1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Portland Auto Locksmith Recommendations

Discussion in 'North West' started by plurpimpin, Jul 21, 2021.

1. Jul 21, 2021 at 4:40 PM
    plurpimpin

plurpimpin [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    PDX
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD Off Road 4x4
    So we're in a bit of a pickle. My lady had only had 1 key for her 2010 VW golf since she bought it. I've been nagging her to get an extra key for the last 6 years but she never did.

Fast forward to now the key portion broke off of her fob and she lost it. Now we only have the fob with the transponder chip in it but no key for the ignition.

Can anybody recommend a good locksmith that might be able to make a new key? VW wants $200 to order the key and then another $200 to program it after we get it towed to the dealer.

They claim they have to have the car at the dealer to program the key (which sounds like BS to me) since we already have a programmed fob.

2. Jul 21, 2021 at 10:22 PM
    gpdx

gpdx Well-Known Member

Member:
    Portland
    Vehicle:
    13 DCSB TRD Offroad
    5100/887, topper, rack, 265/75/16
    I don’t know any locksmiths. But I owned a 2010 Jetta. My key never broke but I do remember reading that the key reprogramming is a headache. IIRC, it can be done with a functioning original fob. No car needed.
    You might poke around here. Very helpful message board during my ownership. https://forums.tdiclub.com/index.php

3. Jul 22, 2021 at 8:43 AM
    plurpimpin

Member:
    PDX
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD Off Road 4x4