1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Recalibrating the speedometer after regaring

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by BR Pipke, Feb 10, 2017.

  1. Feb 10, 2017 at 2:49 AM
    #1
    BR Pipke

    BR Pipke [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Member:
    #197988
    Messages:
    140
    Gender:
    Male
    Drayton Valley Canada
    11 TRD short box 6speed std with 3" lift bilstein 5100 struts pro comp UCA AFE air cleaner and throttle spacer ultra rims 265-70/18 dual exhaust
    has anyone recalibrated their speedometer after they regeared their Tacoma? I'm changing the gear from 3:73 to 4:56 with 285-70/17 tires.
     
  2. Feb 10, 2017 at 8:27 PM
    #2
    BR Pipke

    BR Pipke [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Member:
    #197988
    Messages:
    140
    Gender:
    Male
    Drayton Valley Canada
    11 TRD short box 6speed std with 3" lift bilstein 5100 struts pro comp UCA AFE air cleaner and throttle spacer ultra rims 265-70/18 dual exhaust
    So no one out there has changed gears and went with bigger tires have not issues with their speedometers? So what does everyone do just leave it a lone.
     
  3. Feb 10, 2017 at 8:58 PM
    #3
    crolison

    crolison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Member:
    #56801
    Messages:
    3,136
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Ar vah da, CO
    Vehicle:
    POS
    Auto or manual? Manual the speedo will be farther off because it takes off the tcase. Auto uses the abs sensors for speed. So when I regeared to 4.56 with 235/85/16 the speedo stayed correct.

    Dakota digital makes a system for changing the input signal to the speedo
     
  4. Feb 10, 2017 at 8:59 PM
    #4
    Drainbung

    Drainbung Somedays you are the show....

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42629
    Messages:
    7,882
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Oasis of NV
    Vehicle:
    10 DCLB
    TRD Fleshlight
    I'm hoping someone has some input.
     
  5. Feb 11, 2017 at 4:46 AM
    #5
    BR Pipke

    BR Pipke [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Member:
    #197988
    Messages:
    140
    Gender:
    Male
    Drayton Valley Canada
    11 TRD short box 6speed std with 3" lift bilstein 5100 struts pro comp UCA AFE air cleaner and throttle spacer ultra rims 265-70/18 dual exhaust
    My truck is a manual
     
  6. Feb 11, 2017 at 5:10 AM
    #6
    mbmack1

    mbmack1 That F'n guy

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Member:
    #76361
    Messages:
    2,986
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    matt
    az
    Vehicle:
    SAVAGE silver '06
    I haven't regeared but when I lifted and went to 33's I installed a hypertech. Its a super simple process. You plug it into a computer and put the CD in to download the software, then you enter your stock tire size and gear ratio in one column and the new size and ratio in the next one. That's the programming stage. Then you pop your dashboard off and plug it in behind the instrument cluster. There's a wiring harness that you unplug, then plug the hypertech into it. That's it, done deal.
    Most guys just leave it as is and estimate their speed or go with traffic, but I don't want to have to do calculations to figure out my speed, I wanted my speedo and tachometer to be accurate. I'd recommend going this route. The nice thing is that you can always reprogram it if you change tire size or gear ratio down the road.
     
    Dave4ep and Drainbung like this.
  7. Feb 11, 2017 at 5:15 AM
    #7
    mbmack1

    mbmack1 That F'n guy

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Member:
    #76361
    Messages:
    2,986
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    matt
    az
    Vehicle:
    SAVAGE silver '06
    Drainbung likes this.
  8. Feb 11, 2017 at 7:26 AM
    #8
    edm3rd

    edm3rd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Member:
    #89550
    Messages:
    896
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Duke
    Memphis TN
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner AC 6sp
    hard tonneau,scangauge
    mbmack1 - does your hypertech correct both speedometer and odometer ? Reason I ask, my truck (like a lot of Tacoma's) was almost zero error on odometer, speedometer displayed 2-3 mph high with oem tires compared to GPS.
     
  9. Feb 11, 2017 at 11:17 AM
    #9
    badger

    badger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Member:
    #70102
    Messages:
    1,996
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5
    I used Dakota Digital on my manual, but you cannot calibrate the speedo and odo separately. If you have a scan gauge you can calibrate that independantly. If you have both, calibrate the Dakota first, and then the Scangauge.
     
  10. Feb 11, 2017 at 11:27 AM
    #10
    BDub

    BDub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Member:
    #163961
    Messages:
    1,600
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Byrnes Mill, MO
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCSB Off-Road
  11. Feb 11, 2017 at 2:29 PM
    #11
    BR Pipke

    BR Pipke [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Member:
    #197988
    Messages:
    140
    Gender:
    Male
    Drayton Valley Canada
    11 TRD short box 6speed std with 3" lift bilstein 5100 struts pro comp UCA AFE air cleaner and throttle spacer ultra rims 265-70/18 dual exhaust
    BDub is the hypertech you mentioned is for 12-15 and mines a 11. So is that compatible? edm3rd thx for youinput it greatly appreciated. Thx to everyone who helped thx and cheers
     
  12. Feb 11, 2017 at 2:31 PM
    #12
    7six2Fan

    7six2Fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Member:
    #92580
    Messages:
    529
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    '13 TRD Sport DC LB
    I'm on stock gears with 295/70/18 and the 10% rule is very accurate for me.
     
  13. Feb 11, 2017 at 2:41 PM
    #13
    BDub

    BDub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Member:
    #163961
    Messages:
    1,600
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Byrnes Mill, MO
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCSB Off-Road
    Just look up your year. It might be a different part number. :notsure:
     

Products Discussed in

To Top