1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

pioneer avic Z1100 bt

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by fourperf, Apr 18, 2010.

  1. fourperf

    fourperf [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Member:
    #28787
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    08 tacoma
    Hi guys. I am about to install a pioneer avic Z1100 bt into my 2008 tacoma. I have searched a lot (also on various forums) and have found quite a few conflicting instructions on where to pick up the speed sensor wire. Could someone who has done it in a 2008 please let me know where to pick it up.

    Thanks a lot in advance

    Mark
     
  2. fourperf

    fourperf [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Member:
    #28787
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    08 tacoma
    bump. anyone
     
  3. Scout23

    Scout23 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Member:
    #34346
    Messages:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
    Southcoast, MA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma TRD
    Try looking on www.avic411.com they have some good information on the avicZ110-bt. I copied the following from an old post here:

    FYI - 2009 Tacoma VSS / Speed Sense Wire Location
    In case anyone has tried connecting the VSS wire from an in-dash Nav in a 2009 Tacoma, the location of the wire appears to be in a different location than previous models.

    I was successful in connecting to the Purple/White wire at Pin #5 on the only black plug on the front of the fuse box on the driver's side.

    Simply remove the change pocket (like the glove box) and you will see the fuse box. There is only one black plug. I unplugged it and pulled it back thru another harness that was blocking good access to the wires. I also cut off the electrical tape they had wrapped around it. This gave me good room to work with, its pretty tight in there. It may be easier to remove the whole bottom panel, I just didnt want to figure out how to take it off.

    Next, simply tap the only Purple/White wire in the plug, Pin #5.

    I tried 4 times tapping the Purple/White at the ECU behind the glove box, but it didnt work. Thats where most of the threads here tell you to tap. As stated before, it seems like it may have changed from 2008 and older trucks.

    Hope this helps someone..
     
  4. fourperf

    fourperf [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Member:
    #28787
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    08 tacoma
    thanks a lot.

    mark
     
  5. bruinsrme

    bruinsrme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Member:
    #34807
    Messages:
    561
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Worcester
    Vehicle:
    BRM 2010
  6. jayshahu

    jayshahu Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Member:
    #33494
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    RAV4
    If you have ASL on your factory HU then there should be a speed wire connected to the back of your head unit. I have a RAV4 and that where I tapped it from. I had to pull back the factory plastic protection back to expose the about 4 inches of the purple wire before I could tap it else it becomes very diffucult. I also as a matter best practise, check every tap with a multimeter and also take the car for a drive over a couple of bad streches to road to ensure every this good. Also keep some slack on your wiring else you will have bad connections eventually.
     
  7. fourperf

    fourperf [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Member:
    #28787
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    08 tacoma
    thanks for all the replies. I read somewhere (cant remember) that there is some connection mod to do so that you dont have to be stopped to operate the unit. Could some one tell me what to do for that?

    thanks

    mark
     
  8. jayshahu

    jayshahu Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Member:
    #33494
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    RAV4
  9. fourperf

    fourperf [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Member:
    #28787
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    08 tacoma
    thanks a lot. dont you have to connect it to another wire and run it to ground?

    Mark
     
  10. jayshahu

    jayshahu Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Member:
    #33494
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    RAV4
    Read the forum posts. It details it clearly. The video was to show you how to remove the mute pin in case it doesn't pop out easily.
     
  11. fourperf

    fourperf [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Member:
    #28787
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    08 tacoma
    got it

    thanks
     
To Top