1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Recalibrating VSC, why & how?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by jrobson, May 13, 2010.

  1. May 13, 2010 at 3:59 PM
    #1
    jrobson

    jrobson [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Member:
    #12211
    Messages:
    1,094
    Gender:
    Male
    Mobile, Alabama
    Vehicle:
    09 DC 4x4
    Ultimate lift kit, LR UCA's, Bi-xenon 8000K headlights, Xenon 8000K foglites, (4) KC slimlites on N-Fab light bar, Extang trifecta toneau cover
    My question is, why and how do you recalibrate the VSC system. The dealer had no idea, and RCD says that you sometimes have to do this. Any ideas?
     
  2. May 13, 2010 at 4:02 PM
    #2
    Crom

    Crom Outside...

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18782
    Messages:
    8,384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 DCSB Overland Build
    Millions
    I believe there is a procedure for resetting the system... I'll update when/if I find it.

    EDIT: Here is the procedure.
     
    akaboras likes this.
  3. May 13, 2010 at 4:18 PM
    #3
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,119
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    only times i've heard people doing it is after a lift their VSC kicks in easily when it didnt before the lift in the same situation. if that dealer doesnt know, i'd be heading somewhere else
     
  4. May 13, 2010 at 4:51 PM
    #4
    jrobson

    jrobson [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Member:
    #12211
    Messages:
    1,094
    Gender:
    Male
    Mobile, Alabama
    Vehicle:
    09 DC 4x4
    Ultimate lift kit, LR UCA's, Bi-xenon 8000K headlights, Xenon 8000K foglites, (4) KC slimlites on N-Fab light bar, Extang trifecta toneau cover
    I have heard my system kick in from time to time with my toytec ultimate kit. No big deal. I just don't want the lights to be lit up all over my dash.
     
  5. May 13, 2010 at 4:54 PM
    #5
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,119
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    are you getting a light that's staying on all the time?
     
    BabyTaco321 likes this.
  6. May 13, 2010 at 4:57 PM
    #6
    Crom

    Crom Outside...

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18782
    Messages:
    8,384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 DCSB Overland Build
    Millions
    See post #2
     
  7. May 13, 2010 at 5:27 PM
    #7
    jrobson

    jrobson [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Member:
    #12211
    Messages:
    1,094
    Gender:
    Male
    Mobile, Alabama
    Vehicle:
    09 DC 4x4
    Ultimate lift kit, LR UCA's, Bi-xenon 8000K headlights, Xenon 8000K foglites, (4) KC slimlites on N-Fab light bar, Extang trifecta toneau cover
    Dang dude, you rock. How did you find that? The dealer never even heard of that. Would this have to be done by a Toyota dealer I would assume?
     
  8. May 13, 2010 at 5:30 PM
    #8
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,119
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    definately a dealer thing. if that one had never heard of it or played dumb, i'd go somewhere else.
     
  9. May 13, 2010 at 5:31 PM
    #9
    jrobson

    jrobson [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Member:
    #12211
    Messages:
    1,094
    Gender:
    Male
    Mobile, Alabama
    Vehicle:
    09 DC 4x4
    Ultimate lift kit, LR UCA's, Bi-xenon 8000K headlights, Xenon 8000K foglites, (4) KC slimlites on N-Fab light bar, Extang trifecta toneau cover
    No. I was just told that after doing an RCD that I may have to recalabrate.
     
  10. May 13, 2010 at 5:33 PM
    #10
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,119
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    quite possibly a CYA for the company. many people on here w/ VSC running 3" and 6" lifts that havent needed it. I do remember a WHILE back that someone would take the same turn after the lift and the VSC would kick on. that's the only time i'd worry about doing it. they hook up the machine and it recalibrates the sitting angles for the VSC unit, IIRC
     
  11. May 13, 2010 at 10:33 PM
    #11
    mgrande

    mgrande iKill

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Member:
    #15830
    Messages:
    5,357
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando
    Vehicle:
    2011 TRD off road
    Kings, AP 3" leaf pack, timbrens front and rear, TC UCA's, pro comp 7189's, baja ATZ's, CBI sliders and rear, relentless front, dynomax catback
    I'm probably gonna do this when I get a chance, mine acts up all the time now
     
  12. May 13, 2010 at 10:35 PM
    #12
    Crom

    Crom Outside...

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18782
    Messages:
    8,384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 DCSB Overland Build
    Millions
    I searched for the document because I knew I had seen it before. One of the reasons you would want to recalibrate the VSC data is if you did anything to your truck which would require a front end alignment adjustment.

    So guys who lift their trucks and add aftermarket control arms and larger tires are changing the factory geometry of the suspension, ergo, they would require a front end alignment adjustment.

    To recalibrate it is a two step process.
    1. Clearing zero point calibration data.
    2. Yaw rate sensor and deceleration sensor zero point calibration
    You can do this procedure yourself. It's rather simple but the document makes it look scary.

    Here is the deal. Toyota makes a handheld tool called techstream, but they also have low tech tools too. The document gives instructions on how to use techstream tool, and the lowtech "checkwire tool."

    If you look at the document you would want to follow the instructions for the "check wire" method in step 4 and step 5 to complete your goal.

    I think there is a misprint in the document in title for step four though. It is giving instructions on how to use a SST check wire which is a basic tool to short circuit pins on the DLC3 connection port. The misprint is:
    CLEAR ZERO POINT CALIBRATION (for Using a Intelligent Tester)

    When it should read:

    CLEAR ZERO POINT CALIBRATION (for Using a SST Checkwire)
    Like I said, if you do steps four and five you should be all set.

    Any short piece of hookup wire about 2 inches in length can be used to accomplish this goal. Look at the document for a picture of where the DLC3 port is. It is right under the driver side fuse block.

    If this all sounds like a hassle, then a dealer visit is in order.
     
    akaboras likes this.
  13. May 14, 2010 at 7:54 PM
    #13
    OZ-T

    OZ-T Quite an experience to live in fear , isn't it ?

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Member:
    #27584
    Messages:
    38,720
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter North
    British Columbia
    Vehicle:
    Mag Grey 09 Trd Sport DCLB 4x4
    OME 885x , OME shocks and Dakars , Wheelers SuperBumps front and rear , 275/70/17 Hankook ATm , OEM bed mat , Weathertech digifit floor liners , Weathertech in-channel vents , headache rack , Leer 100RCC commercial canopy , TRD bedside decals removed , Devil Horns by Andres , HomerTaco Satoshi
    Had my VSC reset at the dealership , it took about 15 mins tops .

    OZ
     
  14. Aug 6, 2010 at 11:23 PM
    #14
    forrest108

    forrest108 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Member:
    #41337
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2010 LB 4x4 Silver
    ICON front COs (+2") and rear shocks, upsized Duratrac tires.
    Dealer re-calibrated the VSC, (had to bring them the PDF instructions). VSC still goes off just as before; around downhill turns with some rough spots. Do not like it, nothing safe about this feature. Anyone know how to disable just the VSC? I've read other posts on the Web about this but nothing very clean.
     
  15. Aug 12, 2010 at 8:23 AM
    #15
    DevL

    DevL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Member:
    #31952
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    Wait... is it really just a short section of wire jumping two connections to do this recalibration with the ignition set to different points and doing it X number of times. That seems too easy... is the wire used something specific or just anything that can fit and jump those connections?
     
  16. Aug 12, 2010 at 9:22 AM
    #16
    Crom

    Crom Outside...

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Member:
    #18782
    Messages:
    8,384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 DCSB Overland Build
    Millions
    I believe it to be a very simple procedure using a simple wire. Any wire will do (I use twisted pair cross-connect wire used for telephone punch blocks).

    I understand it to be any short piece of wire should be fine. Read the Toyota procedure document that is linked in post #2 and read what I wrote in post #12.
     
  17. Sep 20, 2010 at 5:50 PM
    #17
    DaveSmith

    DaveSmith Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Member:
    #23707
    Messages:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma TRD Offroad
    Crom, DevL: So how did the zeroing and recalibration go? Did you use a small piece of wire to jump across the terminals pictured in the above mentioned schematic? Is it really that easy. If someone has done this themselves please post.
     
  18. Sep 21, 2010 at 6:50 PM
    #18
    forrest108

    forrest108 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Member:
    #41337
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2010 LB 4x4 Silver
    ICON front COs (+2") and rear shocks, upsized Duratrac tires.
    Crom,
    Any idea how to jump the switch so that every time the ignition is turned on the VSC switch would be off?

    Dealer reset everything with the doc you provided. No change. VSC still goes off on turns with slightly rough pavement. Real pain and not safe.

    Thanks for your help this far.
    Blake
     
  19. Sep 21, 2010 at 7:02 PM
    #19
    dgalleon

    dgalleon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Member:
    #27081
    Messages:
    334
    Gender:
    Male
    Central Florida
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Sport 4x4 Dbl Cab LB
    TRD CAI, Flowmaster 40 series, 6" Fabtech Lift, Dirt Logic rear shocks
    how much did the dealer charge to perform this?
     
  20. Sep 21, 2010 at 7:04 PM
    #20
    OZ-T

    OZ-T Quite an experience to live in fear , isn't it ?

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Member:
    #27584
    Messages:
    38,720
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter North
    British Columbia
    Vehicle:
    Mag Grey 09 Trd Sport DCLB 4x4
    OME 885x , OME shocks and Dakars , Wheelers SuperBumps front and rear , 275/70/17 Hankook ATm , OEM bed mat , Weathertech digifit floor liners , Weathertech in-channel vents , headache rack , Leer 100RCC commercial canopy , TRD bedside decals removed , Devil Horns by Andres , HomerTaco Satoshi

    Mine was free , covered under warranty .
     
To Top