1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Question about parallel wiring and ohms

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by CUtigerfan, Mar 21, 2012.

  1. Mar 21, 2012 at 4:32 PM
    #1
    CUtigerfan

    CUtigerfan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Member:
    #19338
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    04 Base
    Daystar 1.5" coil spacers, bedlined bumpers, clear corners, aftermarket stereo, 20% tint, half debadged
    I have a Memphis 16-PR1.500 thats rated at:
    500w RMS at 1ohm
    300w RMS at 2ohms
    150w RMS at 4ohms (all at 1 channel)

    The only box for the regular cab I've found is for 2 10's and I can get a good deal on a pair JL 10W1's but they're the 2 ohm versions rated at 150watts RMS.

    Could I wire them in parallel off that amp or will they be under or overpowered? I'm a bit lost

    Edit: I'm also a bit lost on wiring this to my door speakers. I have a headunit with 1 set of RCA outputs and was thinking I would have to buy one with 2 sets if I wanted to run an amp for my subs and another for door speakers. I just realized this Memphis amp has a set of outputs. Can that be run to the amp for my door speakers? I know it'll have to be powered separately.
     
  2. Mar 21, 2012 at 4:48 PM
    #2
    Warhorseforever

    Warhorseforever Will The Thrill

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Member:
    #56023
    Messages:
    4,788
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    Sand Lapper
    Vehicle:
    2001 Toyota Tacoma Pre-Runner SR5
    Kenwood KDC-348U HU Kicker DS65 Front Doors Only 2 Polk Audio MM840 Kenwood KAC 8105D for subs SuperCrewSound.com behind rear seat sub box
    Wire them like this and bust out the mulit meter and dial your gains back until you're at 300 watts. Measure your Amperage and Volts(AC) multiply them until you've gotten down to 300 watts.
    Watts=Amps*Volts
     
  3. Mar 21, 2012 at 4:51 PM
    #3
    Warhorseforever

    Warhorseforever Will The Thrill

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Member:
    #56023
    Messages:
    4,788
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    Sand Lapper
    Vehicle:
    2001 Toyota Tacoma Pre-Runner SR5
    Kenwood KDC-348U HU Kicker DS65 Front Doors Only 2 Polk Audio MM840 Kenwood KAC 8105D for subs SuperCrewSound.com behind rear seat sub box
    That second set of outputs is probably to wire up a second sub amp if someone wanted to do that I don't believe you could do a full range amp from a sub amp.
     
  4. Mar 21, 2012 at 5:18 PM
    #4
    CUtigerfan

    CUtigerfan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Member:
    #19338
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    04 Base
    Daystar 1.5" coil spacers, bedlined bumpers, clear corners, aftermarket stereo, 20% tint, half debadged
    Why would that be? If the filters applied on the 1st amp were applied to the signal from the outputs it would make tuning a 2nd amp more difficult wouldn't it? You would have to try to account for the filters on the 1st.
     
  5. Mar 21, 2012 at 6:57 PM
    #5
    brian

    brian Another Traitor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16011
    Messages:
    7,557
    Gender:
    Male
    Elizabeth City, NC
    Vehicle:
    2008 F-350 Powerstroke
    Nicer amplifiers have 'pass-through' outputs. Thats how I did my setup with the two JL amps I have. The only downside to it is you lose individual subwoofer control, but thats a minor discrepancy IMO.

    And yes you can do full range from a sub amp, assuming the filters are not applied.... which they shouldn't be.
     
  6. Mar 21, 2012 at 7:35 PM
    #6
    CUtigerfan

    CUtigerfan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Member:
    #19338
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    04 Base
    Daystar 1.5" coil spacers, bedlined bumpers, clear corners, aftermarket stereo, 20% tint, half debadged
    It's the Memphis mentioned above. If I could run a set of RCAs from it to the amp for the door speakers it would save me from having to replace the headunit for one with 2 sets of outputs. Heres a pic of the inputs/outputs in question
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Mar 21, 2012 at 7:59 PM
    #7
    Warhorseforever

    Warhorseforever Will The Thrill

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Member:
    #56023
    Messages:
    4,788
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    Sand Lapper
    Vehicle:
    2001 Toyota Tacoma Pre-Runner SR5
    Kenwood KDC-348U HU Kicker DS65 Front Doors Only 2 Polk Audio MM840 Kenwood KAC 8105D for subs SuperCrewSound.com behind rear seat sub box
    You can try it and if nothing else you can run a RCA splitter and run your 2 amps off of that.
     
  8. Mar 21, 2012 at 8:15 PM
    #8
    CUtigerfan

    CUtigerfan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Member:
    #19338
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    04 Base
    Daystar 1.5" coil spacers, bedlined bumpers, clear corners, aftermarket stereo, 20% tint, half debadged
    Yeah I know but I wanted to avoid that. I'd hate to get it all put in and find out I'm getting filtered signal coming out of the amp for the subs. Worst comes to worst I'd have to order a new headunit and another RCA cable. Is there no way to find out? I would've thought Memphis would specify that for people interested in daisychaining their system
     
  9. Mar 21, 2012 at 8:22 PM
    #9
    Warhorseforever

    Warhorseforever Will The Thrill

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Member:
    #56023
    Messages:
    4,788
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    Sand Lapper
    Vehicle:
    2001 Toyota Tacoma Pre-Runner SR5
    Kenwood KDC-348U HU Kicker DS65 Front Doors Only 2 Polk Audio MM840 Kenwood KAC 8105D for subs SuperCrewSound.com behind rear seat sub box
    I've looked and can't find anything on it. What's your head unit? Edit: Also if it's just one set of outputs then it is more than likely a switchable out put which means that you can set it for full range operation and allow the amp to do the processing of the low frequencies.
     
  10. Mar 21, 2012 at 9:03 PM
    #10
    CUtigerfan

    CUtigerfan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Member:
    #19338
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    04 Base
    Daystar 1.5" coil spacers, bedlined bumpers, clear corners, aftermarket stereo, 20% tint, half debadged

    I wouldn't set the headunit on a subwoofer setting. Its a JVC but I'm not sure what model. Just know it doesn't have but 1 set of outputs. I might try to take it to extreme audio tomorrow since they're a Memphis dealer and see what they can tell me about it
     
To Top