1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Question on possible Pioneer AVIC-U310BT setup

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by sdheda, Jul 2, 2010.

  1. Jul 2, 2010 at 9:20 PM
    #1
    sdheda

    sdheda [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36798
    Messages:
    159
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sherj
    Fountain Vly, Ca
    Vehicle:
    '10 TRD OR 4x4 DC
    In progress :/
    I really need to get a GPS, so I thought I would kill two birds with one stone and upgrade the stock system as well.

    I am looking at getting the Pioneer AVIC-U310BT, but I have a question about a possible amp setup. I want to get the Alpine PDX-5 either now or later, but from the manuals, it does not appear like the Pioneer has enough RCA outputs. I have a double cab, so the amp will be powering the front and rear speakers, along with a sub.

    So the question is can the following setup work? To me it does not look like it will, but I wanted to know if I was looking at something incorrectly, or if there is a way around it.


    HU: Pioneer AVIC-U310BT
    Amp: Alpine PDX-5
    Fronts: JL Audio C5-650
    Rears: JL Audio C2-650X
    Subs: 2x JL Audio 10W3v3-4

    http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/S...gation/AVIC-U310BT_InstallationManual0526.pdf
     
  2. Jul 3, 2010 at 8:02 AM
    #2
    KodiakToyTRD

    KodiakToyTRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Member:
    #39186
    Messages:
    15,480
    Gender:
    Male
    CO
    Vehicle:
    2013 Scion FR-S Whiteout
    From the research that I just did, you will have 4 pre amp outputs on that head unit. You will have pre amp outputs for the front speakers and then pre amp outputs that are rear/sub selectable. To get your desired 6 pre amp outputs you'll have to get something along the lines of this if you want to stick with a Pioneer AVIC HU:

    http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/p_21936_Pioneer_AVIC-X710BT.aspx

    They are also on sale on ebay for around $550-$600.
     
  3. Jul 3, 2010 at 2:59 PM
    #3
    sdheda

    sdheda [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36798
    Messages:
    159
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sherj
    Fountain Vly, Ca
    Vehicle:
    '10 TRD OR 4x4 DC
    In progress :/
    Thats what I thought. Just wanted someone else to confirm it.

    Can I run the fronts and subs off the amp, with the rears running off of the HU?
     
  4. Jul 3, 2010 at 5:20 PM
    #4
    dolbytone

    dolbytone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37165
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
    If you got a 4 channel amplifier that has preamp outputs, you could use those to send signal to a separate sub amp.
     
  5. Jul 3, 2010 at 6:00 PM
    #5
    bookmonke

    bookmonke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Member:
    #26662
    Messages:
    519
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC PreRunner Rugged Trail
    I like the amp you picked, you could also get splitters and split front channel to the rear and still get the sub, just would be 5.1 sound or find an old used F90BT and visit avic411 and upgrade it to an X90.
     
  6. Jul 3, 2010 at 8:57 PM
    #6
    KodiakToyTRD

    KodiakToyTRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Member:
    #39186
    Messages:
    15,480
    Gender:
    Male
    CO
    Vehicle:
    2013 Scion FR-S Whiteout
    My personal opinion, which is what I plan on doing with my system install is using a high wattage mono-block amp for the subs and a medium wattage 2 channel amp for the front and rears. This is how i had my previous system set up and it sounded amazing. Dont forget your capacitor also!!
     
To Top