1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Question about front vs rear track width for LT suspension

Discussion in 'Long Travel Suspension' started by dan188, Feb 18, 2016.

1. Feb 18, 2016 at 11:15 AM
    dan188

dan188 [OP] Active Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Dan
    Vehicle:
    2001 Tacoma Double Cab
    3" toytec lift
    Hi guys,

I'm new to the whole LT scene (coming from years of east coast rock crawling in Jeeps), and I have a potentially really dumb question - I've read thru the LT "intro" threads and a few other threads, and I was wondering if it is normal to widen the front track and leave the rear at stock width? A lot of threads talk about how to build the rear suspension with spring under axle leafs, big shock hoops, etc, but I haven't seen anyone mention what to do about widening the rear track width to match the front. So is it normal to have a smaller rear track?

2. Feb 18, 2016 at 1:34 PM
    digitaLbraVo

digitaLbraVo Derka Derka

Member:
    Covered in stickers and chrome stick-ons for extra horse torques and foot powers. Icon sticker gets me tons of travel, dozens of milimeters.
    Let me preface this by saying I'm not long traveled.

It's my best understanding that you do not need to widen the rear axle for long travel. You're looking to increase down travel and on a solid axle you can do that as much as the drive shaft will allow you. With independent (front) suspension you cannot just push the arms farther down, you have to push them OUT to achieve the increased travel.

3. Feb 18, 2016 at 1:39 PM
    PVT Pablo

PVT Pablo

Member:
    First Name:
    Paul
    Kitsap County, WA