1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Pioneer AVHP4900 DVD

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by socko3161, Aug 11, 2007.

  1. Aug 11, 2007 at 8:49 PM
    #1
    socko3161

    socko3161 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Member:
    #2107
    Messages:
    56
    Just tried to install this yesterday and The damn connection that goes into the back of the Head unit would not go in... But does anyone have an easier way to connect the E-Brake sensor wire or is there a way around it???
     
  2. Aug 12, 2007 at 8:35 AM
    #2
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,703
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 4Runner SE 4WD
    I don't have any experience with this unit, but if you put up some pics I could try to help you out.

    I don't intend to sound demeaning in any case, but is it possible that you have the connector upside down or perhaps you have the wrong one?

    As far as the E-Brake line, it is probably a ground wire, so you could ground it out. If not, you could go the other way and see if it needs a current. Just be careful. You don't want to fry your new unit.
     
  3. Aug 12, 2007 at 11:32 AM
    #3
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,142
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    w/ my head unit, i believe we tied in the parking brake wire to the 12v connection to bypass the "no dvd while driving" problem. i'm not sure if the unit u have has that issue though. there's a site that has a forum dedicated to all things pioneer. its primarily for the avic units, but also has parts for other units. its avic411.com
     
  4. Aug 13, 2007 at 5:00 AM
    #4
    socko3161

    socko3161 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Member:
    #2107
    Messages:
    56
    ok, so I figured out what my problem was with the head Unit connection, the jackass that sold it to me on eBay must have opened the box and put another connection in it... But I pulled some trickery on Circuit City and got the right cable... and as far as the parking break issue... Apparently all the wire needs is to be grounded... Once it was grounded, I had to put in a toggle switch b/c if the unit starts up, and it is seeing a ground already, then it still pops the warning up that video mode is not available, so basically the toggle switch is just switching the ground on and off and now it is connected to a bolt on the frame and not to the parking break anymore.... But I love the head unit and it really makes the stock speakers thump, Im afraid to turn them up really b/c I dont want to blow the speakers out before I plan on replacing them... Here are some pics!!!
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    iPod Hook Up
    [​IMG]
    Toggle Switch
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Aug 13, 2007 at 5:30 AM
    #5
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,703
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 4Runner SE 4WD
    I fixed those pics for ya! We were just getting the code and no pics.

    If you post pics on here from Photobucket, you can click on the IMG Code box, and it will copy the necessary string automaticly. Then you just paste into your post, and voila! pictures! ;)
     
  6. Aug 13, 2007 at 11:01 AM
    #6
    socko3161

    socko3161 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Member:
    #2107
    Messages:
    56
    Yea, thanks... It was taking me a while... Im used to the HTML format from putting stuff up on myspace, and I wasn't sure about the code on here... Your Thread on how to replace the head unti was wonderful, it helped a lot... Any idea how to install one of these Steering Wheel control adapters???
     
  7. Aug 13, 2007 at 11:12 AM
    #7
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,703
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 4Runner SE 4WD
    Sorry. I don't even have the steering wheel controls on my Tacoma. My limited understanding is that it is all done behind the head unit on the control wires themselves.
     
To Top