1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Possible chep/free fix for hyperflash turn signal

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016-2023)' started by doru, Jan 5, 2024.

1. Jan 5, 2024 at 12:20 PM
    doru

doru [OP] Member

Member:
    I will have to start with a disclaimer that I am not an electrician, and what I will describe is what I think just pure real life observation.
    My truck: 2019 TRD OR.
    At the end of november 2023 I changed the turn signals front and rear from incandescent to LED. No hyperflashing, life was good. Slowly almost all bulbs were changed with LED, minus the front side marker lights and the license plate lights.
    No hyperflashing, everything worked perfect.
    Yesterday, I decided to change the license plate bulbs with LED. Which I did. This was during the day. Had to run an errand, everything was fine. Yesterday evening, I had to to an other errand, and lo and behold, all of a sudden I had the dreaded hyperflashing.
    This morning, I started the car, tested it, and no hyperflashing. This was odd. So I turned on all the lights, and again at this moment, I had hyperflashing. Which made me think that maybe the license bulbs might be somehow act as a resistor once you turn on the headlights (night driving conditions), and trigger the hyperflasing issue if they are changed to LED.
    So I replaced those license plate LED bulbs back to the stock incandescent.
    Once done, I tested the truck with lights on (night time conditions, which triggered hyperflashing) and the hyperflash was gone.