1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Problems Starting At Times, Any help?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by GoPreds, Jun 20, 2012.

1. Jun 20, 2012 at 1:33 PM
    GoPreds

GoPreds [OP] Active Member

Member:
    I'm still new to this fourm and have had my Taco for about a year. But my question or advise would be helpful. At times I have problems starting, it doesn't happen all the time just at random times. I would start it up and it would shut off right away until I start it up again then it'll go. The other day I started it and it kept turning but not starting until I tunred off the ignition and gave it another go, started right up. I thought it would be either spark plugs or ignition coil but it only has 30,000 miles. I asked the dealership if it was normal and they said no but they said it might be my TRD intake manifold. Any others have this type of problem or what it could be? Thanks

2. Jun 20, 2012 at 1:39 PM
    The Traveler

The Traveler Desert Chief

Member:
    First Name:
    Matt
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    1991 Toyota Pickup 4x4 Prerunner
    How many miles on the truck? If it cranks but doesn't start, it has to be 1 of 3 things...fuel, air, or spark. I'd check spark plugs and ignition coil, air intake, and fuel pump/filter.

If you have a habit of running your tank down to the last drop, the fuel filter can get clogged with all kinds of crap at the bottom of your tank. It might cause the pump to need to prime for longer to get the correct amount of fuel to the engine.

Just my guess...good luck and welcome to TW!

3. Jun 20, 2012 at 1:46 PM
    GoPreds

Member: