1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

question on mic plug in 2011 jbl fitting a 2013 entune jbl?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by mercerc, Jul 12, 2016.

  1. Jul 12, 2016 at 12:18 PM
    #1
    mercerc

    mercerc [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Member:
    #157731
    Messages:
    251
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Carl
    Palmyra NY
    Vehicle:
    2011 D-CAB Black TRD Sport, JBL with Sat
    leveling kit, Cooper 255/80R17 tires on 4Runner rims, Leer cap, Ovtuned (not yet working), K&N filter, TRD catback, Riderite air bags
    I have a 2011 jbl radio with bluetooth, steering wheel controls and XM sat. I just purchased a used 2013 Entune jbl with XM sat. I am trying to get my ducks in a row before it shows up so I can get something of this install working.

    I know I need the PT546-00120-CH 28 pin/8 pin adapter for the steering wheel and I think aux input. I believe the 8 pin part is for the mic. I have read that my 2011 mic will not work. I am not sure if that is true or not. Does anyone know if the 2011 mic plug will fit in the 8 pin port of the adapter? It would suck if I have to buy a new mic just to get it to plug in. if it will not fit, can I splice it in?

    I also purchased the antenna adapter from crutchfield. I assume the blue wire just gets taped off?

    Lastly but most important. I use XM exclusively. I really need that to work out of the box. will my 2011 XM cable fit in the 2013 JBL with XM port? I am hoping it will.

    I swear I have spent the better part of yesterday and today searching and chatting. I can not find answers so I apologize in advance if this is in the search results somewhere.

    Carl

    P.S. my long term goal is to get the backup camera on the entune screen also but that seems like voodoo.... I have a post into an ebay guy last heard from on this forum in 2014... he used to make an adapter cable to go from the fuse box area to the head unit.
     
  2. Jul 15, 2016 at 5:33 AM
    #2
    mercerc

    mercerc [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Member:
    #157731
    Messages:
    251
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Carl
    Palmyra NY
    Vehicle:
    2011 D-CAB Black TRD Sport, JBL with Sat
    leveling kit, Cooper 255/80R17 tires on 4Runner rims, Leer cap, Ovtuned (not yet working), K&N filter, TRD catback, Riderite air bags
    I got the head unit last night. I did not get any of the adapters I ordered yet but I went ahead and installed it anyway. it took longer to pop out the clock and get it in the new head bezel then it did to take out the radio and put the new one in. I was able to connect the main harness which sends the sound out to the speakers/amp. I was also able to get Sat connection and get my account moved to the new radio.

    so to answer my own question... the Sat cable from a 2011 works just fine in a 2013.

    once I get the 28 pin adapter I will try to plug in the steering controls and the mic. I currently have my phone paired but no one can hear me because I had nowhere to stick the mic cable. I am holding out hope that it will fit and work in the PT546-00120-CH adapter. if not I will probably need to buy the $70 replacement mic.

    As for Entune... I am pretty much lost. I see it has an app button. I click on that and a screen pops up with map/email/pictures/.... all are greyed out except for map. I go to that and I get an image of southeast US.

    I have no clue what the APP button does, what the apps are and how to enable them. I went to myentune.com and there is no way to register an account because it is based on VIN... my VIN says I don't have Entune. Kind of stupid to register based on VIN when the head unit has its own id available under general setup. I went searching and found myself on a Toyota site where I could put information in about my Entune to get support information. Once I entered Tacoma it went to year and the only choices where 2016/2015/2014.... So according to that I should not have apps... but I do.

    And I have a NAVID of NQNA2011Q4 and a release of 2.2.0..... This is not supposed to be a Nav Entune. is that just general stuff that shows up on all Entune units or do I have so sort of very outdated nav capabilities?

    Any Entune experts out there? I would appreciate any info.

    I will update again once I get the adapter to say whether the standard mic will fit/work.

    Carl
     
  3. Jul 16, 2016 at 3:51 PM
    #3
    mercerc

    mercerc [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Member:
    #157731
    Messages:
    251
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Carl
    Palmyra NY
    Vehicle:
    2011 D-CAB Black TRD Sport, JBL with Sat
    leveling kit, Cooper 255/80R17 tires on 4Runner rims, Leer cap, Ovtuned (not yet working), K&N filter, TRD catback, Riderite air bags
    just in case anyone cares... all it took to get everything working in my Truck the same way it did prior to the 2013 Entune unit was the PT546-00120-CH cable and the Metra 40-LX21 cable. I have all functionality plus the streaming audio of the 2013. I like the stock JBL sound coupled with the more advanced 6 inch screen of the Entune.

    Some day I will figure out how to route my backup camera to the Entune. And maybe if I am lucky I can find a way to create a myentune account. kind of sucks I can't do anything with apps because I have to create an account with my VIN.

    anyway... this ends the public service announcement

    Summary

    2011 JBL/XM/BLUETOOTH-> 2013 Entune JBL/XM/BLUETOOTH

    get the 2013 Entune JBL/XM/BLUETOOTH
    get a PT546-00120-CH (about $35 to $45)
    get a Metra 40-LX21 (about $10 to $15)

    installation takes about 15 minutes... should work like a champ.


    Carl
     
    old55guy likes this.
  4. Jul 16, 2016 at 8:19 PM
    #4
    old55guy

    old55guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Member:
    #191623
    Messages:
    329
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    Vehicle:
    2011 dcsb trd white
    none
    I care ,I want to up grade mine also , would you have a pic ? were did you fine the 2013 radio ?
     
  5. Jul 16, 2016 at 9:41 PM
    #5
    othater

    othater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Member:
    #21558
    Messages:
    346
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal-Walnut
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner SR5 TRD Sport
    you need to get a vin with entune from a 2013 to make a account.
    Not sure if it has to be with a JBL radio.
    I read that one vin can have up to 5 accounts.

    I went from a JBL 06 to 09 to 2013.
     
  6. Jul 17, 2016 at 11:55 AM
    #6
    mercerc

    mercerc [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Member:
    #157731
    Messages:
    251
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Carl
    Palmyra NY
    Vehicle:
    2011 D-CAB Black TRD Sport, JBL with Sat
    leveling kit, Cooper 255/80R17 tires on 4Runner rims, Leer cap, Ovtuned (not yet working), K&N filter, TRD catback, Riderite air bags
    anyone want to let me borrow their vin to make an account? PM me if you have a 2013 and are willing to let me make a myentune account. I don't believe I need the vin for anything else but to make the account.. once the account is made I can add the entune app to my phone then it should be bluetooth to the head unit?!


    old55guy.... I got the unit off this site in 2nd gen for sale. I got the cables by searching google... the metra came from Crutchfield and the PT546 from Ebay.

    here is a pic of it installed.... I verified the aux port works... note I only have a headphone jack aux port... the 2013 had a usb... that would be a new cable and adapter but easily done.
    I also verified that FM works.. not sure how well as I live in the boonies and reception stinks.... it probably stunk for the other unit. it does work though.

    P_IMG_20160717_142049263_HDR.jpg
     
    old55guy likes this.
  7. Jul 18, 2016 at 7:09 PM
    #7
    old55guy

    old55guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Member:
    #191623
    Messages:
    329
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    Vehicle:
    2011 dcsb trd white
    none
    ahhhhhhhhhhh I know how a chevy v8 works , built lots of them , but this might be something I do not understand ? I like your setup
    thanks for the info
     

Products Discussed in

To Top