1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Power outlet rating on 2nd gens?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by PropJet, Oct 10, 2009.

  1. Oct 10, 2009 at 5:03 PM
    #1
    PropJet

    PropJet [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Member:
    #11795
    Messages:
    196
    Gender:
    Male
    KS
    Vehicle:
    '09 DC TRD Off Road
    ToyTec Ultimate Lift Kit, Moto Metal 955's, GoodYear DuraTrac 265/75/16's, N-Fab Nerf Bar
    I am looking at getting a portable air compressor for those rare flat tire emergencies, and it seems all the ones I am interested in require a minimum of 15A. The owner's manual specifically says not to use any accessory that draws more than 10A in the power outlet. However, the same manual also shows fuse #5 in the fuse box under the instrument panel, which is labeled PWR OUTLET, as having a 15A rating. Additionally, it shows fuse #34 in the fuse box in the engine compartment, which is labeled AC SKT (cigarette lighter, power outlets), as having a 100A rating.

    So which is it on the power outlet? 10A or 15A? Am I okay using the power outlet if it's 10A, or should I just plug in to the cigarette lighter, which looks to be 100A?
     
  2. Oct 10, 2009 at 7:15 PM
    #2
    PropJet

    PropJet [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Member:
    #11795
    Messages:
    196
    Gender:
    Male
    KS
    Vehicle:
    '09 DC TRD Off Road
    ToyTec Ultimate Lift Kit, Moto Metal 955's, GoodYear DuraTrac 265/75/16's, N-Fab Nerf Bar
    Anyone?
     
  3. Oct 10, 2009 at 7:18 PM
    #3
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,156
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Volts x Amps = Watts.

    If your gonna get a compressor that draws 15 amps, Thats 1800 Watts. WELL above the 400 Watt max of the AC outlet.
     
  4. Oct 10, 2009 at 7:32 PM
    #4
    matthew5olson

    matthew5olson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Member:
    #11782
    Messages:
    483
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    matthew
    pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 ext cab 3.4L 5spd 4x4 sr5
    K&N cold air intake, doug thorley headers, rear sensor simulator, flowmaster 40 series, magnecor plug wires, Royal Purple synthetic gear lube, airaid throttle body spacer, Hyperground system, flex-a-lite elec fan.
    Did you do your math wrong 12 volts x 15 amps = 180 watts
     
  5. Oct 10, 2009 at 7:36 PM
    #5
    MAXTacoma

    MAXTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Member:
    #917
    Messages:
    4,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Lexus GS 350
    The power outlet is a great idea but they dont power very much... you would think that while the car was in drive it would give more power but when you put the car in drive it switches to a lower power rating. Its kind of useless....
     
  6. Oct 10, 2009 at 7:49 PM
    #6
    PropJet

    PropJet [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Member:
    #11795
    Messages:
    196
    Gender:
    Male
    KS
    Vehicle:
    '09 DC TRD Off Road
    ToyTec Ultimate Lift Kit, Moto Metal 955's, GoodYear DuraTrac 265/75/16's, N-Fab Nerf Bar
    I should have clarified. I'm referring to the 12v dc power outlet next to the cigarette lighter. Most portable emergency type compressors I am finding require 15A. The manual says not to exceed 10A, yet the fuse diagram says it is 15A.

    If it is 15A, why the limitation of 10A in the manual? Could I just use the cigarette lighter, which is listed at 100A? (I ask because I guess I don't know why there is both, when the cig lighter is rated ten times higher).
     
  7. Oct 10, 2009 at 7:53 PM
    #7
    Isthatahemi

    Isthatahemi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Member:
    #16582
    Messages:
    1,156
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD OFF ROAD
    BFG AT's, Weathertechs, Hoppy's brake controller.
    The 12V accessory plug is probably capable of 15 amps, but 10A is the safe #, and it takes away bitching rights if you blow the fuse. A 12V compressor should run fine, any automotive compressor that draws more than 10A, would cause people issues.
    The cig lighter is also 10 -15 amps, not 100. The main fuse might be 100, but not the lighter.....
     
  8. Oct 10, 2009 at 8:00 PM
    #8
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,156
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    The outlet in the bed is rated 120.
     
  9. Oct 10, 2009 at 8:01 PM
    #9
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,156
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Correct. The Main fuse is the 100 AMP.
     
  10. Oct 10, 2009 at 8:09 PM
    #10
    PropJet

    PropJet [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Member:
    #11795
    Messages:
    196
    Gender:
    Male
    KS
    Vehicle:
    '09 DC TRD Off Road
    ToyTec Ultimate Lift Kit, Moto Metal 955's, GoodYear DuraTrac 265/75/16's, N-Fab Nerf Bar
  11. Oct 10, 2009 at 8:15 PM
    #11
    matthew5olson

    matthew5olson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Member:
    #11782
    Messages:
    483
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    matthew
    pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 ext cab 3.4L 5spd 4x4 sr5
    K&N cold air intake, doug thorley headers, rear sensor simulator, flowmaster 40 series, magnecor plug wires, Royal Purple synthetic gear lube, airaid throttle body spacer, Hyperground system, flex-a-lite elec fan.
    ah I spoke in ignorance. I forgot that the 2nd gens have one in the bed. Are they 3 prong wall outlets? Is there an inverter somewhere in the truck?
     
  12. Oct 10, 2009 at 8:33 PM
    #12
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,156
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Yeah...The inverter is under the center console, and the outlet is in the bed. The OP didnt specify what outlet, so I asumed it was the bed outlet. I guess I should have asked for more detail
     
To Top