1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

quick question

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Zombie Runner, Mar 1, 2009.

  1. Mar 1, 2009 at 5:44 PM
    #1
    Zombie Runner

    Zombie Runner [OP] Are these black helicopters for me?

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5246
    Messages:
    15,036
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Wichita Falls, TX
    Vehicle:
    Tundra, double cab.
    LED interior lights, stubby antenna, Pioneer in dash screen, good driver mod.
    1.Where is the best place to mount my crossover for my components?
    2. Do i need to run new speaker wire from my HU to the xover? Im assuming yes, but thats got me into trouble before..ha
     
  2. Mar 1, 2009 at 5:55 PM
    #2
    stang88

    stang88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Member:
    #14001
    Messages:
    233
    Gender:
    Male
    are you using the headunit to power the components? You really need to use an amp to power those.
     
  3. Mar 2, 2009 at 6:05 AM
    #3
    Zombie Runner

    Zombie Runner [OP] Are these black helicopters for me?

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5246
    Messages:
    15,036
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Wichita Falls, TX
    Vehicle:
    Tundra, double cab.
    LED interior lights, stubby antenna, Pioneer in dash screen, good driver mod.
    just the HU for now
     
  4. Mar 2, 2009 at 7:10 AM
    #4
    Zombie Runner

    Zombie Runner [OP] Are these black helicopters for me?

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5246
    Messages:
    15,036
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Wichita Falls, TX
    Vehicle:
    Tundra, double cab.
    LED interior lights, stubby antenna, Pioneer in dash screen, good driver mod.
  5. Mar 2, 2009 at 10:46 AM
    #5
    81shark

    81shark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Member:
    #10567
    Messages:
    1,680
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 Base Access CP1
    mine are mounted in teh door. i zipped tied them in there. only downside is it's not easy to adjust them. you might be able to squeeze them under the kick panel.

    i ran new wires, but i power them with an amp. might be worth running the wire now to save the headache of running them later if you decide to upgrade to an amp.
     
  6. Mar 2, 2009 at 12:45 PM
    #6
    sooner07

    sooner07 1/2 man 1/2 amazing

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Member:
    #4783
    Messages:
    1,400
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    A A Ron
    DFW, Texas
    Vehicle:
    Debadged 2008 Rugged Trail
    Always working on the stereo, painted the front skid plate black to match the truck, debadged , toy tech ultimate lift kit, light racing UCAs, ARB bumper Looking into a supercharger and new exhaust.
    Well, you are asking two questions, but...

    1. Best place depends on what you are looking to do with them. If you don't want or need access to the regularly, then you can put them in the doors or under the dash. If you do need to access them, you can put them udner the seat (where I have mine) or on an amp rack behind the rear seats (where I'd like to have mine if I only had the room).

    2. You don't have to run new wire, but I'd recommend it.
     
  7. Mar 3, 2009 at 10:42 AM
    #7
    Mr Marv

    Mr Marv 1-831-383-0308 Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Member:
    #1009
    Messages:
    942
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marv
    Monterey Bay California
    I'd put them somewhere with plenty of ventilation, no chance of moisture, away from other electronics and where there is no chance of getting banged around every time you slam the door. :)
     
To Top