1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

radio constant power wire size

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by JBryant, Mar 18, 2021.

  1. Mar 18, 2021 at 2:41 PM
    #1
    JBryant

    JBryant [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Member:
    #325760
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Vehicle:
    2007 silver tacoma TRD
    stock
  2. Mar 18, 2021 at 2:44 PM
    #2
    Wyoming09

    Wyoming09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Member:
    #153833
    Messages:
    13,525
    Gender:
    Male
    New Tripoli Pa
    Vehicle:
    2000 Work truck 5 speed 4x4 3.4
    Super Springs
    How much Current does it draw?? 40 or 50 amps?

    Do you also need to up grade the circuit protection for the higher amperage
     
  3. Mar 18, 2021 at 2:50 PM
    #3
    JBryant

    JBryant [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Member:
    #325760
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Vehicle:
    2007 silver tacoma TRD
    stock
    i have no idea... looks like it's about a 22 gauge wire in the stock harness...
     
  4. Mar 18, 2021 at 2:51 PM
    #4
    12TRDTacoma

    12TRDTacoma Powered by Ford, GM, VW, and Mercedes

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Member:
    #85133
    Messages:
    14,384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Concordia
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport DCLB 4x4 Supercharged
    Boosted
    It's really not a big deal. The amount of power constantly drawn from a radio is really small. You may want to throw up a photo of the wire comparison to give us a better idea of what it looks like. Typically aftermarket wiring uses thick insulation for radios, the actual gauge wire strand is much smaller.

    I run a AVIC NEX8000 headunit on the stock harness and the wiring has never been a problem for me.
     
  5. Mar 18, 2021 at 2:54 PM
    #5
    Wyoming09

    Wyoming09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Member:
    #153833
    Messages:
    13,525
    Gender:
    Male
    New Tripoli Pa
    Vehicle:
    2000 Work truck 5 speed 4x4 3.4
    Super Springs
    After all it is your Truck if you want to upgrade to 10. gauge go for it

    Your new unit should tell you what the current draw is go according to that.

    I have used the stock harness for many Aftermarket swaps.

    If your running a Big Amp then your running a heavier cable
     
  6. Mar 18, 2021 at 2:56 PM
    #6
    MannyTheAudioGuy

    MannyTheAudioGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2017
    Member:
    #221258
    Messages:
    242
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Emmanuel
    Napa
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma TRD Sport
    I have put in Racesport gen3 leds I'm the process of doing a custom audio overhaul which will include Hybrid audio unity 6x9 mid bass, unity 3 inch mid driver in the dash and fiberglassing tweets in pilar soundeading all the doors, floors, and headliner and I will be using a helix processor to retain the factory radio and as far as subs I might make custom brackets to move rear seat foward a few inches to get a full size sub in there or I might just go with a pair of jl tw5 or tw3 and it will all be powered by jl audio HD amps or I might try out the new hybrid amps
  7. Mar 18, 2021 at 3:02 PM
    #7
    JBryant

    JBryant [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Member:
    #325760
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Vehicle:
    2007 silver tacoma TRD
    stock
    Perfect, just the answer i was looking for. Didn't go for the piggyback amp, i just don't think i'll need it so i should be good to go then. Thanks
     
    MannyTheAudioGuy likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top