1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

please help ecm

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by kyoung.709, Dec 27, 2012.

  1. Dec 27, 2012 at 7:48 AM
    #1
    kyoung.709

    kyoung.709 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Member:
    #86403
    Messages:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    engine light came on ,brought it to a shop and he checked code ,it said replace the ecm,just wondering if this would be right or something else causing it to say this??? i read threads saying that its strange for these ecm to just go ???? after he scanned it engine light went off??? and if i keep driving it will i have more problems with the truck\???? thanks for your input guys.....
     
  2. Dec 27, 2012 at 7:49 AM
    #2
    blakes09

    blakes09 Toyota Tech..when im not Fishing

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Member:
    #77164
    Messages:
    822
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Blake
    Deep South
    Vehicle:
    4x4
    what was the code?..what truck and engine?
     
  3. Dec 27, 2012 at 7:50 AM
    #3
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 :POOPCORN: Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    48,163
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5, 88 SR5 PU, 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
  4. Dec 27, 2012 at 7:52 AM
    #4
    kyoung.709

    kyoung.709 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Member:
    #86403
    Messages:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    not sure ,he checked scan reader and told me ecm needed to be replaced and to call toyota and check for warranty,did and not covered.....and its on back order and would take a few weeks to get one in
     
  5. Dec 27, 2012 at 7:56 AM
    #5
    kyoung.709

    kyoung.709 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Member:
    #86403
    Messages:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    its a 2006 v6 tacoma
     
  6. Dec 27, 2012 at 8:00 AM
    #6
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 :POOPCORN: Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    48,163
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5, 88 SR5 PU, 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    We can't really help without knowing what the code is/was.
     
  7. Dec 27, 2012 at 8:02 AM
    #7
    blakes09

    blakes09 Toyota Tech..when im not Fishing

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Member:
    #77164
    Messages:
    822
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Blake
    Deep South
    Vehicle:
    4x4
    x2
     
  8. Dec 27, 2012 at 1:59 PM
    #8
    kyoung.709

    kyoung.709 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Member:
    #86403
    Messages:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    i just purchased an obd2 reader ,hooked it to the truck ,no codes come up and truck will just click??? im stumped????
     
  9. Dec 27, 2012 at 3:15 PM
    #9
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 :POOPCORN: Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    48,163
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5, 88 SR5 PU, 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    Double check your battery connections (re-tighten them) and try to start it again
     
  10. Dec 28, 2012 at 7:02 AM
    #10
    kyoung.709

    kyoung.709 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Member:
    #86403
    Messages:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    double checked connections ,tested battery ,all good , think its starter??? i put on new alternator few months ago ,and when it starts it holds charge....
     
  11. Dec 28, 2012 at 9:15 AM
    #11
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 :POOPCORN: Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    48,163
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5, 88 SR5 PU, 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    Parts stores in the states offer free testing of starters. You have to remove it of course. Do they offer that in Canada?
     
  12. Dec 30, 2012 at 1:32 PM
    #12
    Shadetree

    Shadetree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Member:
    #48053
    Messages:
    539
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    BiLL
    Bozeman, Montana
    Vehicle:
    2011 Access Cab 4x2
    Locking Tailgate & Gas Cap and extra bed D-rings
    If it were my truck, I wait until a new code is produced and seek a second opinion before replacing an expensive ECU. It could be something as simple as a voltage spike or a loose connector. If the existing lug does not fit the battery post, I would replace it as soon as possible with one that does. If the cable is damaged or undersized, then I would replace it as well. The battery is a voltage stabilizer and filter for the power produced by the charging system.
     
  13. Dec 31, 2012 at 4:19 AM
    #13
    kyoung.709

    kyoung.709 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Member:
    #86403
    Messages:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    the code finally came up p0606, it said replace ecm ,this will be the 3rd one since new.....
     
  14. Dec 31, 2012 at 4:26 AM
    #14
    Millertime187

    Millertime187 I'll be your huckleberry!

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Member:
    #87698
    Messages:
    1,920
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Clay City, KY
    Vehicle:
    2012 4x4 Single Cab Taco!
    EZ Lift/Pro Comp 3" lift. Spacer in front, add a leaf in rear, Bilstien 5100 shocks, TC UCA, 5% Tint all around, Painted all trim to match. Magnaflow muffler dumped, drop in k&n air filter, tinted tail lights
    Are you still driving? I'd go till it went completely out. Seems like truck needs a carburetor, since it keeps burning ECM!
     
  15. Dec 31, 2012 at 4:32 AM
    #15
    kyoung.709

    kyoung.709 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Member:
    #86403
    Messages:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    sometimes it starts ,sometimes it wont ,toyota said the ecm i need is on back order and it will take 4 to 5 weeks to get it ,so im putting in a used one ,hopefully have it in by thursday .....
     
  16. Dec 31, 2012 at 4:33 AM
    #16
    Millertime187

    Millertime187 I'll be your huckleberry!

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Member:
    #87698
    Messages:
    1,920
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Clay City, KY
    Vehicle:
    2012 4x4 Single Cab Taco!
    EZ Lift/Pro Comp 3" lift. Spacer in front, add a leaf in rear, Bilstien 5100 shocks, TC UCA, 5% Tint all around, Painted all trim to match. Magnaflow muffler dumped, drop in k&n air filter, tinted tail lights
    I would have went used as well. I wonder why it keeps killing the ECM?
     
  17. Dec 31, 2012 at 4:39 AM
    #17
    miniceptor86

    miniceptor86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Member:
    #4799
    Messages:
    576
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    McGregor,IA
    Vehicle:
    07 Speedway Blue Prerunner Dbl cab
    TRD sport exhaust and cold air intake, nerf and bull bar, RideRide, ProEFX towing mirrors, BakFlip F1 trifold tonneau
    Hi,
    Are you saying that the ECM has been replaced twice or that this is the third time the code has come up?

    If the ECM has already been replaced twice then there is something else causing this to happen. The ECM is pretty much bullet proof. Maybe someone else with more knowledge will hop into the conversation. Urban myth true or not was that jump starting was not good for ECM.

    Jim
     
  18. Dec 31, 2012 at 4:57 AM
    #18
    Millertime187

    Millertime187 I'll be your huckleberry!

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Member:
    #87698
    Messages:
    1,920
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Clay City, KY
    Vehicle:
    2012 4x4 Single Cab Taco!
    EZ Lift/Pro Comp 3" lift. Spacer in front, add a leaf in rear, Bilstien 5100 shocks, TC UCA, 5% Tint all around, Painted all trim to match. Magnaflow muffler dumped, drop in k&n air filter, tinted tail lights
    +1
    Something has to be wrong?
     
  19. Dec 31, 2012 at 5:07 AM
    #19
    kyoung.709

    kyoung.709 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Member:
    #86403
    Messages:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    this is the 3rd ecm that has been put in this truck since 2006 ,but this time warranty is out and with a 4 to 5 week wait ,im getting a used one !!!!!
     
  20. Dec 31, 2012 at 6:07 AM
    #20
    miniceptor86

    miniceptor86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Member:
    #4799
    Messages:
    576
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    McGregor,IA
    Vehicle:
    07 Speedway Blue Prerunner Dbl cab
    TRD sport exhaust and cold air intake, nerf and bull bar, RideRide, ProEFX towing mirrors, BakFlip F1 trifold tonneau
    This seems to be an ongoing problem, one definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. Its not the ecm!

    If this is the third ecm, two of them covered under warranty then I'd be asking Toyota to replace this one under warranty also or give me a reason why its your fault that they are failing! Something is wrong with the vehicle to cause this to happen. US has a lemon law and I think this would definitely fit the criteria, a major problem that they can't fix after multiple attempts. If the dealer won't help call directly to Toyota Canada.


    Jim
     
To Top