1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Pioneer AVH-P4200DVD Bypass

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by IrishPilot, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. Mar 22, 2010 at 4:57 PM
    #1
    IrishPilot

    IrishPilot [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Member:
    #19104
    Messages:
    809
    Gender:
    Male
    MN
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off-Road 4x4 Double Cab
    Been watching this...
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDGZEZrUdRo&feature=related

    And I have this...
    http://cgi.ebay.com/PIONEER-DVD-BRA...ultDomain_0?hash=item1e5a9c96f8#ht_717wt_1165

    and have been trying to figure out how to get it all set up properly. Im trying to have it all down in my head before I go tearing the HU out to get at the wiring.

    My questions are...

    *Is it necessary to disconnect the battery first?
    *What changes if I have amps hooked up? Anything?


    The directions on the bypass say to...

    1hook the blue wire to the remote turn on wire on Pioneer HU (blue with white)
    2hook the black wire to ground wire on Pioneer HU (black)
    3hook the green wire to the brake wire on Pioneer HU (light green)

    The headunit is already installed, so what do I do with the current connections? I would assume the remote turn on wire is currently connected to a wire running the amps etc. right? So do I just disconnect it and ONLY connect the relay and the remote turn on wire on the HU? Wont that eliminate the amp turn on?

    As you can tell, I did not do the HU install myself but would like to get this relay setup. Any insight or direction would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. Mar 22, 2010 at 6:01 PM
    #2
    IrishPilot

    IrishPilot [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Member:
    #19104
    Messages:
    809
    Gender:
    Male
    MN
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off-Road 4x4 Double Cab
    Im thinkin one of these two options...just trying to figure it out. Im an idiot....I know...

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Mar 23, 2010 at 9:45 AM
    #3
    glandnut

    glandnut Grease Monkey

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Member:
    #19461
    Messages:
    286
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    09' MGM TRD DC Sport LB
    secret stuff.
    Both of your diagrams are the same... I feel you are overthinking this. Why not just use the $2 relay like he shows in the video? As long as you are splicing into the blue remote turn-on anywhere before the relay, your amps will get the turn on voltage just fine, and then it continues onto the relay for the delayed ground to make the video work. You could even have the remote blue wire coming from the Pioneer with an additional pigtail for your amps crimped together with the spade connector that slips on the relay as well.
     
  4. Mar 23, 2010 at 10:05 AM
    #4
    Chachie

    Chachie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Member:
    #28047
    Messages:
    1,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Nor Cal
    Vehicle:
    '06 TRD OR, 4x4, Auto, 6" Fabtech, 35's
    Locker mod, Anytime fog mod, always 400w mod.
    Im doing mine tonight. Here is the diagram:

    [​IMG]

    Lmk if you have any questions.
     
  5. Mar 23, 2010 at 12:49 PM
    #5
    IrishPilot

    IrishPilot [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Member:
    #19104
    Messages:
    809
    Gender:
    Male
    MN
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off-Road 4x4 Double Cab
    First of all, it is REALLY easy to get into the dash.

    The good news is that my install guys did a really neat and clean job on the installation. The bad news is, Im not sure how to get the wiring apart to do the bypass. Here is a pic of how they have it all organized...

    [​IMG]

    Im not sure if or how these caps can be removed, or if I would have to cut them off and trim back the wires. If I have to cut them off, I am also going to have to cut several zip ties that have all the wiring organized. Im worried to go too far and create havoc back there. I was hoping to mess with everything as little as possible so that if something ever happens I can remove the relay and make it look like everything hadnt been touched.

    Thoughts?
     
  6. Mar 23, 2010 at 12:53 PM
    #6
    glandnut

    glandnut Grease Monkey

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Member:
    #19461
    Messages:
    286
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    09' MGM TRD DC Sport LB
    secret stuff.
    Those crimp caps have to be cut off. Just take it back to them and have them put in the relay since they originally did the install, I'd be surprised if they charged you much at all...
     
  7. Mar 23, 2010 at 1:09 PM
    #7
    IrishPilot

    IrishPilot [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Member:
    #19104
    Messages:
    809
    Gender:
    Male
    MN
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off-Road 4x4 Double Cab
    They told me up front when they installed the HU that they don't do relays (legal, liability, warranty stuff, etc.). I didn't push as they have treated me very well and do a fantastic job. I figured I could do it myself easy enough post-install, but I didnt plan on finding such tight work!
     
  8. Mar 23, 2010 at 1:10 PM
    #8
    BradleyScottETC

    BradleyScottETC Class IV Category 8 Elite VIP Member (Only)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Member:
    #20521
    Messages:
    1,754
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bradley
    Lake County, FL
    Vehicle:
    10 4.0 AC 4x4
    This will not affect your amps. All this is doing is creating a latching circuit, wherein as soon as the head unit receives power, it energizes the relay which then in turn tells the unit that the truck is in park and allows the video to be enabled. Thats ALL it's doing. Like he said, you can do this with a switch, but this way the unit turning on would enable the said switch for you.

    Your amps are controlled by a relay that closes when the head unit is turned on, so your amps aren't constantly drawing power because remember, they are directly connected to your battery. They have nothing to do with the park wire that he is grounding in this video.
     
  9. Mar 23, 2010 at 1:22 PM
    #9
    glandnut

    glandnut Grease Monkey

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Member:
    #19461
    Messages:
    286
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    09' MGM TRD DC Sport LB
    secret stuff.
    Thou shall not fear spaghetti with zip ties my brother...
     
  10. Mar 23, 2010 at 1:31 PM
    #10
    IrishPilot

    IrishPilot [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Member:
    #19104
    Messages:
    809
    Gender:
    Male
    MN
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off-Road 4x4 Double Cab
    Lol awesome. I just talked to a buddy of mine who is an engineer, and he about said the same thing. Cut the crimps, cut the zips, twist cap the connections, and if you ever need to "undo" it you can simply remove and re-crimp.

    IE dont be such a puss.
     
  11. Mar 23, 2010 at 1:39 PM
    #11
    glandnut

    glandnut Grease Monkey

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Member:
    #19461
    Messages:
    286
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    09' MGM TRD DC Sport LB
    secret stuff.
    Yeah, I tend to get analysis paralysis at times too, but this is tinker toy stuff. You can do it, so just go do it!
     
  12. Mar 23, 2010 at 1:45 PM
    #12
    Chachie

    Chachie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Member:
    #28047
    Messages:
    1,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Nor Cal
    Vehicle:
    '06 TRD OR, 4x4, Auto, 6" Fabtech, 35's
    Locker mod, Anytime fog mod, always 400w mod.
    First, never use twist type connections in car electronics. Second, just use quick splices to get to the wires u need.
     
  13. Mar 23, 2010 at 5:37 PM
    #13
    IrishPilot

    IrishPilot [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Member:
    #19104
    Messages:
    809
    Gender:
    Male
    MN
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off-Road 4x4 Double Cab
    Disregard. Figured it out.
     
  14. Jan 6, 2011 at 6:33 PM
    #14
    BigRedZag

    BigRedZag Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Member:
    #35481
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma TRD Sport LB
    Dead thread I know but I just picked up this HU and wired it up with a bypass from EBay. I have an amp so I spliced the blue wire from the relay into it's remote wire. Problem is that when both the relay and the amp are on the line it won't start up the amp? Anyone have any suggestions to get the bypass to work with my amp?
     
To Top