stereo as we speak/chat. Drop in K&N
    So I would literally find the high beam power wire from the wireharness on the lamp and tap in?

    Will my KARR alarm tap wire also work if I want them to work independently? I'm thinking of camping trips etc that I might want them on by themselves.
     
  8. Aug 25, 2011 at 12:08 PM
    #8
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,854
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    I can't tell from that pic what is connected to what and I don't remember what fuses are for what under the hood. I would invest in a test light or multimeter. You can get one cheap at any auto parts store and they help tremendously if you do any wiring to your truck. You can then easily tell which circuits are hot all the time, which ones come on with the ignition, etc. If you want to be able to use the lights at any time, ignition on or off, you want a connection to a constant hot like the battery terminal or the bolt feeding the fuse panel.
     
  9. Aug 25, 2011 at 6:25 PM
    #9
    samhain

    samhain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Member:
    #40385
    Messages:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Hilton Head, SC
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma SR5
    I tapped into the high beams for mine and didn't use the provided switch. The pink wire leaving at the high beam socket is where you want to use the vampire tap.
     
To Top